Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Tyres or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"

Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre boasts a black puncture protection belt and great tread for control.
Average Customer Rating:
4.568 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(148 Reviews) 146
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (148 reviews)
5 stars
98
4 stars
41
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
0
138 of 144(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 66 Answers
Customer Reviews for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Review 1 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Horses for Courses,
August 01, 2015
By Mullaaaar
from Exeter, Exeter, Devon, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, the ride
Cons: flimsy sidewalls
" Not the best rubber in the world, but they have good tread, ride smooth and stop how they should. I would buy them again without hesitation and can recommend for a budget commuting tyre happily. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? EXETER (RYDON LANE RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super slick,
July 30, 2015
By Bashplate
from Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: slick, comfortable
Cons: tight fit
" A while ago I replaced some knobblies with a pair of Schwalbe Land Cruisers which seemed to be a good compromise between road and off road tyres. Deciding that I'd like to do a bit of road cycling this summer I fitted the narrower version of the City Jet. Having been out on a decent ride I must say I'm impressed with the reduction in rolling resistance of these tyres and lack of harshness in the ride.
Whilst they are not tubs (I rode them in my youth) I'd definitely recommend these if you want comfort to make spirited progress on an MTB.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? STEVENAGE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value tyres.,
July 29, 2015
By Rips666
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
" I'll be honest I went for the cheapest slick tyre I could find as I don't use my bike that often. Inspite of the the low price I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the tyre. Been out on a 10 mile ride with no problems, here's to a few more! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent road tyre,
July 27, 2015
By Fay22
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent price for this tyre replaced by 26" x 2.10" MTB tyres for a couple of these and there is a lot less rolling resistance with these on it is a lot easier to pedal. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great online value,
July 26, 2015
By RAR45
from Cheshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Tyres are great, they were much cheaper than in store. "
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? NORTHWICH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jet bike tyres,
July 25, 2015
By jpmtb
from sunderland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" did 140 miles over 3 days off tarmac and on forest gravel tracks , worked very well, not good on mud or wet grass, they are not designed for that, on tarmac and gravel really good and bike will go faster for same effort than with normal knobbly tyres. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? SUNDERLAND
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very competitive bike tyres,
July 23, 2015
By Geo37
from Loughborough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: competitive price, quick service
" Within an hour of ordering online at a price a could not find elsewhere, and having just removed my old tyres, received a call from my local branch that my pair of Schwalbe tyres where ready to collect. Impressive service! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHBOROUGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great tyres,
July 22, 2015
By fireiron
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" no nonsense straight forward does what it says on the packet tyre "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountain bike conversion,
July 21, 2015
By Trolley
from Blackpool, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Wanted to change my tyres, hate knobblies!! Liked the bike so fitted these tyres on recommendation. Bought from website as so much cheaper than in store. A little tight to fit, but once on, the bike is transformed and so much smoother and quicker. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why buy anything else?,
July 20, 2015
By FlossRegularly
from Braintree, Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, quality
Cons: nothing yet
" So, I have spent ages online seeing which tyres to get in order to turn my MTB into more of a hybrid. I was tempted to head for the Continentals as these seemed TOO cheap. I trusted the reviews though and ordered them online.
When picking them up, I bounced my dilemma off the salesman and he assured me I'd made a great decision. On and off road, he said they were the best choice.
I live at the top of a hill, and flat-out can manage around 28mph on my MTB. Putting these tyres on, I immediately managed 33! I then proceeded to tailgate a lorry and travel back uphill at around 12mph - I have NEVER managed this out of single figures. Grip is great, and there is enough tread to hold onto gravel etc.
The difference is phenomenal...buy with confidence! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BRAINTREE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Upgrade to slicks,
July 08, 2015
By SkipperB
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I just upgraded my MTB knobbly tyres to these City Jets and immediately found better grip and speed on the road. Really pleased. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
faster tyres for my MTB,
July 08, 2015
By John2110
from Chester, Chester, Cheshire West and Chester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: faster and smoother
Cons: don't buy instore reserve online as cheaper.
" I recently changed the tyres on my wifes MTB for these city jet tyres, she found them much smoother and faster than her other tyres, to the extent that I had trouble keeping up with her on a cycle path. So decided to change mine aswell, so asked my wife to go online and reserve them. She did but was very annoyed as she had paid £19.99 each for hers instore and online they were only £8.99 each. When we went to pick them up she was very annoyed and asked why such a big difference in price and even said she would be returning hers off her bike, a very nice assistant asked her if she had her reciept which she did and he gave her my tyres and credited her account with the difference. Great tyres just make sure you reserve online as cheaper, much. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (GREYHOUND PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tyre,
July 06, 2015
By Tom241
from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Changed my wide mountain bike tyres to schwalbe city jet, as I was just mainly riding on the road. The difference in speed was noticed straight away as normally time my rides.
Also did get a thorn in my front tyre one afternoon when I got home thinking once I pulled it out I'd get a flat. But no great . Made up with these tyres and would recommend them. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? AINTREE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Check prices online !!!!,
July 05, 2015
By Moggy2506
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Was charged 19.99 each for these in shop, 8.99 if you reserve online ???
Managed to get refund so now I always check web now!!
Good tyre, used for London to Brighton.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tyres,
June 26, 2015
By 123bucklemyshoe
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: colour, black
Cons: like tread, white
" Very quiet compared to last tyres and much less rolling resistance. Very pleased with products price and helpful service "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bargain,
June 17, 2015
By Anonymous
from Stockton-on-Tees, Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: exceptional value for money
Cons: bit tight when fitting to wheel
" Needed 2 new tyres on bike, looked at reviews and decided to try out Schwalbe City Jets at only £8.99 each. For the price i am delighted with these tyres, I inflated to 80psi and hit the road, very smooth ride and a lot quicker. Holds the road well, so far so good "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? STOCKTON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ultimate slick MTB tyre,
June 10, 2015
By Kunoichi
from Peak District
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ultra slick/fast, ultra quiet, pure mtb road tyre
" These tyres are fantastic if you wish to use your MTB on the ROAD ONLY; these are not hybrids but pure slick MTB tyres and work exceptionally well. To give you an idea of how well I just achieved a downhill segment time only 2 seconds behind last years top 10 TDF peloton on Strava (on an inexpensive alloy MTB). That's a £250 MTB vs. 8k road bikes. Naturally the conditions were ideal and I was flat out, but this illustrates how slick these really are. They have a very similar look and profile to road race tyres (v-profile) and the 1.5" are around 40mm when inflated to 85 PSI so 10mm thicker than standard road race tyres. I was surprised actually as I expected the ride to be hard with the high PSI; but actually they're really smooth and compliant. I have to say I adore them and wish I'd always used them as I'm addicted to tarmac now and the speed difference is exciting. They are also utterly quiet in comparison to off road/hybrid tyres and produce dramatically less rolling resistance. I climb huge ascents daily on my 20 mile 'Peak District' exercise routine and these tyres have had a dramatic effect on my enjoyment of cycling (and most of my Strava PR times have been destroyed since fitting them). Quality is excellent. The tyre wall is thin but they are designed to be light; just make sure you NEVER run them under the recommended PSI (use a track pump and gauge) as this compromises their structural integrity. I can't recommend these enough! :) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Internet Price AND 3 for the price of 2,
June 10, 2015
By magnusf
from uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" great service and fantastic value - internet prices on both the tyres and inner tubes, and then gave me 3 for the price of 2 off they had in store "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant tyres,
June 06, 2015
By jakc9
from uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this to replace my mountain bike tyres and also had to change my inner tubes also.
Ride was much smoother and I think took a lot less effort. I am hoping to be able to commute to work on roads and think these will help tremendously
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? SEVENOAKS
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Schwalbe City Jet Bike Tyre - 26" x 1.5"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
City Jet tyre,
May 20, 2015
By CityJet
from Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The product is as described & as a novice I found easy to replace existing tyres. They seem good quality & havve been great so far & very smooth comared to mountain bike tyres. Well worth the purchase, great service. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? HARLOW
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>