Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Tyres or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"

Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre boasts a black puncture protection belt and great tread for control.
Average Customer Rating:
4.514 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(105 Reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (105 reviews)
5 stars
66
4 stars
31
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
0
99 of 104(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 64 Answers
Customer Reviews for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Review 1 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Decent tyres, reasonable price.,
October 10, 2014
By kclmbristol
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to put on, nice and slick
"These tyres are really good value. I purchased them for my sons MTB for road use. I am told they are much better but still have good grip in the wet."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (EASTGATE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seems a good product,
September 26, 2014
By mtw1001
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good price, puncture protection
"Sturdy tyres, which feel like a good move from the knobblies that I had been living with on my commute. Can't go wrong at this online price either!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very fast city tyre,
September 21, 2014
By olaf35
from newport
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Vey fast city tyre after using mtb tyre with fat tread you can feel much difference in speed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CARDIFF (NEWPORT RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bike tyre,
September 17, 2014
By richard100
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Does what it says on the tin. Only had it a week so can't comment on longevity."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality,
September 17, 2014
By Bikeboyride
from Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the profile of the tyre, the tread pattern, the compound
Cons: side walls felt a little thin.
"The tyre is of a good quality sat be expected from this established company. I've used it on Tarmac roads and also a loose stone path which was more for chunky off road tyres. The tyres behaved well with good grip.
The side walls felt a little thin compared to my old specialised tyres.
I have not had the opportunity to try them out in the rain yet so I could not mark them excellent in overall rating. I suspect I will be pleased with them though.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? EXETER (RYDON LANE RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good tyres for the price,
August 20, 2014
By mark0790
from Gosport, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the price, punture protection
"I have only done about 30 miles on them so far but they are much easier to ride on the road than my old wide mountain bike ones, very easy to fit, and make the work commute that bit easier.
I also never bothered to change the inner tubes to smaller ones either, and they have been fine, my old tubes were 1.70 - 2.10."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? FAREHAM
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great tyre,
August 20, 2014
By LeedsBiker
from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quiet, quick, grippy, fantastic price
Cons: difficult to get on the rim
"Bought this to replace the chunky tread 2.3" tyres on my Carrera Vengeance (mountain) bike. Having started to commute on my bike for the first time I didn't like the feel of the old tyres and the rolling resistance made it difficult to get up to a decent speed. Changing to the City Jet has vastly improved matters and I can now get up to and maintain decent road speeds.
The tyres are whisper quiet as you'd expect when coming from an off road tyre. I'm a big lad so have gone to 85psi on the rear as opposed to the 80 recommended and even so still don't find the ride too harsh.
My only criticism is that the tyres weren't the easiest to get on with the plastic levers of my puncture repair kit so I'm not looking forward to removing and replacing them 'in the field' should I get a puncture. It's also going to take a lot of pumping to get them back up to 80+psi with the small pump I carry on the bike.
One of my commutes was in torrential rain with up to an inch standing water on the road, these tyres handled the water without any trouble and grip didn't seem to be compromised in the wet.
Great value tyres, very happy with my purchase."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (MEADOW RD)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
City Jet tyres reduce rolling resistance,
August 18, 2014
By StageHopper
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lower rolling resistance
"Now that my daily commute is pretty much on the road, I changed from my knobbly's to these road specific MTB tyres.
The rolling resistance is greatly reduced and hence my commute time has decreased, nice.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? COALVILLE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
city jet tyres,
August 08, 2014
By sidspeed46
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great product at a great price and in stock. Excellent."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
slits & punctures constantly,
May 30, 2014
By sterolos
from Chester, Cheshire West and Chester, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Been using for 4-5 months.
Been getting constant slits in the tyre, not in the grooves but im the thick rubber. Wouldnt recomend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (GREYHOUND PK)
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
city jet 26x1.5,
January 02, 2014
By mikethedumplinmuncher
from norwich uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A great all round road tyre for your MTB i use these for about 8 months of the year they are fast , grippy and pretty strong also comfy, not strong enough for the worst winter months when i use something with a thicker carcass, but come the better weather and its back on with the city jets, oh yes and fantastic value for money too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GREAT YARMOUTH
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
suitable for mountain bike,
December 30, 2013
By Breadbored
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fitted great on my 26" mountain bike wheels. fine for use even in the wet"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? AYLESBURY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good reasonably priced tyre,
December 21, 2013
By Fatmush
from Portsmouth, Hampshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good price. good in wet weather.
"Bought to replace knobbly mountain bike tyres.. Now my old mountain bike has been given a new lease of life and is so much easier to pedal. They seem to have excellent grip on wet roads which gives confidence when cornering.. Good price too.."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PORTSMOUTH
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
City Jet Bike Tyres,
December 21, 2013
By Troy48
from Tunbridge Wells
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Extremely good value with the added benefit of puncture resistance. Not really tried in really wet conditions but on winter greasy roads excellent grip. You feel safe as houses even at going at speed around corners."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TUNBRIDGE WELLS
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tyre with grip and speed,
December 18, 2013
By plimpet
from Crawley, West Sussex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality, price
"V-Shaped giving low rolling resistance on the flat but also taking the bike firmly into the corners with sufficient tread to avoid slip.
No punctures in 300miles.
Particularly good price.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CRAWLEY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tyre,
December 15, 2013
By Rusfar01
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This tyre made a big difference to my bike , much quicker now being slicker yet maintains adequate grip to road surface when wet . Happily recommend to commuters and joyriders , it's also very resistant to punctures ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (PUTNEY RD)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great VFM tyre,
October 20, 2013
By Andy50222
from South Coast
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value for money
"Bought as replacement for previous set of City Jet tyres which have just come to the end of their life after around 4000 miles of everyday usage. An excellent value for money tyre"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BOGNOR REGIS
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5",
October 17, 2013
By Stui01
from BL
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great tyres for my commute.
I ride mainly on road and cycle paths with a small section on a dirt track.
The tyres I replaced had a more aggressive tread and I could feel a lot of drag when the rear rack was loaded.
These tyres have a far less rolling resistance and make the bike more easy to ride."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BURY
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cheap online purchase!,
October 04, 2013
By wee1234
from uxbridge, london
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheap, good service
"bought online much cheaper than in store, fits perfect. item prepared very fast in-store, satisfaction guaranteed!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? UXBRIDGE
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One things to be aware of....,
September 03, 2013
By MaxLondon2559
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is a decent tyre for commuting. It rolls well and I didn't get too many punctures. However, it has a slightly odd profile, with a middle section that is prominently raised, meaning that the curve of the tyre isn't rounded. What this means is that cornering isn't great. This can be combated by having the tyre pressure at just below 50, but that increases drag. This did go away with the wear of the tyre, but they were almost dead at that point anyway. So - in conclusion, good for commuting. Just don't try and corner like Valentino Rossi. I did about 1200 miles on a set, switching the front and back after about 800."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>