Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"

Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre boasts a black puncture protection belt and great tread for control.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (96 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
0
90 of 95(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 53 Answers
Customer Reviews for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Review 1 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
slits & punctures constantly,
May 30, 2014
By sterolos
from Chester, Cheshire West and Chester, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Been using for 4-5 months.
Been getting constant slits in the tyre, not in the grooves but im the thick rubber. Wouldnt recomend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (GREYHOUND PK)
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
city jet 26x1.5,
January 02, 2014
By mikethedumplinmuncher
from norwich uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A great all round road tyre for your MTB i use these for about 8 months of the year they are fast , grippy and pretty strong also comfy, not strong enough for the worst winter months when i use something with a thicker carcass, but come the better weather and its back on with the city jets, oh yes and fantastic value for money too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GREAT YARMOUTH
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
suitable for mountain bike,
December 30, 2013
By Breadbored
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fitted great on my 26" mountain bike wheels. fine for use even in the wet"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? AYLESBURY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good reasonably priced tyre,
December 21, 2013
By Fatmush
from Portsmouth, Hampshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good price. good in wet weather.
"Bought to replace knobbly mountain bike tyres.. Now my old mountain bike has been given a new lease of life and is so much easier to pedal. They seem to have excellent grip on wet roads which gives confidence when cornering.. Good price too.."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PORTSMOUTH
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
City Jet Bike Tyres,
December 21, 2013
By Troy48
from Tunbridge Wells
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Extremely good value with the added benefit of puncture resistance. Not really tried in really wet conditions but on winter greasy roads excellent grip. You feel safe as houses even at going at speed around corners."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TUNBRIDGE WELLS
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tyre with grip and speed,
December 18, 2013
By plimpet
from Crawley, West Sussex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality, price
"V-Shaped giving low rolling resistance on the flat but also taking the bike firmly into the corners with sufficient tread to avoid slip.
No punctures in 300miles.
Particularly good price.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CRAWLEY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tyre,
December 15, 2013
By Rusfar01
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This tyre made a big difference to my bike , much quicker now being slicker yet maintains adequate grip to road surface when wet . Happily recommend to commuters and joyriders , it's also very resistant to punctures ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (PUTNEY RD)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great VFM tyre,
October 20, 2013
By Andy50222
from South Coast
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value for money
"Bought as replacement for previous set of City Jet tyres which have just come to the end of their life after around 4000 miles of everyday usage. An excellent value for money tyre"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BOGNOR REGIS
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5",
October 17, 2013
By Stui01
from BL
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great tyres for my commute.
I ride mainly on road and cycle paths with a small section on a dirt track.
The tyres I replaced had a more aggressive tread and I could feel a lot of drag when the rear rack was loaded.
These tyres have a far less rolling resistance and make the bike more easy to ride."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BURY
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cheap online purchase!,
October 04, 2013
By wee1234
from uxbridge, london
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheap, good service
"bought online much cheaper than in store, fits perfect. item prepared very fast in-store, satisfaction guaranteed!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? UXBRIDGE
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One things to be aware of....,
September 03, 2013
By MaxLondon2559
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is a decent tyre for commuting. It rolls well and I didn't get too many punctures. However, it has a slightly odd profile, with a middle section that is prominently raised, meaning that the curve of the tyre isn't rounded. What this means is that cornering isn't great. This can be combated by having the tyre pressure at just below 50, but that increases drag. This did go away with the wear of the tyre, but they were almost dead at that point anyway. So - in conclusion, good for commuting. Just don't try and corner like Valentino Rossi. I did about 1200 miles on a set, switching the front and back after about 800."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
August 12, 2013
By Paisleybob
from Dunfermline
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good quality and value - definitely recommended. In-store technician helped discussing options and delighted with his advice and the product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DUNFERMLINE
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MTB city rider,
August 10, 2013
By Streetrider88
from Bedford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: speed, toughness
"I got these to replace the huge off road tyres on my front suspension mtb. Difference is incredible, im actually still surprised after 4 weeks of use just hoe much faster it had made my bike.
Slightly difficult to fit as they have been folded at some point.
I do ride on a mix of roads cycle paths and pathways and they stand up to the job extremely well, mtb riders be aware that the ride will be considerably harder, the pay off however is well worth it.
Order online and pickup in store to get the cheaper price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BEDFORD
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ok tyre,
August 09, 2013
By BiggerAl
from Clevedon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Brought to replace off road tyres. Got them because of the good reviews on here. Done about 100miles so far so good. Yesterday I had to pull a large thorn out of the side wall and waited for a hissing sound but none came and the tyre was still good today.
Had the go through the ridiculous process of standing the store and ordering them online, then giving the staff member my reservation number in order to pay the web price."
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? CLEVEDON
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a difference,
July 22, 2013
By BobbyJ10
from Basingstoke, Hants
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, far lower resistance, faster
Cons: pressure higher so they sound a little strange
"I replaced the knobbly mountain bike tyres on my bike this weekend with these City Jet tyres. They were really easy to fit. Some reviews say they are very tight, but using my standard metal tyre spoons I had no trouble at all. With new inner tubes and the tyres pumped up to about 70psi (they have a max inflation pressure of 85psi) I set out. The difference between mountain bike tyres and these is huge. They roll so much easier, and with so much less effort. I am hugely impressed and would recommend these to anyone with a mountain bike that rides on the road only.
I can't vouch for their wet weather performance - it was 85 degrees at the weekend.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BASINGSTOKE
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bargain Tyres,
July 22, 2013
By Ahmeduk
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I brought these tryes to replace the MTB knobbly ones I had on my bike. What a transformation...less rolling resistance and greater speed. I am impressed by the difference these tyres have made on my bike and riding experience.
I haven't had them on long enough for comment on durability, but so far they seem worth the money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great mtb conversion tyre,
July 14, 2013
By bezzo
from southend essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: faster acceleration, longer coasting, puncture protection
Cons: price online is a lot cheaper than instore
"I have a full suspension bike which i have been using to train on. Unfortunately i do not have the funds req to purchase a full road or hybrid spec bike.
So i got rid of the knobblys and chucked these on yesterday done a 15 mile ride this morn and my average speed was around 2-3mph higher. They help to accelerate a lot faster i didnt push them too hard in the corners. Running at 60psi they were harder than my normal tyres along with the fact id stiffened the suspension rigid. They performed so well and i wuld recommend them so much so my dad went out and bought them after me!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHEND
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Upgrade from semi slick,
July 11, 2013
By Cabbyandy
from Maidstone
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: corner speed
Cons: cheaper online than instore
"Bought these to upgrade my carerra subway tyres as I mainley ride on the road or towpath. Instant improvement faster better control with great corner speed! Did 100km charity ride the day after fitting them don't think it would have been so enjoyable on my semi slicks."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rejuvenation,
June 20, 2013
By bootender
from Cheshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"At the start of the year I was talked into entering the British Heart Foundation's London-Brighton charity cycle ride , lot's of time for training to get fit. But two weeks before the June event, no training, no bike maintenance done decision was whether to ride my road bike, unused for 3 years or the 20 year old non suspension mountain bike. I went for comfort, replaced the knobblies on the MTB with these tyres, did a 30 min ride to check them out then straight into the event. Transformed the bike, much faster, smoother and good stable handling when riding in large groups.
Recommend both the tyres and BHF's event, see you there next year"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MACCLESFIELD
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre=26"x1.5",
June 20, 2013
By hershmon
from Nottingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the Tyre that I have used for years, and I can say that it is so good that I use them on all of my three bikes.Our kid, also has them on his and we both have never been let down."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (NUTHALL RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>