Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier

The Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier will hold two bikes and fits almost all frame sizes
Average Customer Rating:
4.784 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
72 of 74(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
98 Questions | 119 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Review 1 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant!,
September 20, 2014
By Rootie4
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We bought this rack after having tried another more expensive one and being unhappy with it as it did not fit correctly on the tow bar. This one is light, easy to use and store."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Which Store did you visit? STOCKPORT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use and peace of mind in one!,
September 11, 2014
By LightScribeSteve
from Colchester, Colchester, Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, feeling of security, great price (buy online)
"I have used the Pro 970 a couple of times now and despite feeling "surely this can't be secure..." at first I have grown it total confidence.
Coupled with the fact it takes seconds to attach or remove (albeit about 5-10 mins to get the bikes securely put on it) it is so much better than any other bike carrier I have ever used.
If you have a tow-bar, (or get one specifically as I did) and have two bikes that need carrying, then get the Thule Xpress Pro 970 - You will be glad you did...
Steve"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? COLCHESTER
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for a sturdy secure carrier,
September 07, 2014
By Wizza1
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money, sturdy fits rock solid, bike held in position nicely, rediculously quick and easy to fit
Cons: might be a squeeze for 2 cherrished bikes
"I was unsure about this bike carrier, but needed something quickly as my previous carrier didn't fit current car and at last minute I wanted to take my bike on holiday to Cornwall. I spoke to a very helpful young lady at Tonbridge Branch who explained the simplicity of this bike rack. I was dubious but thought I should go along, try and fit at the premises and if no good I could return it immediately. I reserved the bike carrier on line, bought the number plate board and number plate in store and box of bungees.
I was expecting complications but the 970 is so simple, it fitted on to the tow bar so easily, My bike took a bit of fiddling to get it seated properly (a Giant Defy road bike, having done it a couple of times now it's no problem). Everything worked a treat! Extremely simple, sturdy and secure. Gives the choice of taking my bike when there is no boot space. Excellent value for money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? TONBRIDGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use and Holds the Bikes Well,
September 07, 2014
By UselessArthur
from Calne, Wiltshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to set up and restrain bike, good value for money for 2 bikes
Cons: not a lot
"I couldn't believe the other comments about how effective this carrier was until I snapped it over the tow bar and, 30 seconds later, had the bike nicely secured and ready to go. No shakes of rattles on speeds of up to 60mph. Just as simple to remove so I would think about a lock if you're going to leave the car unattended wit the bike attached. I also think a second bike would completely obscure the number plate so a clip on one might be needed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? CHIPPENHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple and sturdy,
September 05, 2014
By Alanone
from Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: design & price
Cons: nothing not to like
"Such a simple and effective design. If you have a tow bar this is the bike carrier to have. So much better than the carriers that hang off the rear hatch (tailgate) of your car. And far less likely to damage the paintwork. This is an excellent product that you can fit it 20 seconds."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier,
September 04, 2014
By Dog5
from Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellant product, fits Land Rover Discovery and our bikes perfectly."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? REDHILL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing bike carrier!,
September 02, 2014
By borntoride
from Coventry, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything as it says on paper!
Cons: none!
"I am most impressed by its simplicity yet amazingly flexible bike carrier. Great for people who are always in a hurry! Attach, mount and away you go in a minute or so! Surprisingly sturdy for such a simple fold-away bike carrier."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality Thule product.,
September 01, 2014
By grangewalls
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Quick to fit, very secure and easy to use.
Will definitely not fit all bike types, but was made aware of this before buying.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DOWNPATRICK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Carrier BUT,
September 01, 2014
By Pickles100
from Bedford, Bedford, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the easy of fitting to car, the easy of fitting the bikes.
"This is the second of these Thule 970 Bike Carries I have had.
The first one lasted 3 years until the clasps that grip the tow bar started to wear, and the carrier started to turn one side towards my bumper, and I was worried my bike would damage the paint.
BUT during those 3 years it has been on and off my tow bar 6 times a week so I don't think at these prices thats bad.
It is so easy to use and I have done a few thousand miles with them and up to just recently had no problems.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Which Store did you visit? BEDFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So easy to use.,
August 31, 2014
By Hakkiki
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easily fitted, easily stored
"Easily fits onto the tow bar and comfortably fits 2 bikes. Definitely get bungee rope or similar to keep the wheels from moving about and hitting off the car."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
August 30, 2014
By GeoffH2273
from Wales, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great product, quick and easy to use. Bikes are on the back of the car in no time and feel really secure."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Other hobbies: Cycling
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simplicity leading to brilliance,
August 25, 2014
By nelsonjd76
from Sheffield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was sceptical just how good this product would be but I trusted the Thule brand and Im so glad I did. As soon as I attached this to the towbar I was amazed at just what a great product this is. If you are after a portable bike rack and have a towbar on your vehice then this has to be the choice for you."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (CRYSTAL PEAKS)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very high quality product,
August 23, 2014
By Salmo678
from Exeter, Exeter, Devon, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, simplicity, value for money
"I researched many websites for a simple, high quality, upright and uncomplicated tow bar bike carrier and was very impressed with the Thule Xpress Pro 970. I went to see one in Halfords and and that convinced me it was the best on the market and at a very reasonable price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? EXETER (SIDWELL STREET)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely Brilliant,
August 23, 2014
By Telboy63
from Rushden, Northamptonshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Having had cycle racks before and struggled with clumsy straps this is a brilliant innovation.You literally jump clamp it into the tow bar, push down and it's done - very rigid and secure. The cycles then just hang onto the rack and are secured with small rubber straps. No spending ages to do straps up or scratching the car. After it folds up very small and goes in the boot.Well recommended especially if you are fingers and thumbs when it comes to stuff like this."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SIMPLE TO USE AND EFFICIENT,
August 20, 2014
By Jenni00
from Clacton-on-Sea, Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent product at reasonable price. Fitted my 2011 Ford CMAX tow-bar.
Collapses easily for storage. Small padlock will keep secure if left unattended.
My son has one as well and he commended this bike rack to me.
.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? CLACTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
August 19, 2014
By Dave1974
from Peterborough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I would highly recommend this carrier, we can get this on the back of the car in seconds and folds up and store in the boot when not in use."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? PETERBOROUGH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
compact cycle carrier,
August 09, 2014
By sam256
from South - West
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fast ti fit, easy to store, excellent value for money
Cons: maximum of two bicycles
"Very neat little carrier, very fast to fit, surprisingly sturdy when fitted and very easy to store in the boot of your car when not in use."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? TAUNTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy cycle carrier,
August 08, 2014
By tutlad
from Ferryhill, Ferryhill, County Durham DL17, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quick set up, storage, price, secure on tow bar
Cons: have to add locks to secure to tow bar, long clasp locks required to lock bikes.
"Very easy to set up, secure on tow bar by use of lock. couple of long clasp locks the bikes to the rack. The best part is storage folds away and can be left in the boot."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BISHOP AUCKLAND
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fits almost all frame sizes except the 2 we own!,
July 29, 2014
By Prouse82
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: ease of fitting, price
Cons: doesn't fit our bikes
"We were hunting online for a reasonably priced tow bar carrier that would be quick and easy to put on/take off the car and came across this and thought it was the answer. Reserved it online and collected it within an hour. Took it home and put it straight on the car which was incredibly easy, the problem came when we tried to put the bikes on. The carrier has 2 parallel bars each with 2 adjustable straps which would be fine if we both had racers or mountain bikes with a regular a-frame with tubes with a narrow diameter. This wasn't suitable for my classic style hybrid or my husband's chunky framed mountain bike. If possible take your bikes with you to check they fit or be prepared for a possible trip back to the store to return it. You'll also need to purchase a light and number plate board as although it is pictured with one it is not included."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ARBROATH
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thule Xpress Pro 970 Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First experiance with car cycle rack - very positive,
June 19, 2014
By NickC
from Colchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: only seconds to fit to car., very light., lockable
"New to transporting cycles and found this rack excellent. Super easy to fit. Can use a padlock to prevent theft. Very light. So far driven 200 miles with no problems. I had my doubts given the simplicity of the design but it is really stable and solid. Very happy with it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Which Store did you visit? COLCHESTER
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>