Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Holts Radweld Plus 250ml

Holts Radweld Plus seals coolant leaks in the engine block, cylinder head, radiator and hoses.
Average Customer Rating:
4.921 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
38 of 38(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer Reviews for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Review 1 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin,
September 17, 2014
By vic46531429
from Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great stuff
"Sealed the leak immediately, since putting it in two weeks ago, no further leaks. Great product. Vic"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? HALIFAX
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth it!,
August 20, 2014
By sallzz
from Wales, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this for my son as his clio was loosing water from somewhere!, since using this product he hasn't had to top his water up once so far, He only used half a bottle due to engine size. Would highly recommend it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWPORT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
was anxious - but worked a treat!,
March 04, 2014
By SlumanBee
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Was concerned about my old Vauxhall Corsa 1.2 SXi.
I was going through a bottle of coolant a week with my regular mechanic telling me there was no leak. It could be a head gasket issue but after having done some research, this would cost a few hundred in total.
I looked online for a product which could fix such a proper, most had great and terrible reviews. However, thank you to the people who reviewed this item so positively.
They are not wrong - worked a treat over the course of a couple of days. Bought it two/three weeks ago, not had a problem since. I do regularly check too.
Easy to use, shake well - leave car running, I used half the bottle on my car if that helps ago. Fantastic product, great value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? UXBRIDGE
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Incredible stuff!,
February 25, 2014
By Kevy50
from Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: speed of repair
Cons: tiny print on bootle
"Water loss from my S type Jag! fixed in 5 mins with this wonderful fluid, all I can say is wow and how the Fook does this stuff do it?
Not to mention the car seemed to run better as well!
Just like a magic fluid mechanic had been poured in to my engine!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? RUSTINGTON
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing,
December 27, 2013
By LBray
from Hove uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My car was running completely rough "miss firing, juddering" I was pretty sure it was a slightly worn head gasket leaking, so I put this in as per instructions and half way down the road it was like a new engine, completely silent, no misfires and seems to be holding coolant, brilliant stuff and saved a lot of work, remember to shake the bottle as I made the mistake of pouring half in and realising, amazing job done! Cheers halfords"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? HOVE
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This stuff is the business,
December 23, 2013
By harrapino
from maccelsfield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: instant fix, cheap cheap cheap, it's awesome buy it!!!!!!!
"My poor ZR was suffering from one of its many famous k-series faults. This stuff has saved it from the scrap heap. it went from a misfiring engine and loosing plenty of fluid per day. To perfect running in 15 min. I do still have to do an oil change but it has saved my zed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT (FENTON)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does what it says on the label,
December 14, 2013
By numpty77
from exmoor
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i have had a very slight cyl head leak (coolant to combustion chamber) lumpy idle, lots of steam and losing 250ml of fluid /day. it does say on the bottle that it does not work on this type of leak, but i tried it anyway and it has worked (touch wood) . even if it only gets me through til the new year i consider this to be money well spent.
SHAKE THE BOTTLE FIRST!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TIVERTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent product,
December 12, 2013
By alimo81
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Noticed that my car had a leak and asked at the local garage what was wrong. They said it was the radiator and that it was almost £200 to fix it. Used this and the leak has stopped. I'm really pleased, especially with it being christmas."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NORTHWICH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the bottle,
November 03, 2013
By Deadly1
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I added the Radweld to the system as instructed - the mystery leak seems to be completely cured."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWMARKET
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did the job!,
September 21, 2013
By HOkay
from Chelmsford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: works, cheaper than a garage
"Being skeptical about whether this would work or not I gave it a go & my slow dripping leak has gone :) if in doubt, just give this stuff a go! Well worth trying before taking to a garage."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good risk,
June 03, 2013
By Doove
from E18
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"So far the water level has held. If this remains the case it is really good news as a mechanic would need to pressure test the system and most likley replace one bit after antoether until it was resovled.
Worth risking
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHINGFORD
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it does the job,
April 17, 2013
By Paulcc
from Aldershot
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quik easy and effective
"My cooling liquid was going down every month or so and i couldn't find where the leak was coming from... Somebody advised me to look for a product similar to this and got over it ... Did what it says on the tin and the leak stopped and the cooling liquid didn't go down since then... Quick easy and effective way to repair the leak"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used for motorcycle,
March 28, 2013
By febseb
from West Lothian
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: effective
"My Kawasaki GPX750R had a coolant leak from the seal between the bottom hose and the bottom of the radiator.
I used half a bottle of this Radweld Plus and ran the bike for about 20 mins. The leak is now completely cured and the hose is bone dry when I checked it a few days later.
Excellent, much cheaper and quicker than replacing hoses and clips.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (HERMISTON GATE)
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
solved my problem saved me a lot of pennies,
March 10, 2013
By rd1102
from west lothian
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: holts products
"i had a problem with my renault megane the water was going in to the engin block this was going to cost me a fortune to get fixed i was thinking of selling the car and getting a new 1 but then i was told about holts radweld. so i orderd a bottle on halfords website to collect in the morning. when i picked up my life saveing bottle i was shocked at the size i thought to my self there is no way this is going to work. so i opend the cap for the water coolant pored the whole bottle in to the coolant bottle put the lid back on and left the car to run at idel speed for 10 15 min. and low and behold my car is fixed could not get over it. it solved my problem saved me a lot of cash. i would highly offer this product to any one with cillinder head problems thanks for everything holts u sell 1 bottle that dose do wot it says on the tin"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LIVINGSTON
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has stopped a worrying water leak in a 43HP diesel engine!,
March 04, 2013
By Pengalanty
from Staffs & Worcs Canal, cruising South
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: very impressed
"A canal narrow-boat was giving worrying concern, after overheating. It was using water at the rate of 5-liters every 48 -72 hours.
Before serious and costly investigations were carried out, 3 x tins of Holts Radweld Plus 250mm were added to the system.
The header tank was topped up again 24-hours after the above was added (About 1-liter only).
After a further week of checking, there has been no water loss and the temperature has kept to the specified 70-C
I would highly recommend this product.
Signed: Allan (Hertfordshire)
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CANNOCK
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Does the job as required.,
February 26, 2013
By Anonymous
from Crowborough
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: use it don't leak it!
"It's fit for purpose. It seals all the leaks. What more do you want? Highly recommended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? UCKFIELD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing product,
December 31, 2012
By DriveTheLengthOfBritain
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I wasn't entirely convinced that this would fix the massive leak in my Passat radiator, but it did!
I used half the bottle, as directed, and ran the car for twice as long as suggested. The leak slowed, but didn't stop. I continued to drive the car for a couple of days and eventually the leak stopped entirely. It may not be a permanent solution, but will hopefully buy me enough time to put off the repair job until we get some better weather."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says,
November 23, 2012
By westy200
from swindon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Sealed a seep from the head gasket over 2 days........"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilliant,
November 20, 2012
By lucy2012
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this product because i had a crack in the radiator just before xmas so decided to give this a go and its been in my car a week and its working!! engine coolent staying in the rite place now and not leaking out! i dont know the long term damage of this product but im planning to get my radiator replaced once ive got the monies together. i have heard this product can cause other issues within the car hence why i will replace radiator once i got the money together but its a brilliant product for a quick fix!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked a dream,
September 28, 2012
By LordGunwharf
from Portsmouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My Corsa 1.2 was leaking water like a river for months. Payed the extra and threw this into the Tank and has not lost a drop in 3 months. Fantastic. Well worth the money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>