Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords Roof Bar System E

Halfords Roof Bar System E is easy to fit and perfect for vehicles with roof rails
Average Customer Rating:
4.433 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(104 Reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (104 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
38
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
99 of 103(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
87 Questions | 86 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Review 1 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value and easy to use.,
October 15, 2014
By WendyXxxx
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We put these on our Skoda to carry a boat . They did the job well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good bars,
September 26, 2014
By jackenjill
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"These are good, easy to fit, functional bars. Not much to say other than they do the job well and go on and off easily. The key works though is a bit flimsy. They aren't very elegant just square section and as they fit a number of cars hang over the edge a bit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? EPSOM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple & Effortlessly Effective,
September 20, 2014
By Synthespian
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, strong and secure
"Bought to hold the new bike I bought, they were so simple to put on that I was able to fit them there and then in the parking lot (I had to, to get my new bike home). Really simple install, an d they feel very secure.
Delighted with the purchase."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? WANDSWORTH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Roof Bar System E,
September 18, 2014
By howlin
from Stanhope, Bishop Auckland, County Durham DL13, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Just perfect. Easy to install and take off the roof. Tried a cheaper universal bar but it did not fit and I was not happy with the quality and ease of use."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BISHOP AUCKLAND
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really good product - works well,
September 16, 2014
By slothbristol
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Simple to fit and secure feel. As other have said, the ease of fitting means you'd need the lock kit if you wanted to leave the bars on the car but it's so quick to take on and off this isn't a problem."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ease of use,
August 25, 2014
By atbryn
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: less than half the price of manufactures item
Cons: nothing
"easy to use no tools required. takes only minutes to install"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? PORT TALBOT
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reasonably priced and easy to fit,
August 19, 2014
By Maff77
from Stoke-on-Trent, Stoke-on-Trent, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: fast easy fitting
Cons: locks are awkward
"The title says it all, these are well made bars and could be fitted by pretty much anyone. A really easy system.
My only criticism is the optional locks, which I have been unable to fit, but they are so straight forward to get on and off they are largely unnecessary!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE UNDER LYME
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to fit, use and store,
August 08, 2014
By warpedbunny
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the second set of Halford bars I've owned, but the first to fit existing roof bars. They're easy to set up in minutes but secure enough to take a fairly hefty load without worrying that you're going to damage your car roof. Best of all they're so easy to use you don't feel tempted to leave them on the car rather than mess about having to remove them.
Recommended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? CHEADLE
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Does the Job,
August 07, 2014
By ChL3285
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Very easy to set up, and quite convenient.
I'm not very keen on the bars being halfords branded - although they are a good build, it's not like I feel like proclaiming I shop there...
"
Which Store did you visit? BRACKNELL
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to fit,
August 06, 2014
By JanetH
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: apparent strength when fitted
Cons: plastic locking key seems a little delicate
"Easy to fit and very sturdy once clamped on. Still not fitted the air strips, 'though!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? RUGBY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Roof Bar System E,
August 02, 2014
By Arfa61
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the strips are measured
"easy to assemble,even the anti whistle strips.neat"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does good job,
March 24, 2014
By Th80
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easy and quick to fit with a solid feel. Bought and used with a halfords roof mounted cycle carrier and had no problems on a 150 mile round trip. Didn't use the fiddly plastic strips as the end plugs were already attached, but this disn't cause any problems"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solid roofbars for standard roofbox,
January 12, 2014
By Hardcastle187
from Weston-super-Mare
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy fit, value for money, solid quality
"The Halfords roofbars are a solid option when seeking to mount any standard roofbox. Pretty easy to fix and sturdy. Bought in combination with a Thule roofbox, which is a perfect fit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? WESTON SUPER MARE
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bars!,
December 30, 2013
By Dave74
from Bristol
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easily fitted and secured. These bars are good enough for all of your general needs and perfect for bike carriers and roof boxes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to fit,
November 25, 2013
By Enfield65
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I found them easy to mount and dismount, with no tools required. I didn't bother with the little sealing strips because I was in a hurry and knew I would be taking the rails off later that day when I had finished the job. Roof rails seem expensive but at least the Halfords ones are cheaper than the alternatives."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? ENFIELD
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value and does the job,
October 17, 2013
By PhilB261
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy, tool-free fitting and removal. Straightforward to fit cycle racks onto the bars. Much cheaper that alternative products."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fits my Volvo V40,
October 01, 2013
By AustinWestminster
from Oxon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: solid
"Product worked fine and seems very secure and sold.
It wasn't too difficult to fit, though it was fiddly cutting the plastic strip to fill in the gaps. I guess you get wind noise if you don't fit them. I would have liked to be able to lock the position of the feet relative to the bar, but that's not a big problem - it just means I'll have to position them roughly centrally each time.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DIDCOT
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to fit and good value,
August 06, 2013
By Geo812
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've got a Skoda Octavia Estate and had no problem fitting the bars at all. The clamps are easy to secure and use a key that means they cannot be removed without it or easily tampered with. It held a 250 litre roof box with no issues and no notable noise or drop in performance.
The only criticism I have (and why it's not 5 stars) is that it is a pain to trim the plastic inserts to fill in the gap where you adjust to fit the width of your car. For future iterations, I wonder if this could be built into the housing?
Would recommend.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? STEVENAGE
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solid Roof Bars,
August 05, 2013
By Mick2013
from Bromley
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: reassuringly solid fit
Cons: anti-whistle strips
"I purchased these recently with the 420L roof box. Easy enough to install, if a bit fiddly at first. Well designed: provided a solid, snug fit. No marks or damage apparent on my vehicles roof rails after removing the bars (in place for two weeks). Only criticism is with the anti-whistle strips which took some time to fathom and fit correctly owing to poor manufacturers instructions."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? ORPINGTON
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to fit,
August 04, 2013
By Dexter23
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"They are a good buy and very easy to fit but do whistle a bit on our car with is a v w Touran"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
How many cars: 2
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>