Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Tool Chests & Tool Boxes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Professional 4 Drawer Intermediate Ball-Bearing Chest

The Halfords Professional 4 Drawer Intermediate Ball-Bearing Chest is great tool storage!
Average Customer Rating:
4.629 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
59 of 62(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Professional 4 Drawer Intermediate Ball-Bearing Chest
Review 1 for Halfords Professional 4 Drawer Intermediate Ball-Bearing Chest
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Intermediate chest,
October 29, 2014
By MMIreland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good Quality would be suitable as a standalone box"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LIFFEY VALLEY (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Professional 4 Drawer Intermediate Ball-Bearing Chest
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
just what i was looking for,
April 20, 2014
By Archie12345
from Devon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, finish, price
Cons: the lock mechanism isn't great
"I use this product as a standalone unit which it is great for. I work as a bike mechanic when i'm not at college so this gets alot of use especially during the holidays when it is used every day. I have to say that i really can't find fault with it. The size is great along with the quality and finish and the added bonus of the drawer liners being included. Eventually i will buy the topbox and base unit but for now there is more than enough space for my tools. Very impressed with this product and my other halfords tools of which i am buying much more due to the qaulity and lifetime guarantee."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BARNSTAPLE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Professional 4 Drawer Intermediate Ball-Bearing Chest
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Does what you would expect, concern over stability,
January 04, 2014
By TheBoy2
from Deepest Northamptonshire
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: size, drawer liners
Cons: my top box feels less stable, different keys to top and bottom chests
"Presumably, if looking at thism you have the 7 or 9 drawer top, so you know really what to expect. Drawer heights are the same height as the 3 (or 6 on 9 drawer) small drawers on top unit.
Minor concern is the top unit seems to wobble more, not sure if this is because this step-up is still bedding in to the rubber base, or if makes it naturally less stable, only time will tell.
Mine had a few knocks/dents in, but I'm not overly concerned as I'm sure it will gain some in use, but if this is important to you, check it before use.
Lastly, if picking up from a store, ensure they have a new one - after special visits to 2 different stores, despite checking stock levels, all they could offer was unboxed, "well used/abused" display ones, with missing keys (and no discount!)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BICESTER
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Professional 4 Drawer Intermediate Ball-Bearing Chest
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
E xcellent value,
December 23, 2013
By Splodge1
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: the stickers all over it
"Good quality a a decent price, purchased on line as a stack system"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Professional 4 Drawer Intermediate Ball-Bearing Chest
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tool box,
October 07, 2013
By ian18
from east kilbride
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased this tool box to add to the unit I have and found it does the job just as i want"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? EAST KILBRIDE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Professional 4 Drawer Intermediate Ball-Bearing Chest
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excelent value,
September 14, 2013
By marc999
from uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i bought this draw set to go along with the roll cab bottom and the top box and when all together looks very impressive, the whole thing is of a good quality but without the silly price tag of some other makes on the market, I done some research on various other makes, and some, although slightly cheaper do not have the quality of this tool chest, highly recommended!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CHATHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Professional 4 Drawer Intermediate Ball-Bearing Chest
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tool chest,
June 02, 2013
By topgun1
from kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"just what i needed to bolt to my main tool chest , very good value would recommend this product ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CHATHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Professional 4 Drawer Intermediate Ball-Bearing Chest
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great addition for storage,
April 16, 2013
By Anonymous
from preston
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this tool chest is a great additon to my tool box, to add that extra storage that i needed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PRESTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Professional 4 Drawer Intermediate Ball-Bearing Chest
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I needed,
January 01, 2013
By Rustybikes
from Swansea
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After comparing everything available, these were the best size/quality/priced option out there."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Professional 4 Drawer Intermediate Ball-Bearing Chest
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality product,
November 30, 2012
By Terry1978
from South Yorkshire, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: robust, strong, aesthetically pleasing
Cons: the way you can still see in the draws when locked
"Bought this item to match my 7 draw chest. I've had the chest for years now and it still functions like the day it was bought. I would thoroughly recommend this and any other halfords professional item."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Professional 4 Drawer Intermediate Ball-Bearing Chest
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT,
November 25, 2012
By PAUL666
from PONTYPOOL
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: drawers slide easily
Cons: nothing
"I BOUGHT TO GO ALONG MY OTHER 3! ALL FIT NICELY TOGETHER LIKE A JIGSAW, GREAT QUALITY IN MY OPIONION AS GOOD AS SNAP ON
I BOUGHT WHEN IT WAS ON OFFER TODAY AND HAVE ONE FROM 10 YEARS AGO AND JUST AS GOOD TODAY GREAT PRODUCTYOU CANT GO WRONG
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Professional 4 Drawer Intermediate Ball-Bearing Chest
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product,
May 16, 2012
By Leyland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: professional looking
Cons: sticky labels impossible to remove neatly
"Brilliant product, well made, sturdy construction and fits in well with the other 2 Halfords tools chests I have. Bought with a bank holiday discount offer at almost half normal price - bargain too!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Professional 4 Drawer Intermediate Ball-Bearing Chest
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not bad for the price,
May 14, 2012
By MrBuffalo
from Colchester, Essex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quite sturdy, hardwearing paint finish
Cons: drawers miss-engage locking dogs easily, corners are a bit agricultural
Car Make Subaru
"I bought this to go with the 9 drawer topbox I recently bought. The bearings and drawer actions are about on par with my Snap On boxes, but the lock mechanism doesn't always engage all the drawers unless you push them right the way back. On the upside its a good, hardwearing quality box which does the job a treat."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Professional 4 Drawer Intermediate Ball-Bearing Chest
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great addition to my workshop,
May 11, 2012
By salmonfisher
from Lisburn, Northern Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make Subaru
"The chest provides great space saving easy access storage for a lot of tools that had been kept in various odd boxes heretofore."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Professional 4 Drawer Intermediate Ball-Bearing Chest
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent price in the sale,
May 09, 2012
By billybrown
from Darlington
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good quality, good value at sale price
Cons: full price is ridiculous for what this is
Car Make Subaru
"This is a good quality tool chest. I bought it at sale price saving me almost half of the full price. I wouldn't buy it at full price though, i hate the idea of the prices going up and down depending on what day of the week it is."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Professional 4 Drawer Intermediate Ball-Bearing Chest
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
impressed.,
May 06, 2012
By pingooooooooooo
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great price
Cons: no hanndles
"this chest is great value for money. its a good size and the draws are nice and smooth as they have ball bearing runners. down side is that they dont have any hanndles on the side of the box so difficult to move if needed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Professional 4 Drawer Intermediate Ball-Bearing Chest
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Intermediate tool cabinet,
May 04, 2012
By Ron924t
from Margate
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very strong and well made.
Cons: not availiable in the industrial range.
Car Make Smart Brabus Roadster, Harley Davidson Electraglide, Suzuki Bandit, Suzuki GSX600f, Yamaha XJ650 Turbo, Smart Four Two.
"This is the fifth tool cabinet i have bought from Halfords, three Industrial roller cabinets and one top box, and now this intemediate chest, they are all exceptional quality and as i also own Snap on cabinets i have something to compare them to and they compare very favourably, i have found them to be reliable, strong and versitile, I wish Halfords would do a industrial intermediate chest as i would have bought that instead just to keep matching colours."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Professional 4 Drawer Intermediate Ball-Bearing Chest
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product.,
May 02, 2012
By CustomerCustomer
from N Scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Car Make Mitsubishi / BMW / 2 x Kawasaki Motorbikes
"Does exactly what it says on the tin.
Nice product. Not top of the range, but good for home and light workshop use.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Professional 4 Drawer Intermediate Ball-Bearing Chest
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Intermediate Toolbox,
April 23, 2012
By jbminis
from Hampshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
Car Make Landrover and Austin Mini
"Well made, good runners, nice sized drawers. Robust enough to place large, full chest on top (although not full depth for mine - taskmaster). Comes with drawer liners - excellent VFM when bought under 40% off deal!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Professional 4 Drawer Intermediate Ball-Bearing Chest
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Purchase,
April 20, 2012
By GinoS
from Coventry
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make Porsche
"Have been looking at these for some time now and after buying my brother a set for his birthday i decided to get myself some. I have been trying to decide whether to get this range or the cheaper one without ball bearing drawers. I decided to go for these. I think these will last and are good value. Buy cheap, buy twice!
My only concern is that the locking mechanism can be quite difficult to operate as the bar at the back doesn't always engage the drawers.
Other users have also mentioned this
All in all I am impressed
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>