Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Roof Bars & Fittings or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Roof Bar System E

Halfords Roof Bar System E is easy to fit and perfect for vehicles with roof rails
Average Customer Rating:
4.419 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (93 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
35
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
89 of 93(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
87 Questions | 85 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Review 1 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does good job,
March 24, 2014
By Th80
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easy and quick to fit with a solid feel. Bought and used with a halfords roof mounted cycle carrier and had no problems on a 150 mile round trip. Didn't use the fiddly plastic strips as the end plugs were already attached, but this disn't cause any problems"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solid roofbars for standard roofbox,
January 12, 2014
By Hardcastle187
from Weston-super-Mare
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy fit, value for money, solid quality
"The Halfords roofbars are a solid option when seeking to mount any standard roofbox. Pretty easy to fix and sturdy. Bought in combination with a Thule roofbox, which is a perfect fit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? WESTON SUPER MARE
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bars!,
December 30, 2013
By Dave74
from Bristol
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easily fitted and secured. These bars are good enough for all of your general needs and perfect for bike carriers and roof boxes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to fit,
November 25, 2013
By Enfield65
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I found them easy to mount and dismount, with no tools required. I didn't bother with the little sealing strips because I was in a hurry and knew I would be taking the rails off later that day when I had finished the job. Roof rails seem expensive but at least the Halfords ones are cheaper than the alternatives."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? ENFIELD
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value and does the job,
October 17, 2013
By PhilB261
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy, tool-free fitting and removal. Straightforward to fit cycle racks onto the bars. Much cheaper that alternative products."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fits my Volvo V40,
October 01, 2013
By AustinWestminster
from Oxon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: solid
"Product worked fine and seems very secure and sold.
It wasn't too difficult to fit, though it was fiddly cutting the plastic strip to fill in the gaps. I guess you get wind noise if you don't fit them. I would have liked to be able to lock the position of the feet relative to the bar, but that's not a big problem - it just means I'll have to position them roughly centrally each time.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DIDCOT
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to fit and good value,
August 06, 2013
By Geo812
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've got a Skoda Octavia Estate and had no problem fitting the bars at all. The clamps are easy to secure and use a key that means they cannot be removed without it or easily tampered with. It held a 250 litre roof box with no issues and no notable noise or drop in performance.
The only criticism I have (and why it's not 5 stars) is that it is a pain to trim the plastic inserts to fill in the gap where you adjust to fit the width of your car. For future iterations, I wonder if this could be built into the housing?
Would recommend.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? STEVENAGE
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solid Roof Bars,
August 05, 2013
By Mick2013
from Bromley
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: reassuringly solid fit
Cons: anti-whistle strips
"I purchased these recently with the 420L roof box. Easy enough to install, if a bit fiddly at first. Well designed: provided a solid, snug fit. No marks or damage apparent on my vehicles roof rails after removing the bars (in place for two weeks). Only criticism is with the anti-whistle strips which took some time to fathom and fit correctly owing to poor manufacturers instructions."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? ORPINGTON
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to fit,
August 04, 2013
By Dexter23
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"They are a good buy and very easy to fit but do whistle a bit on our car with is a v w Touran"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
How many cars: 2
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rail mount roof bars,
July 24, 2013
By Woody1959
from Wirral
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit and solid when fitted
Cons: the plastic keys are a bit soft and flimsy
"Reserved these roof bars at my local Halfords in Bromborough. Service was very good, bars were waiting for me. The fitting is quite easy, although centring the rails across my roof was a tad fiddly. One concern is that the supplied locking keys are plastic and a proprietary design, wear them out , break them or strip the plastic teeth and it might be a problem finding a replacement or removing or fixing he roof bars again. Could do with being a bit sturdier.
Fitted the bars and my 470litre roof box and fully loaded the bars felt sturdy and solid when fitted. They also hold my two bike carriers firmly and solidly too. Good product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BROMBOROUGH
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for money,
July 22, 2013
By Jakey69
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Loads cheaper than other makes!
Great value and easy to fit only took
About 10 mins!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product,
July 21, 2013
By jps36
from South East England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of fitting
Cons: no locks provided sold as optional extra
"These roof bars are dead easy to fit and they are sturdy no special tools required to fit (not even a brain) !!
Not bad value for money but you do have to buy the locks as an optional extra,which in my opinion they should be already fitted and the price adjusted accordingly.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ASHFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value compared to dealer custom fit bars,
July 20, 2013
By Bish22
from Worcestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"These halfords branded bars fitted my ford kuga roof rails at a fraction of the cost I was quoted from the dealer. Easily fitted and was generic enough to fit the roof box we already had.
Very pleased as didn't want to spend a fortune for once yearly use.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to fit...,
July 18, 2013
By Mitch1872
from Tn218hp
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Does the job. Easy to fit straight out of the box (5 mins). Not aero bars, but almost no noise even at 80 on French motorways. Good value, would not hesitate to recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? UCKFIELD
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good, easy to fit roof bars.,
July 08, 2013
By Anonymous
from Gloucestershire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quick and easy
"Good, easy to fit roof bars. Instructions are straightforward and I fitted them in a couple of minutes. Really easy"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? TEWKESBURY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money,
June 28, 2013
By Bob2441
from Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great value easy to use simple to fit no tools required"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WEST THURROCK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to adjust and fit,
June 25, 2013
By Smorty
from Worcester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit
Cons: had to by locks
"Very good so far, easy to fit and adjust. Had to by locks separately, but again easy put in."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BROMSGROVE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top Quality,
June 15, 2013
By MarkJ67
from PONTEFRACT
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quick fit system
"For a budget item this is very good quality and very easy to fit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WALLASEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ideal for my car but a little 'whistle',
June 07, 2013
By abutilon1
from Weymouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: in stock!
Cons: bars have an annoying whistle
"Pleased to find roofbars to fit my car (renault koleos) - as strange roof rails. Glad I ordered prior to collection as only one set in stock.
Easy to fit, plastic inserts easy to put into the bars but still and annoying 'whistle' not had on other roof bars before."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WEYMOUTH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
June 06, 2013
By Tiger10ooo
from Oxford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy fitting, spacious
"Great advice from Halfords both on call and instore about best way to fit. Box is easy to access and use and perfect for buggies, including our double buggy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DIDCOT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>