Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Holts Radweld Plus 250ml

Fix leaks in your car's radiator, engine blocks, cylinder heads or hoses with Radweld Plus.
Average Customer Rating:
4.65 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
57 of 60(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 55 Answers
Customer Reviews for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Review 1 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well,
May 20, 2016
By
from Rhyl, Denbighshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: only a small bottle (needed two for a 2.2l engine
" I have a cracked head gasket so it'll help my car go a bit longer "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? RHYL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use,
May 02, 2016
By
from Wales, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This product was really easy to use - a 15 minute job. It seems to have done the trick! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This stuff works!,
May 01, 2016
By
from Gateshead
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: works for small leaks, good value for money
" Had a fairly slow coolant leak on my Clio resulting in the coolant level going from max to min after about a week.
Put a quarter of the bottle of this stuff into the coolant reservoir (as the car has a small engine, it didn't need a full bottle) - ran the engine on idle for 30 mins.
Done a lot of long drives since I've done this treatment and my coolant level hasn't budged once! Really happy with the result "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? SUNDERLAND
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used to stop gasket leak over belt which was squeaking,
March 07, 2016
By
from Dundee
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: easy to add
Cons: took a while to work
" Not a bad product considering. however I did have to buy three of them until it stopped the leak and almost took three weeks to work..still cheaper than the massive repair "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does not work,
December 19, 2015
By
from , Stoke-on-Trent, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: doesnt work as advertised. damages other vehicle c
" Bought this as a temporary repair for a pin hole in a water pipe until i could get a replacement hose. Followed instructions and it did nothing other than stop my heaters from working! Now need to have system flushed and a new heater matrix. Avoid at all costs, expecting a hefty bill from my mechanic now. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Should be kept in every cars boot,
November 28, 2015
By
from Yorkshire, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, saved a lot of money
" Very impressive performance on sealing head gasket leak on my old Ford Sierra, which was pressurising the cooling system
No nasty side effects either.
Always keep some in my boot now , just in case
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dose what it says on the box,
October 02, 2015
By
from Perth, Perth, Perth and Kinross, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I had a medium leak which could not be traced used this and the leak has gone briliant "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PERTH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Magic in a bottle,
July 25, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: saved me over £400 in garage bill, very easy to use, worked within minutes
" My coolant was leaking due to a radiator fault. This product was recommended by a mechanic as a possible cheap fix. It worked straight away. Where ever the leak was this little liquid found it. Car is running like a dream again. Can't recommended enough. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (WHITE CITY)
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LITTLE WIZARD,
June 25, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Radweld is nothing but a wonderful liquid magic. How on earth would I believe this product if I did not use one. I was over the moon two days after using the product. No leakage again with my radiator. My Rover 75 is a new car again. Read the label first before using Radweld products to achieve maximum results. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? CROYDON (PURLEY WAY)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Careful if your on LPG!,
June 08, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Used this to stop a small leak to atmosphere between head and block on my 4.7 litre V8 Jeep. Cured the leak within half an hour BUT, mine runs on LPG and like many LPG conversions the vaporiser has its own hot water supply to heat it from the car heater supply. This has a small mesh filter in it. It blocked this pretty much straight away so the car wouldn't switch over onto gas. As an ex mechanic this wasn't a problem took me twenty minutes to fix and cost me nothing but if I hadn't known what I was doing it would have cost a lot for a garage to do it, "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Blocked my heater matrix,
April 01, 2015
By
from East Sussex, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: stopped the leak
Cons: blocked my heater
" I used this on my BMW, as my radiator had a slight leak. This stuff cured the leak, but now my heater is cold, it's blocked my heater matrix, so this "repair" is now going to cost me a lot more. Think carefully before putting this in your cooling system. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Coolant leak,
February 20, 2015
By
from Gosport, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Did not work for me still losing coolant did not do as it said on the tin ! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? HAVANT
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing stuff,
January 31, 2015
By
from Harrogate, North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: read instructions poor it in
" I Own a Landrover discovery 300tdi , had a problem with one of the core plugs ( freeze plug) leaking water , quite bad, loosing 2ltrs of water a day . Used this product as instruction . Still leaked a little afterwards ,HOWEVER after 24hours the leak has stopped . Don't know how it works but it does !! I'm not normally impressed when it comes to stuff like this , but VERY impressed . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? HARROGATE
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It says whats written on the bottle,
January 21, 2015
By
from Isleworth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I had a leak for weeks ( peugot 307 ) , ingineer suggested radiator to be changed .went to halfords and they suggested this product . It worked in 48 hours and no problems after 3 months ! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gobsmacked !!!!!!!!!!,
January 11, 2015
By
from Solihull, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Had a coolant leak on my ford s-max, ford main dealer couldn't find a leak, he was guessing that it must be a pipe behind the engine and that's £630 because it's a big job. My mom said back in her day people used rad weld, went halfords got the rad weld plus and it has not leaked a drop of coolant since!!!! An amazing product for£8 "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SHIRLEY
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
January 05, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" It does what it says. I was loosing almost 2L of coolant every week from my heating matrix. It fixed my problem instantly. Recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? NEWMARKET
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin!,
January 04, 2015
By
from Hounslow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: works., one bottle does the job.
" When my Peugeot 206 suddenly started to overheat and was traced to a leaky radiator I was suggested I try this as a temporary solution while I get the radiator changed and it works like a charm.
One thing to note is that the solution has the consistency of sludge so make sure you shake the bottle thoroughly before pouring it in. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? HOUNSLOW
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Briliant,
January 04, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" It does what it says on the packet I was very happy it stopped my leak "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? SEVENOAKS
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Leaking water pump,
January 03, 2015
By
from Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this as a temp fix on water pump & it did the job perfect. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BURNLEY
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Holts Radweld Plus 250ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
radweld,
December 29, 2014
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Does what it said on the bottle 6 weeks since I put it in and no problems so far. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>