Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wynns Stop Smoke Oil Treatment 325ml

Wynns Stop Smoke Oil Treatment an oil soluble supplement, reduces exhaust smoke due to oil burning.
Average Customer Rating:
4.231 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
10 of 12(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wynns Stop Smoke Oil Treatment 325ml
Review 1 for Wynns Stop Smoke Oil Treatment 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It Works!,
June 05, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" 100k smokey, losing oil mini one - symptoms stopped after first use... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wynns Stop Smoke Oil Treatment 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stopped smoke!,
May 21, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I had white and blue smoke all the time,after using this and driving about 50 miles its all gone!! Just a touch of black diesel smoke on full throttle. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wynns Stop Smoke Oil Treatment 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Useful if used in context,
March 31, 2016
By
from Walsall
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price
" Having read in many reviews about this product, I thought I would try it to confirm my suspicions about my stem seals failing. Contrary to what many people think, there is no miracle cure for a failed engine component in a bottle, at best you contain the concern but a failed gasket is still a failed gasket and a failed seal is still a failed seal, I tried a bottle of this and within 40 miles, noticed a marked and visible reduction of smoke from the exhaust on load and hills and after about 100 miles, no smoke out of the pipe, even on a cold start up, so yes, highly recommended and now I know the seals need doing, for six quid, certainly cheaper and faster than the plethora of checks that would have do be done otherwise to prove this out, word of advice, heat this up before putting it into the engine, it is thick, i mean seriously thick, about half an hour in just off boiling water did the trick but still took ten minutes to decant fully so make sure you have a cuppa ready.... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WALSALL
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wynns Stop Smoke Oil Treatment 325ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Na,
March 26, 2016
By
from Uk
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Never work. Wast money I never spend any money on this stop smoke ever again "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? DAGENHAM
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wynns Stop Smoke Oil Treatment 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just works...,
November 30, 2015
By
from Orpington, Greater London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheap and it works...
Cons: takes a while to pour in
" Bought this to try and cure cold start up blue smoke billowing from my 15 year old diesel focus.
Didn't think it would do much to be honest.
Took a while to pour the whole lot into a warm engine... Started it up next morning and hey presto - no smoke. Unbelievable. And great value for money too.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wynns Stop Smoke Oil Treatment 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing,
July 24, 2015
By
from Shropshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent value
Cons: need to warm it up before adding to engine
" My 35 year old VW aircooled engine was starting to smoke badly due to worn valve guides. This Stop Smoke product seems to have eliminated the problem - no smoke!!! and hopefully better oil consumption.
Amazing!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wynns Stop Smoke Oil Treatment 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product/BMW 1.8 ti compact,
June 14, 2015
By
from Wembley, Greater London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" So I was running dry on on engine oil and forgot to keep an eye on the engine level even when I had a leak, so as I was driving fast I saw lots of white smoke at the back of my car it was fine at lower revs, thought nothing of it, until my colleague told to check the levels I was below minimum, so topped up straight away still smoke but then I used this product and a result no more white smoke, my mechanic was telling me to sell everyone was telling me to sell, it didn't work straight away but after a few hours of driving no more smoke. I don't how long it would last but if it starts smoking again I'm sure to be using this product again. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ALPERTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wynns Stop Smoke Oil Treatment 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does exactly what is says,
September 02, 2014
By
from Telford, Telford and Wrekin, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I was sceptical of this product as similar solutions seem do do nothing or in some cases cause more problems. This however does exactly what it says on the bottle. Decreases oil burn and increases lost engine compression. I used it for my BMW Valvetronic engine which not only was burning oil at a high rate but also lacked compression. Added this solution and after an hour i took my car out and noticed the difference in compression after only a few miles. And since then also have noticed a considerable decrease in oil burn. i would recommend this to anyone. sure its alot for a small bottle but its less expensive than filling your car with oil all the time. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wynns Stop Smoke Oil Treatment 325ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far so good,
May 17, 2014
By
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it worked for me
" 1. I was initially put off by the price, but it's not any cheaper anywhere else I looked, and you can get this the same day.
2. My car was burning in the region of 1L/100miles of oil (high mileage car), which was hugely HUGELY inconvenient and expensive. But I've now put it in (put the sealed bottle in hot water first to reduce the viscosity, or you'll be pouring it until Christmas) and driver in the region of 300 miles since and haven't had any loss of oil. Only time will tell if it works in the long run.
"
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? HARROW
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wynns Stop Smoke Oil Treatment 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does what it says on the bottle!!,
December 31, 2013
By
from neath
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" i got a 02 plate diesel van and i use this once a year and it does what it says on the bottle!! great product "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NEATH
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wynns Stop Smoke Oil Treatment 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
garys cars white smoke,
January 22, 2013
By
from darlington
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" had lots of white smoke coming from tail pipe in cold weather up 1 bottle of this in the oil and drove for 30/40 miles at high speet /motor way no more white smoke great treatment for white smoke /steam from tail pipe. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
-3points
8out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wynns Stop Smoke Oil Treatment 325ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stop Smoke,
October 29, 2012
By
from Devon, South West England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Works pretty well.
My local garage repair and MOT centre use it, so it can't be all bad, right ?
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wynns Stop Smoke Oil Treatment 325ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Made no difference,
January 28, 2011
By
from Sheffield
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Tried this in an attempt to make the car more civillised untill we got rid of it. Didn't make any difference. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
-16points
4out of 24found this review helpful.