Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Thule HangOn 972 3-Bike Towball Rear Mount Carrier

The Thule HangOn 972 3-Bike Towball Rear Mount Carrier is flexible & allows access to the boot.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule HangOn 972 3-Bike Towball Rear Mount Carrier
Review 1 for Thule HangOn 972 3-Bike Towball Rear Mount Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Title mechanism is poor - too wide for most bikes.,
March 23, 2016
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cons: bar spacing too wide for most cross bars, tilt mechanism has no stop, front bike is too close to back of car
" The tilt mechanism has no stop - so only stops when you have all the bikes resting on the outermost bike on the floor. It's also almost impossible to use with 3 bikes on the rack as you can't get to the release handle which is in the centre just above the tow bar.
The rack is also too wide for most modern bikes which now have shorter cross bars. My mountain bike, cyclocross and road bike won't fit properly. The only bike that was satisfactory was the hybrid.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule HangOn 972 3-Bike Towball Rear Mount Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great rack,
January 28, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: rigidness, ease of use
Cons: quite expensive
" Didn't initially think a bike rack clamped onto a towbar ball would be as rigid as it is as people had told me, so was very impressed when fitted how rigid it was!!.
Only carried two bikes so far but have no doubts it'll take three.
Good quality & keeps the mud outside of the car.. would recommend the rack.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule HangOn 972 3-Bike Towball Rear Mount Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick n easy,
January 23, 2016
By
from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great item! I was very surprised how sturdy it was once fitted. It comfortably fits 3 bikes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BARNSLEY (CORTONWOOD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule HangOn 972 3-Bike Towball Rear Mount Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really good and easy product to mount/store,
April 29, 2015
By
from Leytonstone
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of mount/dismount, easy to store, feels safe when driving
Cons: no lock
" Just went to Brittany and back with 2 adults and 1 child bike on this bike rack. top notch. the fact you can tilt it to access your boot makes it even better.
Only missing feature: a lock mechanism to leave it on the car secured. Then again it takes only 10 seconds to take it off...
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHINGFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule HangOn 972 3-Bike Towball Rear Mount Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THIS CARRIER GIVES GOOD ACCESS ON MY V70,
February 24, 2015
By
from Bangor, Gwynedd, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: not having to lift the bikes onto the roof
Cons: a bit pricey
" STURDY CARRIER BUILD, HANDY TILTING FEATURE, HAVE'NT BEEN OUT ON THE ROAD YET AS I NEED TO PURCHASE A REAR LIGHT BOARD FOR THE CAR. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule HangOn 972 3-Bike Towball Rear Mount Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Defies logc but works briliant,
March 27, 2013
By
from Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I was looking for a new cycle carrier which wouldn't rest on the car paintwork as my existing rack needed strapping and clips to the boot lid, occasionally scratching it.
I saw this on the internet and was intrigued as it just sits on a standard tow ball and clamps on.
Got it home, unpacked and mounted on the tow bar - its as is it was welded; there's no play, no bounce, extremely secure and strong. Would recommend to anybody with a tow bar, well away from the car and solid; The drop down facility also eases access to the boot itself - very useful. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (FORT)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule HangOn 972 3-Bike Towball Rear Mount Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule HangOn 972 3-Bike Towball Rear Mount Carrier,
March 17, 2013
By
from Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This bike rack is easy to fit, the tilt function is great. Easy to put bike onto rack. But could have difficulty putting female frame bike on with out adapter. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? INVERURIE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule HangOn 972 3-Bike Towball Rear Mount Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So Easy To Use,
September 30, 2012
By
from East Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: so easy to use
" Very easy to attach to towball and surprisingly stable. Takes two bikes easily, yet to try it with three, but can't see there being a problem.
Excellent value for money. The delivery was fast too.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule HangOn 972 3-Bike Towball Rear Mount Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule Carrier,
July 06, 2012
By
from Belfast
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I got this to replace an old strap type carrier, the difference is hugh, this carrier is fitted in seconds and absolutly rock solid - highly recommended "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule HangOn 972 3-Bike Towball Rear Mount Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely met expectation,
April 11, 2012
By
from Alton, Hampshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: tiltable for boot access, quality product
Cons: optional extra bolt lock suspect ability
" I recently changed cars and unfortunately my previous bike rack no longer fitted. I considered a roof mount but decided that having to use a step ladder everytime would be fraught with various risks so decided on a towbar model. However was concerned about a solid fitting. Needn't have worried. Thule quality and design of this are superb. Follow the instructions and it is really solid. Love being able to tilt the rack so that I can access the boot, which I couldn't do on my last rack. I have only used it for 2 bikes so far, but no problems. I also purchased the optional extra fixing bolt lock, but am not confident that this would deter a determined thief as it is light weight material. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+49points
52out of 55found this review helpful.