Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Tool Chests & Tool Boxes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Professional 5 Drawer Ball-Bearing Cabinet

The Halfords Professional 5 Drawer Ball-Bearing Cabinet has 5 drawers, each with a 20kg load rating
Average Customer Rating:
4.582 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(306 Reviews) 300
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (306 reviews)
5 stars
204
4 stars
88
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
4
290 of 300(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 69 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Professional 5 Drawer Ball-Bearing Cabinet
Review 1 for Halfords Professional 5 Drawer Ball-Bearing Cabinet
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great all rounder,
February 29, 2012
By pedalpowerjunkie
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: simple to set up at home, easy on the eye, does what i want it to
Cons: lock's security is questionable
" This is a good quality solid tool cabinet. Visually quite appealing.
3 smaller drawers at top are great for easy access to hand tools and 2 deeper ones for bigger, less used items like drills.
Minimal home assembly involves fitting cators (2 lock) and handle (user chooses which side).
A very useful rubber mat on the top to be used as a workspace for tools you're using for a job. Rubber liners for each drawer.
Locking mechanism feels a little flimsy if you are leaving your tools in a public facility but it is sufficient for keeping drawers close in transit. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Professional 5 Drawer Ball-Bearing Cabinet
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent as a set,
June 28, 2015
By Toby003
from Bedford, Bedford, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, quality, size
Cons: top opener is a bit flimsy (part of set)
" I bought this through the Internet offer that included the other 2 sections in a great deal. The quality is good. The space is excellent. Really has helped organise the garage and all my tools. There are plenty of different sizes for the draws and the bottom 2 draws are a good depth that fit electric sanders in easily. Very happy with the product so far. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BEDFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Professional 5 Drawer Ball-Bearing Cabinet
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for the price,
June 28, 2015
By Lyonhead
from Cardiff, South Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Really great tool box for the amateur or professional. Good storage with free running drawers.
Good piece of kit.
"
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? CARDIFF (PENARTH RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Professional 5 Drawer Ball-Bearing Cabinet
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good quality cabinet,
June 28, 2015
By CABINET
from BedfordSHIRE
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: well built, draws move easy when loaded with tools
Cons: stickers are not required and difficult to remove
" great cabinets good quality but WHY ARE THEY COVERED IN STICKERS THAT ARE OF NO USE ! they are difficult to remove ! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LEIGHTON BUZZARD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Professional 5 Drawer Ball-Bearing Cabinet
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great item,
June 18, 2015
By Mat41
from Braintree, Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great quality, love the finishing touch of draw mats and smooth opening draws "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Professional 5 Drawer Ball-Bearing Cabinet
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fair product for home mechanic,
June 17, 2015
By Nick0Name
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought two sets at this offer recently and am very happy with it.
Although one of the units was damaged upon inspection, the issue was quickly rectified.
At the price, they were a good deal and I hope to get many years of use from them.
If treated with care they should last a long time.
Overall good buy "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CORK (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Professional 5 Drawer Ball-Bearing Cabinet
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Three piece tool chest,
June 16, 2015
By Merlotman
from Co. Clare, Ireland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" For the money this is a great storage solution ,all,tools are kept nice and neat and now I can find what I need when I need it !
Looks good , neat and loads of drawers recommended
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? LIMERICK (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Professional 5 Drawer Ball-Bearing Cabinet
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Combined package deal,
June 11, 2015
By Anonymous
from Huntingdon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good product made affordable through the package deal being offered on the items "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HUNTINGDON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Professional 5 Drawer Ball-Bearing Cabinet
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I need,
June 10, 2015
By Luke99
from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money
" Bought this as part of a deal were I got the middle and top chest for free! So very pleased with the value. Very well built and plenty of room for my tools. Some draws were missing liners but it's not the end of the world. Ball bearing draw sliders make for effortless open and closing and was just what I needed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? ST. HELENS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Professional 5 Drawer Ball-Bearing Cabinet
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product, shame there's no home delivery option,
May 10, 2015
By SouthWalesJools
from Wales, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: smooth drawer runners, drawer liners included, strong castors
Cons: no home delivery option
" This cabinet is very well made, the drawers operate smoothly and the deep drawers at the bottom are great for power tools.
The castors are very robust and easy to bolt on, the supplied bolts have allen key fixing as well as hex heads, a nice touch. The brakes are effective.
No real negatives about the product itself, better value as part of a bundle deal but competitively priced in any case.
It's a shame there is no home delivery option on this product, I bought as part of a bundle deal with the matching top box and intermediate chest which were both available for delivery. That would have suited me better as I have a saloon car, but with some help from the store it went on the back seat after a little struggling. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? NEWPORT
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Professional 5 Drawer Ball-Bearing Cabinet
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delighted with the units,
May 01, 2015
By PeterG99
from Salisbury, Salisbury, Wiltshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: goods arrived perfectly packaged and undamaged, excellent service
Cons: took a while to peel the stickers off
" I bought the 5 drawer unit plus the intermediate drawers and the top cabinet when the units were on promotion and was very pleased with the quality and service received. Assembly was straightforward and the only minor annoyance was peeling off the stickers which took a while and needed white spirit. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Professional 5 Drawer Ball-Bearing Cabinet
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good value,
April 28, 2015
By xmumx
from devon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value well made, lifetime garuantee
Cons: cant open drawers with lid closed, bundle offers are online only
" nice cabinet-bought it in a bundle deal ..only complaint was one of the drawers on the top box wouldnt close properly -closer investigation revealed a bad fold in the manufacture process resultinhg in the drawer not being welded square..after repositioning the ball runners it all works fine- i would recommend this product "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Professional 5 Drawer Ball-Bearing Cabinet
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality tool boxes at a great price.,
March 16, 2015
By Dan2703
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Can't fault the build and value of these. Although both this and the top box each have a drawer liner missing - not sure if this is how they should be? "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (WINCHESTER RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Professional 5 Drawer Ball-Bearing Cabinet
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Quality Tool Storage,
March 14, 2015
By Chippy234
from Meath, Co. Meath, Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ball bearing drawer slides., keeps all my tools in one place.
" Bought this tool chest as part of a package includes seven drawer chest for free. Units are well constructed from high quality steel, fit and finish is good, paintwork seems good too.
Had been looking around for a while and this unit is definitely best value out there for this standard with the ball bearing drawer slides.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NAVAN (ROI)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Professional 5 Drawer Ball-Bearing Cabinet
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value box,
March 05, 2015
By Brook877
from Uk
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: value
Cons: not the best quailty
" Bought as a package deal and on that basis it offers good value, relatively light weight but for the price it worth what they charge. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NUNEATON
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Professional 5 Drawer Ball-Bearing Cabinet
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looks the part. Sturdy enough.,
February 24, 2015
By olly85
from Wirral, Wirral, Merseyside CH60, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: looks great. sturdy.
Cons: locking mechanism flimsy.
" I bought this and the upper drawer section for my Dad's 60th. I did consider the black 'industrial' version but went with this for two reasons, the difference in quality didn't seem to justify the price difference; this one was red! This really does look the part. The drawers feel sturdy and the runners seems like they'll stand the test of time. I actually had to take the upper unit back because it had been dropped and the locking mechanism wasn't working properly. It was exchanged without fuss although I have to say that even on the new unit, the locking mechanism is a weak point. I'm not sure it will ever be locked in it's current situation. Overall I think the deal I got for the two units offered great value for money and most importantly my Dad was delighted with it so I'm happy! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BROMBOROUGH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Professional 5 Drawer Ball-Bearing Cabinet
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
5 Draw Roller,
February 21, 2015
By JonnyBT
from Pembrokeshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very nice tool look at pleasing to the eye
Cons: locking of the stack needs to be looked at.
" I have just bought this bad boy it is a good quality solid tool cabinet. Visually quite nice to look at (sad I know)
the smaller drawers at the top are great for easy access to the tools used most, and the 2 deeper ones for my air tools home assembly involves fitting cators (2 lock) and handle (user chooses which side).
I found the very useful rubber mat on the top can be used as a workspace for keeping tools that our being used there are also rubbber liners for each drawer.
The locking mechanism i found feels a little flimsy i wouldn't trust this mechanism if you are leaving your tools in a public place ( a garage used by others) but it is sufficient for keeping drawers close when your moving the stack around .
I would recommend this product!
Likes very simple to set up at home, easy on the eye, does what i want it to..
Don't like the locking security of this Stack needs to be addressed
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? HAVERFORD WEST
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Professional 5 Drawer Ball-Bearing Cabinet
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for the price,
February 17, 2015
By Andy14
from Swadlincote
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: build quality, price, good size
" Great for the money. Good quality draws and well built. Great for home garage , workshop and vans. Good spaces in the draws. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LICHFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Professional 5 Drawer Ball-Bearing Cabinet
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality tool storage,
February 16, 2015
By Kawasaki12r
from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality feel of drawers, value for money, practicality, ease of assembly, drawer liners included
Cons: tricky to get out the packaging, lack of drawer organisers
" Great product at a great price. I would have preferred the Industrial Tool Chest, simply for the extra solidity of the drawer mechanism, but the depth of some drawers in the more expensive chest is prohibitive for bigger tools, such as grinders and drills. The Professional chest has a good range of drawer depths to suit every need. Well built, well finished, easy to use and assemble, and it will help me to keep my tools safe and organised. Overall I'm delighted. Don't forget to buy some drawer organisers, especially if you plan to move the chest around your workshop. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (SELLY OAK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Professional 5 Drawer Ball-Bearing Cabinet
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
halfords professional,
February 11, 2015
By kblackburn
from Holme, Carnforth, Cumbria LA6, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: roller bearing draw runners
Cons: quality of materials
" Bought 5 draw cabinet and 7draw top box, quality of both items is terrible, for the professional range.
I bought the same cabinet 8 years ago, and still in use every day at work, assumed the quality would be the same, how wrong was I.Draw fronts too flexible even with moderate amount of tools in, locking mechanism questionable, even the quality of the professional emblem has decreased.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? KENDAL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>