Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)

Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
26 of 27(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer Reviews for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Review 1 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alcosense elite,
December 28, 2014
By Stiv1000
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it does a cleaning cycle after every use
" Fantastic product. A must have nowadays. Would definitely recommend "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Which Store did you visit? GREENOCK
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Peace of Mind,
December 27, 2014
By Redkite13
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This came highly recommended from what car reports. I have found it easy to set up and as far as I can tell accurate enough to tell when it's safe and NOT SAFE to drive. Very reassuring for someone that would be devastated if he couldn't drive. A great check in the morning when maybe you had too much of a celebration the night before!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product does what it says on the box,
December 23, 2014
By MrWiggles
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ery clear display.
" Very easy to use. and despite what other reviews said about it being difficult to calibrate for initial use, I found it straight forward.
The instructions confuse potential users by saying that you need to make a sample liquid of 3 to 5% by volume by mixing 2 parts water with one part of wine. In reality all you need to do is to buy a can of beer with 3 to 5% volume, pour a small measure, dunk the test pad in the liquid, follow instructions and it is done.
Spare tubes should be bought at the same time as buying the breathalyzer.
It is reassuring to know that you are safe to drive particularly the following morning. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? NUNEATON
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alcosense elite breathalyser,
December 23, 2014
By Dadstaxi1
from Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent product you need to buy a bottle of white wine with a alcohol content off12o/o to calibrate the unit which was very simple to do then it was all ready for use very simple to use and perfect for the morning after to stay safe "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? PAISLEY
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great piece of kit!,
December 23, 2014
By Meeky25
from Somerset, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very happy with this purchase. Essential for the morning after when you're unsure whether you are still over the limit. Easy to set up. Thoroughly recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGWATER
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Peace of mind,
December 22, 2014
By Gav74
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, accuracy
" Very good product and very easy to use. The temptation is to blow into the machine but a gentle exhale is all that is required. Being someone who has never been one for driving after any amount of alcohol, the morning after effect has always been a concern. With the lowering of the limit in Scotland I felt this was a must for those Sunday morning nips for the paper and rolls! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended by WHICH,
December 17, 2014
By famousbritishactress
from Blackpool
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: pocket size, re-usable
" A little tricky to set-up, but well worth it. I rang the helpline and they talked me through it. I did a lot of research before choosing this model and have not been disappointed. I've now worked out what my driving limit is! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent morning after Breathaliser,
December 02, 2014
By JPS1584
from Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: must have
" This should be a must for everyone who enjoys a tipple to stop being over the limit when taking to the car after a night out. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? BISHOPBRIGGS
+2points
8out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic device,
October 13, 2014
By Alfonsothedog1
from Ayrshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Fantastic pocket friendly device. The morning after nightmare everyone dreads can now be avoided. Obviously not 100% accurate but a good indication. Would recommend if you like a glass of wine in the evening. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Other hobbies: Boating
Which Store did you visit? GREENOCK
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
far too flaky,
September 04, 2014
By joepublic888
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: compact design
Cons: far too tempramentle
" Sometimes it will only read If you breath gently into it, sometimes it will only read if you blow until your ears bleed
Most of the time it just beeps annoyingly and displays "err"
I just want to blow and know
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (TRITTON)
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
January 03, 2014
By Marksthebestone
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this to be sure I was ok to drive the morning after, you know what I mean. Anyway this makes a real difference and has possibly saved my driving licence on a few occasions now. Highly recommended to have one. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alcosense,
January 03, 2014
By Neil26
from Nottingham UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought it as a Christmas present for my 22 year old son he was very happy with it we all tested it as well and seemed to work very well "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (VICTORIA RTL PK)
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality,
December 30, 2013
By Q2q3
from Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Seems a good quality piece of kit. It comes with two blow tubes. For hygiene purposes you will need to buy more. These are available to buy in store. The machine is easy to use. The instructions are good but it does not explain why/if you need to do certain things, i.e. clean the unit or activate the sensor. Do you need to activate the sensor for the unit to work, or is this to test the unit? I still have no idea on this but did it anyway.
I cannot comment on the accuracy of the unit.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? ROCHDALE
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
first class product,a must have for every driver.,
December 28, 2013
By happyface
from uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" every driver should one have to check after the night before.
money well spent,if it keeps you and all the other road users safe on the roads.money well spent.easy to use test completed in minutes.you can take with you any where no problems.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? ELLESMERE PORT
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a good product but,,,
December 27, 2013
By chivvys
from grantham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" but you need to dip the back bit in 3.5 alchol so what is that 3/4 of a wkd or hand wash, there should be clear information of what to use,, "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? GRANTHAM
-24points
1out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brathalyser,
August 17, 2013
By Jinty65
from Peterhead
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This handy little product is brilliant used it twice and was over the limit as I would have normally thought I'm fine defo worth the money and peace of mind. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? PETERHEAD
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilliant,
May 16, 2013
By forktongue
from hg4 2pq
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" this item is just what you need for the morning after,it is brilliant and will save your licence,better to be safe than sorry as drink driving costs lives,and with this item you are reducing the figures aswell as protecting your self "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
confident of its accuracy,
April 14, 2013
By vimc
from northumberland
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" the most important aspect of a breathalyzer must be its accuracy, although i haven't tested it against another breathalyzer its quite eloboarate set up prodecure give me confidence that it fuctions well. bit plasticky "
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BERWICK ON TWEED
-4points
7out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AlcoSense Elite,
April 09, 2013
By mark59
from Uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This product is 1st class,easy to set up and use,worth the small cost to know you safe to drive the morning after,every driver who drinks alcohol should have one "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? EXETER (RYDON LANE RTL PK)
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very impressed,
February 19, 2013
By roperl
from Leeds, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, simple to set up, compact & sterdy
Cons: doesn't auto shut off very quickly.
" These devices are miniature scientific sensors so the instructions must be read properly. I thought they were laid out very clearly & methodically. It was also very interesting to read the Do's & Don'ts & I can understand why so many users get it wrong & blame the device.
Setting up the unit was easier than I thought. Using it is even easier & very simple.
I like the little symbol that shows if you're breathing into it too slowly, or too fast.
I had a heavy night last night & was very shocked to see how much alcohol was in my system the next morning.
A device well worth the money for simplicity & accuracy.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>