Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Socket Sets or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Advanced 7 Piece Spline Bit Socket Rail 1/2"

The Halfords Advanced 7 Piece Spline Bit Socket Rail is made of chrome vanadium steel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.652 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 22(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Advanced 7 Piece Spline Bit Socket Rail 1/2"
Review 1 for Halfords Advanced 7 Piece Spline Bit Socket Rail 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spline Bit review,
May 01, 2016
By
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: storage
" These are great quality very pleased. Great value for money and easy to use "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CROYDON (PURLEY WAY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Advanced 7 Piece Spline Bit Socket Rail 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb,
April 01, 2016
By
from Cardiff, Cardiff, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Used these to shift a very stubborn driveshaft off a very sharan.
Thought I was going to damage them at one point as the nuts were so stiff but the superb quality meant they kept their shape and eventually freed up the nuts with no issues.
Very happy "
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PONTYPRIDD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Advanced 7 Piece Spline Bit Socket Rail 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These spline sockets saved the day,
March 11, 2016
By
from Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good quality tools
" I chewed the door lock bolts on my VW Golf, not realising that they were spline bolts. Ordered from halfords a set of these sockets and picked them up a hour later.
I had to tap the socket into the bolt due to the butchering I had done with the wrong socket and to my relief the bolts came undone.
Good quality sockets as usual, in the advanced tool range.
. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MAIDENHEAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Advanced 7 Piece Spline Bit Socket Rail 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good spline bits and rail.,
December 10, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: handy set, lifetime warranty
Cons: expensive compared to similar sets
" Very handy set ideal for working on audi and vw cars "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Advanced 7 Piece Spline Bit Socket Rail 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professional 7 Piece Spline Bit Socket Rail 1/2",
November 03, 2015
By
from Durham, County Durham, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Searched on-line and visited many other outlets to try acquire these sockets to carry out VW Hub Bearing Replacement and finally found these at Halfords expecting to pay a bit more but pleasantly surprised at quality and cost for set. Would advise anyone to pop into store to see these before buying separate sockets from other outlets........ "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WASHINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Advanced 7 Piece Spline Bit Socket Rail 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
June 10, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great set of bits, couldn't find them anywhere else. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Advanced 7 Piece Spline Bit Socket Rail 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Essential tools if you are VW owner,
April 27, 2015
By
from Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, quality
" Like previous review,bought it to replace a boot lock,as was 5 times cheaper then going to VW garage.Quality is very good and with lifetime warranty it should last for long.Highly recommended and very good investment for low price.And I think Halfords is the only place what sell it if you are a privet buyer. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? MILE END ROAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Advanced 7 Piece Spline Bit Socket Rail 1/2"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
useful bit of kit,
January 06, 2015
By
from Warwick, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: did the job quickly
Cons: only wanted the 8mm one
" had to get these to remove the door lock from my VW golf. thought that I might have got away with torx bits, but you'll knacker up the bolt heads. These did the job fine the quality looks okay, they have a lifetime guarantee, although I don't know how many times I'll have to pull these locks out. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEAMINGTON SPA
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Advanced 7 Piece Spline Bit Socket Rail 1/2"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Generally Good Value,
September 28, 2014
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" It's not that easy to get hold of this type of socket set, most motorfactors I went to didn't carry it.
It's not exactly cheap but like anything specialized if you have to have it, then you have to pay for it.
Overall good quality, keeps up with the standard from halfords kit. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? HUNTINGDON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Advanced 7 Piece Spline Bit Socket Rail 1/2"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Socket Set,
January 02, 2014
By
from Watford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Ideal product for the job that needed doing. Ideal "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WATFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Advanced 7 Piece Spline Bit Socket Rail 1/2"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
7 piece spline set,
November 23, 2013
By
from Bexleyheath
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good quality product at a competitive price. Searched online and reserved. System worked well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? DARTFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Advanced 7 Piece Spline Bit Socket Rail 1/2"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not great,
November 03, 2013
By
from Bridgend, South Wales
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" While the larger socket pieces seemed great quality and durability, I cannot say the same for the smaller ones. The M8 socket rounded beyond use, three times. The lifetime warranty meant I could return and get another set, but I had to do this 3 times in one week. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Advanced 7 Piece Spline Bit Socket Rail 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gr8 Splines 4 T4,
October 21, 2013
By
from Broadland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this for VW T4 ball joint bolts but can be used on many other things as increasingly more common. Have used various tool brands and find that from personal use and feedback from others that the Halfords Professional range are decent quality without being excessively priced. Have known them to fit well and work in situations where other known brands have failed. In this case the fit was excellent as usual and I expect the tool to last well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? GREAT YARMOUTH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Advanced 7 Piece Spline Bit Socket Rail 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value can't fault them,
October 11, 2013
By
from Birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Reserved them online and collected in store 30 minutes later.
The staff had them ready for me at the till.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? OLDBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Advanced 7 Piece Spline Bit Socket Rail 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent tool,
July 30, 2013
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very strong, excellent value
" This spline socket set is excellent value for money, they can withstand high amounts of pressure and love the lifetime warranty on them. Thankyou halfords very impressed "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? DUNFERMLINE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Advanced 7 Piece Spline Bit Socket Rail 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Piece Spline Bit Socket set,
July 16, 2013
By
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: stength
Cons: difficult to find in stock
" Great quality set if splines. Used up to 200Nm with no issues. These are a must if you own a modern VW group vehicle. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? RUISLIP
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Advanced 7 Piece Spline Bit Socket Rail 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
XYN spline socket set ( VW Tri-Square),
July 05, 2013
By
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" As a automotive development engineer working with tools all day, and building and maintaining rally cars at the weekends, I value quality more highly than price.
Whilst most of my tools are Snap On because of the lifetime guarantee ( most bought before Halfords started there professional range) . The Halfords professional range are great tools to take to customers and out on events, because of the cost ( 1 set of 6 or 8 sockets from Halfords vs 1 socket from Snap On ) and i don't mind if they occasionally get lost in the muck when I am out and about.
Due to the excellent quality ( irrespective of the price) , i have never been let down by any of my Halfords spanners or sockets and would not so far have any reason to return any bits ( unlike the Snap On) despite the serious abuse they get.
Yes you can break them but you have to have no mechanical sympathy as they give plenty of warning there going to fail, and the threads on the bolts normally fail before the sockets do
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? WATFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Advanced 7 Piece Spline Bit Socket Rail 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spline bits,
June 17, 2013
By
from Northumberland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent tools......don't try undoing spline bolts without the correct bit - it will end in tears!
Burnerman
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Advanced 7 Piece Spline Bit Socket Rail 1/2"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Professional Tools,
June 05, 2013
By
from poole
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" As a mechanic with 25 yrs of experience I have been very impressed with the quality of the Halfords Professional range of tools in my opinion they are as good as anything from snap on and other prestige brands to the point i hardly ever buy anything else now.
They can break but so can anything and when they have I have had no trouble getting the tools replaced due to the lifetime guarantee.
Overall I have been very happy with my extensive purchases from this range and have recommended them many times.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? POOLE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Advanced 7 Piece Spline Bit Socket Rail 1/2"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Useful for VW owners,
April 10, 2013
By
from Warw
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality
Cons: price
" Very useful tool for all diy VW owners. Little bit more expensive than other products, but good quality. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
Which Store did you visit? LEAMINGTON SPA
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>