Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords Roof Bar System E

Halfords Roof Bar System E is easy to fit and perfect for vehicles with roof rails
Average Customer Rating:
4.422 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(116 Reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (116 reviews)
5 stars
65
4 stars
43
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
2
110 of 115(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
87 Questions | 86 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Review 1 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This roof bar system is very easy to fit.,
August 20, 2015
By
from Dewsbury, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit and remove, sturdy
Cons: none
" I have used it three times since i bought it and have had no problems with it,very little wind noise and is very sturdy and secure. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DEWSBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roof bars,
August 02, 2015
By
from Cheltenham, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit
" After a lot of research I purchased for my 2015 ford Kuga.
Very easy to fit and remove. The clamping system works well with the oval type roof bars.
Sturdy and secure.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHELTENHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solid quality, easy to install,
June 27, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to install, good build quality
" Bought this for a Nissan Qashqai having tried a cheap one off the internet and realised that was unusable. This in contrast was incredibly easy to install (took 5 mins) and seems to be very good quality. Just back from a 1000 mile trip and no problems at all. Very happy with this purchase. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Whistle Strips Work,
June 14, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: qality ok and good value for infrequent use
Cons: more verbiage in the instructions wouldn't hurt
" Bought this as we need to get rid of several large items. The local council now charge £57 for 3 items so it soon racks up.
2 trips to the dump and this will have paid for itself. Didn't feel the need to spend more on something which will be used infrequently.
Without the whistle strips (and unloaded) the noise is noticeable at about 40 mph. Unbearable over 50 mph. I'd imagine having a load on might reduce this a bit.
The instructions say not to have a gap between the roof rail and the clamp but this is impossible on my car (Mondeo, flush roof-rails).
Went back to the shop to double check the fitting and for a bit of advice. The helpful chap I spoke to (Bracknell) said that the gap would probably be OK (I had the correct pack for the car) but that the whistle strips would make a massive difference. Also to make sure the bolts are really really tight.
Went home, inserted the whistle strips, and no noise at 70 mph (unloaded). "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRACKNELL
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Roof Bar System E,
June 13, 2015
By
from Yeovil, Somerset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The roof bars were easy to fix and had clear pictorial instructions. I don't know what a Newton is and so using that as a measure of how tight I should make the fixings was a bit of a nonsense. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? YEOVIL
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simple, sturdy and fits my Hyundai,
June 11, 2015
By
from East Sussex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy fitting
" The right model recommended for my Hyundai Santa Fe, and the clamps (with locks) gripped the roof bars securely. Easy fit and easy remove. The first load was both big and awkward and was carried without any problems, despite very large windage there was no evidence of any loosening. Recommended load maximum the same as the car's rails so well matched. Not cheap, but about average for mid range bars and fair quality manufacture. Good, affordable, available. I would recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? EASTBOURNE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
June 10, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fix
" Great product, used with 2 surfboards on the rack travelled from Leicester to Newquay. No problems at all, even with high side winds on the way home! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good enough to do the job.,
May 31, 2015
By
from Outer Hebrides
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
Cons: plastic winding handles
" I bought this set to use on a nissan qashqai n tec plus.
This was for hauling a 15 foot canoe 166 miles through the highlands in inclement weather.
The set advertises a simple no tools required fit and this is mostly true. Except that the anti whitsle strips that fit on the underside of the bars require trimming for perfect fit.
I didnt use them on this journey and had NO problems and the top speed was 60mph.
The bars are simple to fit and are on or off in about 5 mins as the instructions are simple to follow. There are some plastic parts (winding handles) that don't inspire confidence but withstood the pressure rquired for a solid fit.
And yes the canoe stayed put. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Hmmm!,
April 28, 2015
By
from Southampton, Southampton, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Sadly on my Audi A6 no matter where they are placed they whistle incessantly from 35mph! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (HEDGE END)
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fits my car!,
April 10, 2015
By
from Fife
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" i was advised that this would not fit my Chevrolet Trax even though the roof rails are correct with a gap between them and the car. Fits perfectly with no movement at all "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DUNFERMLINE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
January 05, 2015
By
from Oxford, Oxford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Exactly as advertised, extremely easy to fit, no tools required. This is fitted to a VW Passat estate and happily has a set of 11 tread triple ladders on the roof bars. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD (BETWEEN TOWNS RD)
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to fit.,
January 03, 2015
By
from Blackburn, Blackburn with Darwen, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very good price, well made, solid and very easy to fit to vehicle. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BLACKBURN
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value and easy to use.,
October 15, 2014
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" We put these on our Skoda to carry a boat . They did the job well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good bars,
September 26, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" These are good, easy to fit, functional bars. Not much to say other than they do the job well and go on and off easily. The key works though is a bit flimsy. They aren't very elegant just square section and as they fit a number of cars hang over the edge a bit. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? EPSOM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple & Effortlessly Effective,
September 20, 2014
By
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, strong and secure
" Bought to hold the new bike I bought, they were so simple to put on that I was able to fit them there and then in the parking lot (I had to, to get my new bike home). Really simple install, an d they feel very secure.
Delighted with the purchase. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? WANDSWORTH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Roof Bar System E,
September 18, 2014
By
from Stanhope, Bishop Auckland, County Durham DL13, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Just perfect. Easy to install and take off the roof. Tried a cheaper universal bar but it did not fit and I was not happy with the quality and ease of use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BISHOP AUCKLAND
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really good product - works well,
September 16, 2014
By
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Simple to fit and secure feel. As other have said, the ease of fitting means you'd need the lock kit if you wanted to leave the bars on the car but it's so quick to take on and off this isn't a problem. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ease of use,
August 25, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: less than half the price of manufactures item
Cons: nothing
" easy to use no tools required. takes only minutes to install "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? PORT TALBOT
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reasonably priced and easy to fit,
August 19, 2014
By
from Stoke-on-Trent, Stoke-on-Trent, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: fast easy fitting
Cons: locks are awkward
" The title says it all, these are well made bars and could be fitted by pretty much anyone. A really easy system.
My only criticism is the optional locks, which I have been unable to fit, but they are so straight forward to get on and off they are largely unnecessary! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE UNDER LYME
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Roof Bar System E
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to fit, use and store,
August 08, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is the second set of Halford bars I've owned, but the first to fit existing roof bars. They're easy to set up in minutes but secure enough to take a fairly hefty load without worrying that you're going to damage your car roof. Best of all they're so easy to use you don't feel tempted to leave them on the car rather than mess about having to remove them.
Recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? CHEADLE
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>