Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Cycle Carriers & Bike Racks or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier

The Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier will hold two bikes and fits almost all frame sizes
Average Customer Rating:
4.734 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (94 reviews)
5 stars
77
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
90 of 93(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
98 Questions | 120 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Review 1 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule Bike towbar carrier,
January 21, 2015
By Verityvet
from Dorchester, Dorchester, Dorset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Simple to use and very sturdy, just what I wanted and very reasonably priced compared with others. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DORCHESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy picture instructions.,
January 19, 2015
By Tigoni58
from Devon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I found this very easy to set up. I havent used it yet because of the weather, but the picture instructions were very simple to follow. I cant give a performance value yet, as not used. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? TIVERTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not suitable,
January 18, 2015
By scunny19
from brigg
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" It would hold one bike but not suitable for two took it back and bought the one to hold three bikes "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value product,
January 09, 2015
By jam321
from Belfast, Belfast, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value, quality
Cons: nothing to repor on this
" just fitted this to the car and it appears to be a good value product. it simply clamps onto the toe bar without any other stabilisation. I haven't had a trip yet with the bikes on board but it looks to be well made. I suppose a little nervous that it wil not clamp as well over time but we'll see! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BALLYMENA
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fab,
January 06, 2015
By Barlow307
from Co durham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is really lite and easy to use fits in seconds ,i am carrying 2 bmxs and feel really confident about having them on the back of the car with this rack,great product and good price "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DARLINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick & sturdy,
January 05, 2015
By Ian1048
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Really good, easy to get on and off, holds the bikes steady, arms could be a little longer to make fitting two bikes easier, but overall very happy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simplicity itself!,
December 26, 2014
By Vince69
from Bexhill on Sea, East Sussex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, sturdy
Cons: can't open boot once it's fitted
" So easy to use, I've started taking my bike away again! OK so once it's on I can't open my boot but that just means I have to think about what I' doing! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HASTINGS (BEXHILL)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice and Compact Carrier,
December 20, 2014
By Stewie76
from Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" It is easy to fold out and fix to my discovery 3 tow bar. It folds very compact when I'm not using it and stores easily in my boot. Overall a nice, lightweight and simple compact carrier. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HAVERHILL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
December 19, 2014
By Felix621
from Plymouth, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: compact and easily used
" Only travelling with 1 bike at the moment and only 250 to 300 miles but so far this has proven a good buy. Simple to use, sturdy when fitted, compact and easily stored in boot. I suspect fitting two bikes will take a little "jiggery-pokery" but expect it will be ok. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike carrier,
December 10, 2014
By Annie65
from Newark-on-Trent, Newark, Nottinghamshire NG24, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This product is brilliant. Very easy to use. Takes the hassle out of taking the bike out. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (VICTORIA RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for money,
November 10, 2014
By Leminypie
from Coatbridge, North Lanarkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the size of it and how compact it is when folded
" This is a sturdy pice of equipment that surpassed my expectations based on the cost. I feel confident that I can transport the family bikes safely and with ease. Very easy to connect and doesnt stick out from the back of the car excessively. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? AIRDRIE
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product and great value,
November 03, 2014
By John2014
from Blackburn, Blackburn with Darwen, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything. solid item great value
Cons: nothing
" This is very easy to use, and is installed in seconds. I was concerned that it may be subject to movement on the tow bar once the bikes were attached, but these concerns were unfounded. I was very impressed as to how quickly it was fixed in position and how secure it was. The rubber bike retainers work really well and negate the requirement for elasticated ropes. I had to hang the tailboard on the bikes, as the arms are not overly long, but this was not an issue.
Excellent value for money for a quality easy to use product.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BOLTON (HORWICH)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great cycle carrier,
November 03, 2014
By Frazzleddad
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very good cycle carrier. Easy to attach in minutes and very secure on the towbar. Has holes which line up to allow a small padlock to be fitted. Was a bit difficult to load up my wife's female framed Raleigh due to the frame shape etc. Took a few attempts to load it up and attach and didn't leave a lot of space for a second bike. Maybe if it had been an MTB type it would have fitted easier. Other than that a very good product and would recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value but a very tight fit for a BMW X5,
October 30, 2014
By GWatlarge
from Sussex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: well made great value
Cons: the arms are too short for a 4x4 vehicle
" The Thule carrier fits to the tow bar and snaps into place in seconds. It is very sturdily made and secure on the tow bar. There is also an opportunity to lock the system to the tow bar with a long shanked padlock.
However the small downside is that its quite a performance to get two bikes onto the carrier. The arms are not quite long enough and when the first bike is placed on the carrier, the second bike does not have enough room to drop onto its seating. The first bike has to be lifted to allow the second bike to drop into place. On a BMW X5 the boot lid has to closed before this operation and cannot be opened once the carrier is in place.
Overall though, a great value carrier, that works well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BURGESS HILL
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far so good,
October 24, 2014
By TriggersBroom
from Hull
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: possibly only for one bike
" Only used it a few times so far, but certainly better than wrestling a muddy bike into the car.
Easy to fit and easy to hang the bike on and solid when moving. I'm not sure how it'd be with two though. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? HULL (CLOUGH RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent bike carrier,
October 23, 2014
By robbo2905
from Fife, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, secure, simple
Cons: nothing
" Brilliant all round. Very easy to fit and remove, and very secure at speed with bikes fitted. I bought the carrier on a Thursday and then drove from home in Fife to Achnasheen North West of Inverness on the Friday with no problems at all. I cannot fault this product at all. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Which Store did you visit? KIRKCALDY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best bike carrier by far,
October 06, 2014
By Gardnernational
from Wrexham, Wrexham, Wrexham, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money, strength, easy to use
" My only regret with buying this is why didn't I buy it sooner! It is by far the best bike carrier I have ever owned. It's is so simple to fit, takes seconds. Very secure on the tow bar, I can hang my weight of it & it won't budge. Holds the bikes solid as a rock. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? WREXHAM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
September 30, 2014
By S1476
from N. IRELAND
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Recommended by a fellow cyclist. An excellent carrier that is so simple to fit and remove. Very good sturdy quality. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? DOWNPATRICK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just perfect!,
September 29, 2014
By VonKel
from Norwich, Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" To be honest I wasn't expecting much for the price, but due to having a soft top car this was my only option to fit a bike rack. I was imagining something cheap and plastic, how wrong was I!
The rack itself is very solid and well made. Fitting it to the tow bar took exactly 2 minutes! Fitting the bikes on the rack took another 5 mins ( I had a slight issue as my mud guards are chunky). Having never used a bike rack before I was expecting to drive off an have the bikes wobble about, but no they were lovely and secure.
If you have a tow ball and need a bike rack I can't recommend this model enough. A bargain. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job,
September 28, 2014
By Likeproductnotservice
from Edge Lane, United Kingdom
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it s ease of use
" The Thule Xpress Pro Bike Carrier is easy to use and well made. Goes on and comes off tow bar easily.Is very sturdy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>