Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Cycle Carriers & Bike Racks or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier

The Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier will hold two bikes and fits almost all frame sizes
Average Customer Rating:
4.793 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
74
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
85 of 87(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
98 Questions | 120 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Review 1 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice and Compact Carrier,
December 20, 2014
By Stewie76
from Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" It is easy to fold out and fix to my discovery 3 tow bar. It folds very compact when I'm not using it and stores easily in my boot. Overall a nice, lightweight and simple compact carrier. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HAVERHILL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
December 19, 2014
By Felix621
from Plymouth, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: compact and easily used
" Only travelling with 1 bike at the moment and only 250 to 300 miles but so far this has proven a good buy. Simple to use, sturdy when fitted, compact and easily stored in boot. I suspect fitting two bikes will take a little "jiggery-pokery" but expect it will be ok. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike carrier,
December 10, 2014
By Annie65
from Newark-on-Trent, Newark, Nottinghamshire NG24, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This product is brilliant. Very easy to use. Takes the hassle out of taking the bike out. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (VICTORIA RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for money,
November 10, 2014
By Leminypie
from Coatbridge, North Lanarkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the size of it and how compact it is when folded
" This is a sturdy pice of equipment that surpassed my expectations based on the cost. I feel confident that I can transport the family bikes safely and with ease. Very easy to connect and doesnt stick out from the back of the car excessively. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? AIRDRIE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product and great value,
November 03, 2014
By John2014
from Blackburn, Blackburn with Darwen, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything. solid item great value
Cons: nothing
" This is very easy to use, and is installed in seconds. I was concerned that it may be subject to movement on the tow bar once the bikes were attached, but these concerns were unfounded. I was very impressed as to how quickly it was fixed in position and how secure it was. The rubber bike retainers work really well and negate the requirement for elasticated ropes. I had to hang the tailboard on the bikes, as the arms are not overly long, but this was not an issue.
Excellent value for money for a quality easy to use product.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BOLTON (HORWICH)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great cycle carrier,
November 03, 2014
By Frazzleddad
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very good cycle carrier. Easy to attach in minutes and very secure on the towbar. Has holes which line up to allow a small padlock to be fitted. Was a bit difficult to load up my wife's female framed Raleigh due to the frame shape etc. Took a few attempts to load it up and attach and didn't leave a lot of space for a second bike. Maybe if it had been an MTB type it would have fitted easier. Other than that a very good product and would recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value but a very tight fit for a BMW X5,
October 30, 2014
By GWatlarge
from Sussex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: well made great value
Cons: the arms are too short for a 4x4 vehicle
" The Thule carrier fits to the tow bar and snaps into place in seconds. It is very sturdily made and secure on the tow bar. There is also an opportunity to lock the system to the tow bar with a long shanked padlock.
However the small downside is that its quite a performance to get two bikes onto the carrier. The arms are not quite long enough and when the first bike is placed on the carrier, the second bike does not have enough room to drop onto its seating. The first bike has to be lifted to allow the second bike to drop into place. On a BMW X5 the boot lid has to closed before this operation and cannot be opened once the carrier is in place.
Overall though, a great value carrier, that works well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BURGESS HILL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far so good,
October 24, 2014
By TriggersBroom
from Hull
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: possibly only for one bike
" Only used it a few times so far, but certainly better than wrestling a muddy bike into the car.
Easy to fit and easy to hang the bike on and solid when moving. I'm not sure how it'd be with two though. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? HULL (CLOUGH RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent bike carrier,
October 23, 2014
By robbo2905
from Fife, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, secure, simple
Cons: nothing
" Brilliant all round. Very easy to fit and remove, and very secure at speed with bikes fitted. I bought the carrier on a Thursday and then drove from home in Fife to Achnasheen North West of Inverness on the Friday with no problems at all. I cannot fault this product at all. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Which Store did you visit? KIRKCALDY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best bike carrier by far,
October 06, 2014
By Gardnernational
from Wrexham, Wrexham, Wrexham, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money, strength, easy to use
" My only regret with buying this is why didn't I buy it sooner! It is by far the best bike carrier I have ever owned. It's is so simple to fit, takes seconds. Very secure on the tow bar, I can hang my weight of it & it won't budge. Holds the bikes solid as a rock. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? WREXHAM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
September 30, 2014
By S1476
from N. IRELAND
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Recommended by a fellow cyclist. An excellent carrier that is so simple to fit and remove. Very good sturdy quality. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? DOWNPATRICK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just perfect!,
September 29, 2014
By VonKel
from Norwich, Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" To be honest I wasn't expecting much for the price, but due to having a soft top car this was my only option to fit a bike rack. I was imagining something cheap and plastic, how wrong was I!
The rack itself is very solid and well made. Fitting it to the tow bar took exactly 2 minutes! Fitting the bikes on the rack took another 5 mins ( I had a slight issue as my mud guards are chunky). Having never used a bike rack before I was expecting to drive off an have the bikes wobble about, but no they were lovely and secure.
If you have a tow ball and need a bike rack I can't recommend this model enough. A bargain. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job,
September 28, 2014
By Likeproductnotservice
from Edge Lane, United Kingdom
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it s ease of use
" The Thule Xpress Pro Bike Carrier is easy to use and well made. Goes on and comes off tow bar easily.Is very sturdy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant!,
September 20, 2014
By Rootie4
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" We bought this rack after having tried another more expensive one and being unhappy with it as it did not fit correctly on the tow bar. This one is light, easy to use and store. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Which Store did you visit? STOCKPORT
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use and peace of mind in one!,
September 11, 2014
By LightScribeSteve
from Colchester, Colchester, Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, feeling of security, great price (buy online)
" I have used the Pro 970 a couple of times now and despite feeling "surely this can't be secure..." at first I have grown it total confidence.
Coupled with the fact it takes seconds to attach or remove (albeit about 5-10 mins to get the bikes securely put on it) it is so much better than any other bike carrier I have ever used.
If you have a tow-bar, (or get one specifically as I did) and have two bikes that need carrying, then get the Thule Xpress Pro 970 - You will be glad you did...
Steve "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? COLCHESTER
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for a sturdy secure carrier,
September 07, 2014
By Wizza1
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money, sturdy fits rock solid, bike held in position nicely, rediculously quick and easy to fit
Cons: might be a squeeze for 2 cherrished bikes
" I was unsure about this bike carrier, but needed something quickly as my previous carrier didn't fit current car and at last minute I wanted to take my bike on holiday to Cornwall. I spoke to a very helpful young lady at Tonbridge Branch who explained the simplicity of this bike rack. I was dubious but thought I should go along, try and fit at the premises and if no good I could return it immediately. I reserved the bike carrier on line, bought the number plate board and number plate in store and box of bungees.
I was expecting complications but the 970 is so simple, it fitted on to the tow bar so easily, My bike took a bit of fiddling to get it seated properly (a Giant Defy road bike, having done it a couple of times now it's no problem). Everything worked a treat! Extremely simple, sturdy and secure. Gives the choice of taking my bike when there is no boot space. Excellent value for money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? TONBRIDGE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use and Holds the Bikes Well,
September 07, 2014
By UselessArthur
from Calne, Wiltshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to set up and restrain bike, good value for money for 2 bikes
Cons: not a lot
" I couldn't believe the other comments about how effective this carrier was until I snapped it over the tow bar and, 30 seconds later, had the bike nicely secured and ready to go. No shakes of rattles on speeds of up to 60mph. Just as simple to remove so I would think about a lock if you're going to leave the car unattended wit the bike attached. I also think a second bike would completely obscure the number plate so a clip on one might be needed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? CHIPPENHAM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple and sturdy,
September 05, 2014
By Alanone
from Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: design & price
Cons: nothing not to like
" Such a simple and effective design. If you have a tow bar this is the bike carrier to have. So much better than the carriers that hang off the rear hatch (tailgate) of your car. And far less likely to damage the paintwork. This is an excellent product that you can fit it 20 seconds. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier,
September 04, 2014
By Dog5
from Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellant product, fits Land Rover Discovery and our bikes perfectly. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? REDHILL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing bike carrier!,
September 02, 2014
By borntoride
from Coventry, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything as it says on paper!
Cons: none!
" I am most impressed by its simplicity yet amazingly flexible bike carrier. Great for people who are always in a hurry! Attach, mount and away you go in a minute or so! Surprisingly sturdy for such a simple fold-away bike carrier. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>