Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Bike Racks & Cycle Carriers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier

The Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier will hold two bikes and fits almost all frame sizes
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
54 of 55(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
98 Questions | 105 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Review 1 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First experiance with car cycle rack - very positive,
June 19, 2014
By NickC
from Colchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: only seconds to fit to car., very light., lockable
"New to transporting cycles and found this rack excellent. Super easy to fit. Can use a padlock to prevent theft. Very light. So far driven 200 miles with no problems. I had my doubts given the simplicity of the design but it is really stable and solid. Very happy with it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Which Store did you visit? COLCHESTER
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant piece of kit.,
June 03, 2014
By Gerry73
from Hadfield, Derbyshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple to install, sturdy, compact
Cons: may require a number plate board.
"This is something we should have bought ages ago. Dead easy to install and surprisingly sturdy on the tow bar. We also bought a number plate board as the bike was obstructing the plate on the car. Worth noting but still very cheap for a quality system even with the light-board. Needed a number plate too and got the lot in one trip. Excellent service from Halfords too. Will use this for trips to the bike shop and for taking the stepson back to Uni. Fantastic and so simple to use. Nice and compact for storage in the shed or boot when required. A small long shackle padlock will secure this in the closed position on the car too making theft very unlikely. No more seats down and oil marks inside the car. Much cheaper and a great brand too. Ideal for two bikes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? STOCKPORT
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier,
May 09, 2014
By del1963
from Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lightweight yet strong
"Bought this product to transport two bicycles. Light , easy to use, set up on tow bar. My wife's car is a Ford Kuga, hence there is a split tailgate arrangement so access to boot is not restricted. Easily folds for storage in car boot."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Which Store did you visit? TRALEE (ROI)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Online order,
October 13, 2013
By Lasttry
from DL10
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent service. Article ready as specified, with no hitches. Staff most pleasant and helpful. A very useful service."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DARLINGTON
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
be careful,
July 13, 2013
By grumpier
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"i bought the rack and the false crossbar for my wifes standard raleigh ladies bike the attachments on the false crossbar landed exactly on the bars of the rack rendering the lot useless returned both the next day"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-14points
5out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule xpress bike carrier,
June 20, 2013
By craig76
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This bit of kit is great. Cheaper than most and very well made. I love not having to dismantle my bike to put it into my range rover sport now. With very fast install of the 970 carrier it wouldn't ever be worth putting it inside again.
Love it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-7points
6out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to fit, use and stow.,
May 25, 2013
By BobDag
from Workington
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: aesthetic and practical
"The first thing we realised was how simple to set up and attach to the car the bike carrier is. Short of time in a heavy downpour it didn't take ages to fathom out and attach. The lock and release mechanism works effortlessly and there is a locking hole to secure the carrier onto the car to prevent either accidental or deliberate removal of the kit. Folding into a small space when not in use, the carrier packs way in the boot and is ready for use in seconds."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WORKINGTON
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use;good value,
May 24, 2013
By ricer23
from somerset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, value for money
"simple to set up and use. looked at many brands and more expensive models but this is excellent value and did exactly job required."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGWATER
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
superb product,
May 02, 2013
By jovic240512
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is dead easy to fit on the car, takes less than 10 seconds.
The bikes are stable and safe, even my extra large frame bike.
Thule make great products, cant praise highly enough.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliantly designed bike carrier,
April 17, 2013
By cox152
from Birmingham England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: speed of attaching to towball, speed of attaching bikes, no strap needed between carrier and car., no contact with any part of the car, works with a swan neck towball
"This is perfect for my needs. It attaches directly to the towball in just a few seconds, is light in weight and the bikes are quick to securely attach. Very good value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SHELDON
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great rack,
April 07, 2013
By Sophylegs
from Bedford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this rack as a last minute buy so i could take my bike on holiday. Absolutely spot on. Easy to attach to the tow ball of my range rover. Bike was secure and easy to load and unload. A well made an easy to use product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BEDFORD
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tow-bar-tastic,
April 07, 2013
By EscapedMonkey
from Hitchin, Herts
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Cannot fault this cycle carrier, flexible enough to attach different styles of bikes, fits onto my ALKO towbar within a minute, very sturdy too. Note, when buying this product it doesn't come in a box.. It's a premium product so unsure why it's only in polywrap... who needs a box anyway!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? STEVENAGE
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value, effective.,
March 05, 2013
By Rosssavage
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Works really well - transporting two bikes on E46 BMW. very good value for a quality Thule product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? STAINES
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very quick to fit.,
October 26, 2012
By MRSLC
from Sheffield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of installation
Cons: closeness of bikes to each other
"This carrier fits to the car in seconds and can be removed just as easily. It takes a bit of juggling to get two bikes on the rack, but once installed they are very stable. Remember to close the boot before installing the rack!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, quick to fit!,
September 24, 2012
By MarkTKT
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Wanted a cheap and quality product. Took a chance based on reviews as the entry carrier. Super, a must buy for anyone looking to transport a couple of bikes, Fitted in minutes and easy to lift your bikes onto."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent,
August 17, 2012
By maatty1987
from mansfield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought the cycle rack yesterday easy to fit, well made excellent must have for cyclist."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
so easy to fit,
August 04, 2012
By markyt11
from leeds
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quick and easy to fit
"This has to be one of the best cycle carriers on the market, it s so easy to fit, its well made takes up very little boot space when not in use, ideal if you have a convertible, i use mine on a fiat 500c."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product!!,
May 10, 2012
By Jagzy
from London, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Totally agree with other 5* comments; it’s worth every penny. A simple but ingenious design makes it so quick to attach or detach from car. The carrier works because it clamps to the tow ball and neck of the towing hook, so it cannot shift even when fully loaded. I have a swan neck tow hook but it will fit all types. Absolutely recommended!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product,
April 14, 2012
By Enrico
from Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit.
Cons: none
"Very easy to fit and very stable on drawbar.Adjustable brackets allow you to fit most bikes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good and very easy to use,
April 02, 2012
By AndrewPS
from Southampton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, safe to use
"Fits over the tow-ball easily and is very secure- you have to see it to know how clever and simple it is. I was a little dubious before buying, but NOT after using. Fits my Disco 3 no problem (with swan neck detachable ball)."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>