Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Cycle Carriers & Bike Racks or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier

The Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier will hold two bikes and fits almost all frame sizes
Average Customer Rating:
4.67 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(103 Reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (103 reviews)
5 stars
82
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
98 of 102(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
98 Questions | 120 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Review 1 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most convienient bike rack in the word.,
March 04, 2015
By Phil7894
from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money, folds down to a small size, set up takes a few seconds
Cons: requires an additional light board, can't lock to tow bar as with larger models
" Great product and customer service, really good value for money. Easil folds down to a small size to store in boot. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (MEADOW RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Plastic part snapped off at first use. Otherwise great.,
February 27, 2015
By WhyMakeItSoDifficult
from Milton Keynes, Milton Keynes, Milton Keynes, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Plastic part of clamping mechanism broke at first use. I use a padlock or bolt to secure the mechanism and it works fine. Steel tubing part of bike carrier is very robust.
I carry only one bike at a time. Both my new Giant Roam XL and my old Raleigh Criterium fit perfectly.
I use it with my old Land Rover Discovery. The bike does not obscure the lights or number plate but I carry a trailer board just in case.
Easy to fit but there is a danger of trapping fingers with the closing mechanism, and it needs quite a hard push. Not suitable for everyone. Once on it is stable and secure.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MILTON KEYNES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
None of my bikes fit,
February 04, 2015
By roadie7
from land of the prince bishops
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" 2 road bikes and 2 mountain bikes none would fit onto the rack. They would if I removed the support blocks and clamps but only one at a time, at this price I'm not going to start meddling "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good, sturdy and simple,
February 03, 2015
By Helen9
from Bournemouth, Bournemouth, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" We looked at lots of bike racks including the ride on style. We wanted a sturdy carrier so the bike didn't move around on the back of the car too much.
This is simple to fit onto the tow bar and easy to put the bikes on. Neither of our bikes are long enough to allow the arms to go through the frame. We simply turn the rubber grip at an angle and place the seat post into the grip. It holds our two bikes securely.
The only extra straps we use are to hold the front wheel straight in line with the frames, to stop the handlebars turning whilst driving along.
We also bought the number plate adapter separately and that works good too.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? BOURNEMOUTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simplicity at its best,
February 01, 2015
By Donnyrascal
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Such a doddle to secure to towbar. Stows away easily too "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thule Express Pro 970 Bike Carrier,
February 01, 2015
By Vanoc
from Southport, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, strong safe and secure, light and compact
Cons: ladies bikes a little more fiddly to fit, can't open the boot when fitted
" Bought this rack as a substitute for my 4 bike carrier when I just need to take one or two bikes and this rack is perfect for that. I was a little sceptical when I got it but my scepticism was unfounded. It is so easy and quick to mount to my tow ball and it is safe and secure. A light board may be required depending on your car, mine does (Mk IV Mondeo). A padlock (not supplied) secures it to the car. It takes both men and women's bikes but the woman's bike would benefit from a temporary cross bar. Overall though I am very pleased with the product and would recommend it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHPORT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
easy to fit and lightweight,
January 31, 2015
By Dini
from Yorks
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: size and weight
Cons: won't fit 2 bikes
" I found this easy to put onto detachable towbar on my mini. However I can only fit one bike on. Both me and my husband have hybrid specialized bikes, both won't fit on at the same time without causing damage. Will definitely need to display another number plate to be road legal and buy further straps to make bike more secure. Still, it's good value for money and I'll use it for commuting from parking place into town. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SCARBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best bike rack,
January 30, 2015
By theubendman
from Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Really good bike rack excellent quality , very pleased with price and the service from your staff was 10/10. Halfords came up trumps again would recommend . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PORT TALBOT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clever little design!,
January 29, 2015
By webbo40
from Somerset UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quick and easy, foldable, tight secure clamp to tow ball
Cons: need a separate light board
" This rack is so quick and easy to fit and nice and secure when fitted. Simply open up and push down onto towing ball (tow ball required) then push bracket down to secure. Nice and sturdy and carries 2 large adult mountain bikes with ease.
You do need a lighting board with number plate to plug in as it obscures your lights etc but great rack for carrying bikes and comes off and folds flat in the boot.
Holds bikes away from car so no damage to paint and messing with numerous straps! Love it! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WESTON SUPER MARE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule Bike towbar carrier,
January 21, 2015
By Verityvet
from Dorchester, Dorchester, Dorset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Simple to use and very sturdy, just what I wanted and very reasonably priced compared with others. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DORCHESTER
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy picture instructions.,
January 19, 2015
By Tigoni58
from Devon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I found this very easy to set up. I havent used it yet because of the weather, but the picture instructions were very simple to follow. I cant give a performance value yet, as not used. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? TIVERTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not suitable,
January 18, 2015
By scunny19
from brigg
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" It would hold one bike but not suitable for two took it back and bought the one to hold three bikes "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value product,
January 09, 2015
By jam321
from Belfast, Belfast, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value, quality
Cons: nothing to repor on this
" just fitted this to the car and it appears to be a good value product. it simply clamps onto the toe bar without any other stabilisation. I haven't had a trip yet with the bikes on board but it looks to be well made. I suppose a little nervous that it wil not clamp as well over time but we'll see! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BALLYMENA
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fab,
January 06, 2015
By Barlow307
from Co durham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is really lite and easy to use fits in seconds ,i am carrying 2 bmxs and feel really confident about having them on the back of the car with this rack,great product and good price "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DARLINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick & sturdy,
January 05, 2015
By Ian1048
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Really good, easy to get on and off, holds the bikes steady, arms could be a little longer to make fitting two bikes easier, but overall very happy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simplicity itself!,
December 26, 2014
By Vince69
from Bexhill on Sea, East Sussex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, sturdy
Cons: can't open boot once it's fitted
" So easy to use, I've started taking my bike away again! OK so once it's on I can't open my boot but that just means I have to think about what I' doing! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HASTINGS (BEXHILL)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice and Compact Carrier,
December 20, 2014
By Stewie76
from Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" It is easy to fold out and fix to my discovery 3 tow bar. It folds very compact when I'm not using it and stores easily in my boot. Overall a nice, lightweight and simple compact carrier. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HAVERHILL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
December 19, 2014
By Felix621
from Plymouth, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: compact and easily used
" Only travelling with 1 bike at the moment and only 250 to 300 miles but so far this has proven a good buy. Simple to use, sturdy when fitted, compact and easily stored in boot. I suspect fitting two bikes will take a little "jiggery-pokery" but expect it will be ok. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike carrier,
December 10, 2014
By Annie65
from Newark-on-Trent, Newark, Nottinghamshire NG24, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This product is brilliant. Very easy to use. Takes the hassle out of taking the bike out. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (VICTORIA RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for money,
November 10, 2014
By Leminypie
from Coatbridge, North Lanarkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the size of it and how compact it is when folded
" This is a sturdy pice of equipment that surpassed my expectations based on the cost. I feel confident that I can transport the family bikes safely and with ease. Very easy to connect and doesnt stick out from the back of the car excessively. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? AIRDRIE
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>