Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords Advanced Professional 55 Piece Socket Set 1/2"

The Halfords Advanced Professional 55 Piece Socket Set offers both AF and metric size sockets.
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
39 of 39(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Advanced Professional 55 Piece Socket Set 1/2"
Review 1 for Halfords Advanced Professional 55 Piece Socket Set 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
55 Piece Socket Set 1/2" drive,
May 04, 2016
By
from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good range of tools, good price, lifetime guarantee
Cons: no rack to fit halfords tool chests
" This is a top quality socket set that will serve any home mechanic or D.I.Y enthusiast well and the lifetime guarantee is a bonus at this price point "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (KILNER WAY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Advanced Professional 55 Piece Socket Set 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I wanted,
January 17, 2016
By
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Needed some 1/2 in drive multifacet sockets and these just fitted the bill perfectly. I do a mixture of vehicle work restoring and maintaining vehicles and these tools in both AF and Metric sizes cover the range I need nicely. Being Halfords Advanced Professional tools they are very good quality and are guaranteed for life "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Advanced Professional 55 Piece Socket Set 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what I need,
October 26, 2015
By
from Stockport
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good strong well laid out set - covers most jobs I need with the occasional addition of some more specialised deep socketry.
Price of £80 pounds for this substantial piece of kit is excellent.
I like it !
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? STOCKPORT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Advanced Professional 55 Piece Socket Set 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I lost 45 years collection of Tools,
July 08, 2015
By
from Croydon, Greater London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: each drive in seperate strong box, strong boxes so easy to organize
Cons: i would much prefer to have 6 sided sockets only, i cannot complain i cannot find a socket
" I lost 45 years collection of my tools (and I had just finally got it perfect as it could be) everything was taken by a thief. I had to replace these very quickly and knew exactly what I needed. I researched and got a 1/4, 3/8 and 1/2 drive sets, on a half price deal. I already knew about the great quality. Previously all my sets were on rails of each drive, the same on deep sockets and all in one box therefore very heavy to move around. Now they are in a number of different robust boxes, and lighter to carry individually. Especially as I still need more variations (I am retired and rebuilding Classic cars so need different bolt/nut sizes)
I can highly recommend these sets after owning all the top name manufacturers in the past. Not the very very best money can buy, but far more than adequate for even the most enthusiastic DIY. At full price they are excellent value for money, at half price they are an absolute steal. I have signed up to Halfords offers on the web, and will buy AF sockets and various extensions when available on offer. Unless I desperately need some of these before then I will buy full price, and still be happy.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CROYDON (WICKHAM RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Advanced Professional 55 Piece Socket Set 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
June 10, 2015
By
from Guildford, Guildford, Surrey, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Superb socket set really solid and well made, all the better with the life time warranty, well worth the purchase especially if you can get it in the half price sale "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Advanced Professional 55 Piece Socket Set 1/2"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
half price socket set,
January 26, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
" I needed a socket set to work on my Royal Enfield motorbike and spotted Halfords pro set at half price, so spent £80 and am very happy with the quality. Only used a few times so far but have managed to budge she corroded 22mm nuts with ease….I think they have a life time guarantee too? "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? HOVE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Advanced Professional 55 Piece Socket Set 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic quality at a realistic price,
January 09, 2015
By
from Royal Leamington Spa, Warwickshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, lifetime guarantee, affordable
" I've been after a good quality socket set for tinkering with my classic car. This set is great quality at an affordable price. Very well made tools and a sturdy case. Will last a lifetime and backed up with a lifetime guarantee. Great for amateur and professional alike. Brilliant! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? LEAMINGTON SPA
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Advanced Professional 55 Piece Socket Set 1/2"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Halfords 55 piece 1/2 inch set,
January 04, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: lifetime warranty, better lid catches
Cons: not true deep sockets, no socket tray available
" I required another 1/2" socket set for the car. I already have the older version that was branded as the halfords professional 55 piece 1/2" socket set.
I am dissapointed to find that the deep sockets do not now have a true deep socket head length. Instead now the hex head only reaches down a 1/4 of the depth of the socket. There is depth for the thread only.
Why has this changed? Has there been a change of supplier?
The only other request would be for halfords to sell socket trays for the 55 piece socket set as they do for the 170, 150, 120 and 90 piece socket sets. For some reason halfords don't do the socket tray for the 200 piece set either. So I would request anyone who would like this to contact halfords to raise the need/demand
I am unsure whether to return the 55 piece 1/2" socket set as the deep sockets are important in my job. Or can someone from halfords confirm if there are the full depth ones available to change? "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Advanced Professional 55 Piece Socket Set 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top Notch,
November 17, 2014
By
from Blackpool, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, value for money
" This socket set has been invaluable for taking apart my 51 year old Lambretta.
It made removing even the most corroded bolts so easy.
Great value and excellent quality tools
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Advanced Professional 55 Piece Socket Set 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant product,
October 11, 2014
By
from Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth, Norfolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality
Cons: nothing
" Brilliant product. Well built and smooth action. I use this product for working on classic car so mixture of metric and imperial sockets perfect.
Great value for money
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? GREAT YARMOUTH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Advanced Professional 55 Piece Socket Set 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great quality.,
August 08, 2014
By
from Grantham, Grantham, Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My boyfriend loved it. Very good quality, worth the money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? GRANTHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Advanced Professional 55 Piece Socket Set 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Husbands new toys for Christmas,
January 09, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality
Cons: no con
" Got this for my husband , he thought it was great and I thought well worth the money . He messes about with cars for a hobby and he said they are quality. They must be cos he tried putting them in the bedroom instead of the garage . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Advanced Professional 55 Piece Socket Set 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Advanced Professional 55 Socket Set 2/2",
December 23, 2013
By
from Worcester, U.K.
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, design, range
Cons: none so far
" This is the second Professional Socket Set I have purchased from Halfords. The Professional range is worth the extra cost.
These are well made and well thought out design. You have the short sockets and a very good range of the long reach sockets. You can lock the sockets into the wrench when you access difficult nuts and bolts.( You get what you pay for). I wish I had bought these years ago instead of buying the cheap sets I had.(Recommended). Hope this helps. Chris.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Advanced Professional 55 Piece Socket Set 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1/2" socket set,
December 14, 2013
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" An excellent socket set for the price and quality in a superb case "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Advanced Professional 55 Piece Socket Set 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great 1/2" Set,
December 10, 2013
By
from Marlow, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I wont repeat what has already been said.
This is a great set, the total weight is 8Kg, it has th efeel it will last forever!!
What makes it so unique is that their is a huge range of 1/2" sockets ranging from 8mm up to a massive 32mm, plus all the imperial equivalents.
My only criticism is it would be nice to have plastic or rubber coated handles on the ratchets.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SLOUGH
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Advanced Professional 55 Piece Socket Set 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords advanced professional 55pce 1/2" socket set,
December 10, 2013
By
from Cheshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent set for the price and a lifetime guarantee! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WARRINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Advanced Professional 55 Piece Socket Set 1/2"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Professional socket set,
December 10, 2013
By
from Gilford.N.ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I ordered this for collection at my local store.Got text to say it was ready for pick up. Went to store and they did not have it in stock. This happened twice. On the third attempt I finally got it..
Apart from the hassle of having to go to store three times the socket set is of very good quality and I would buy from their professional range again
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CRAIGAVON
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Advanced Professional 55 Piece Socket Set 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for larger nuts,
September 15, 2013
By
from West Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: big socket sizes, handy beveld handle for angled access, decent case
" At first glance this set seems quite pricey, even on special offer. However, the quality seems to be high. A good selection of larger sizes which is perfect for home maintenance, you need something like this if you want to tackle hub nuts to change brake shoes, brake drums or disks for instance. It also has nice smaller sizes too, so you don't necessarily need to buy a small socket set in the first place. One of the handles has a clever bevel so you can use it at a bit of an angle, perfect for hard to reach heads. The case is also solid and keeps everything together nicely. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CARMARTHEN
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Advanced Professional 55 Piece Socket Set 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic quality,
May 24, 2013
By
from Herts, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality and case
Cons: nothing
" Ok, so you can pick up a socket set for a lot cheaper, with many more pieces, but this is a quality set, built to last, and built to be in your tool chest for many many years. Especially with the lifetime guarantee.
I've got a cheapo set too from elsewhere, but this one is poles apart in terms of build and is very substantial indeed. The case is very solid, and has metal opening clips, which won't break off like plastic ones.
Highly recommended if you want something that is going to last and last. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Advanced Professional 55 Piece Socket Set 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good socket set,
May 19, 2013
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" a good selection of metric sockets 8-32 mm. AF sockets all so in set which was a bonus. over all a good set "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? GREAT YARMOUTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>