Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)

Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
20 of 21(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Review 1 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended by WHICH,
December 17, 2014
By famousbritishactress
from Blackpool
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: pocket size, re-usable
" A little tricky to set-up, but well worth it. I rang the helpline and they talked me through it. I did a lot of research before choosing this model and have not been disappointed. I've now worked out what my driving limit is! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent morning after Breathaliser,
December 02, 2014
By JPS1584
from Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: must have
" This should be a must for everyone who enjoys a tipple to stop being over the limit when taking to the car after a night out. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? BISHOPBRIGGS
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic device,
October 13, 2014
By Alfonsothedog1
from Ayrshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Fantastic pocket friendly device. The morning after nightmare everyone dreads can now be avoided. Obviously not 100% accurate but a good indication. Would recommend if you like a glass of wine in the evening. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Other hobbies: Boating
Which Store did you visit? GREENOCK
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
far too flaky,
September 04, 2014
By joepublic888
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: compact design
Cons: far too tempramentle
" Sometimes it will only read If you breath gently into it, sometimes it will only read if you blow until your ears bleed
Most of the time it just beeps annoyingly and displays "err"
I just want to blow and know
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (TRITTON)
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
January 03, 2014
By Marksthebestone
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this to be sure I was ok to drive the morning after, you know what I mean. Anyway this makes a real difference and has possibly saved my driving licence on a few occasions now. Highly recommended to have one. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alcosense,
January 03, 2014
By Neil26
from Nottingham UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought it as a Christmas present for my 22 year old son he was very happy with it we all tested it as well and seemed to work very well "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (VICTORIA RTL PK)
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality,
December 30, 2013
By Q2q3
from Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Seems a good quality piece of kit. It comes with two blow tubes. For hygiene purposes you will need to buy more. These are available to buy in store. The machine is easy to use. The instructions are good but it does not explain why/if you need to do certain things, i.e. clean the unit or activate the sensor. Do you need to activate the sensor for the unit to work, or is this to test the unit? I still have no idea on this but did it anyway.
I cannot comment on the accuracy of the unit.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? ROCHDALE
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
first class product,a must have for every driver.,
December 28, 2013
By happyface
from uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" every driver should one have to check after the night before.
money well spent,if it keeps you and all the other road users safe on the roads.money well spent.easy to use test completed in minutes.you can take with you any where no problems.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? ELLESMERE PORT
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a good product but,,,
December 27, 2013
By chivvys
from grantham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" but you need to dip the back bit in 3.5 alchol so what is that 3/4 of a wkd or hand wash, there should be clear information of what to use,, "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? GRANTHAM
-22points
1out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brathalyser,
August 17, 2013
By Jinty65
from Peterhead
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This handy little product is brilliant used it twice and was over the limit as I would have normally thought I'm fine defo worth the money and peace of mind. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? PETERHEAD
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilliant,
May 16, 2013
By forktongue
from hg4 2pq
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" this item is just what you need for the morning after,it is brilliant and will save your licence,better to be safe than sorry as drink driving costs lives,and with this item you are reducing the figures aswell as protecting your self "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
confident of its accuracy,
April 14, 2013
By vimc
from northumberland
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" the most important aspect of a breathalyzer must be its accuracy, although i haven't tested it against another breathalyzer its quite eloboarate set up prodecure give me confidence that it fuctions well. bit plasticky "
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BERWICK ON TWEED
-4points
6out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AlcoSense Elite,
April 09, 2013
By mark59
from Uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This product is 1st class,easy to set up and use,worth the small cost to know you safe to drive the morning after,every driver who drinks alcohol should have one "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? EXETER (RYDON LANE RTL PK)
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very impressed,
February 19, 2013
By roperl
from Leeds, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, simple to set up, compact & sterdy
Cons: doesn't auto shut off very quickly.
" These devices are miniature scientific sensors so the instructions must be read properly. I thought they were laid out very clearly & methodically. It was also very interesting to read the Do's & Don'ts & I can understand why so many users get it wrong & blame the device.
Setting up the unit was easier than I thought. Using it is even easier & very simple.
I like the little symbol that shows if you're breathing into it too slowly, or too fast.
I had a heavy night last night & was very shocked to see how much alcohol was in my system the next morning.
A device well worth the money for simplicity & accuracy.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Breathe Easyer,
January 09, 2013
By Anonymous
from Hampshire
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: compact, good price, easy to use
Cons: flimsy feel, setting it up
" Feels cheaply made and was a bit of a pain to set up. Woks well once you've set it up. Had it's 1st run on New Years Day testing some friends that stayed over. One was ok by mid morning and the other had to stay until lunch time before he was low enough to drive.
Probably not the most accurate thing in the world, but it'll give you a better idea then guessing if you're ok to drive the morning after.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AlcoSense Elite Pocket Breathalyser,
January 07, 2013
By malc1957
from Cheshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: size, weight, ease of use, accuracy (as tested by whatcar), peace of mind before getting behind the wheel
Cons: having to prime sensor with white wine regularly, plastic straw attachments (can by more as required
" Seems to work very well, good size and lightweight. Amazing how long alcohol stays in your system even at low levels!!! Highly recommended especially for the morning after check. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alco Sence Elite Pocket Breathalyser,
July 02, 2012
By Twinchey
from North West
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" very handy to use. and you can have it calibrated. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alcosense elite breathalyser,
January 30, 2012
By Anonymous
from London, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: useful for the night after, portable
Cons: instructions not too easy to follow
" It's a neat little unit which is easy to use. The instruction manual is not too well thought out as you need to read different sections to understand how to use the unit. Here are the key steps after purchase that are not laid out in a logical order:
1 Activating the sensor - This is a one-off thing to set the gadget up and is only needed once. It involves making a 2:1 solution of white wine which you soak a little plug on the back of the unit with. You then push the plug into the sensor after following the instructions in the booklet. The unit then registers the alcohol and is ready to go
2.Do an ASC . It stands for Auto Sensor Clean. The ASC function takes 10 minutes and performs a deep clean of the sensor to remove contaminants like oxidisation, moisture and tannin. This should be done when new and then every week in regular use.
3. Using the unit - Don't use the unit within 30 minutes of smoking, drinking, using mouthwash or other alcohol. Have a drink of water to clear your mouth of contaminants. Switch unit on and attach blowpipe. It counts down from 19 to 0 and then shows the word 'Blow' which flashes. Blow gently and steadily until the word blow is continuously displayed for 5 seconds after which you get a readout. Repeat as needed.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
+56points
57out of 58found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb!,
January 28, 2012
By m4xwl
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: has accuracy reputation, easy to use simple
Cons: none
" What a great bit of kit, the morning after a night out is always a concern, and this takes the guesswork out. It stopped me driving one morning already, when I might have just jumped in the car. Was sold by the Fifth Gear ad and also a friend recommendation. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
14out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Alcosense Elite Pocket Breathalyser 0.8 Percent Edition (For use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For peace of mind,
January 09, 2012
By agwalla
from Prestonpans, east lothian
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: easy to set up and use
Cons: nothing to compare readings with to check accuracy
" Not had a drink for three days and am reading .43?? Easy to use though and would rather it erred on the high side. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Response from Halfords:By AlcoSenseHalfords Web TeamAugust 02, 2013
The manufacturer says: Thank you for your comment. This can be caused by one of several factors which affects all breathalysers – including Police ones. If you have brushed your teeth, used mouthwash, smoked or eaten some very ripe fruits shortly before doing the test this can affect the reading and give a false positive. The second is that if you are on an very high protein diet (like the Atkins Diet) or suffer from diabetes or the body can produce acetones and/or ketones which can overlap in the alcohol detection curve of the sensor. This can produce a false positive reading - not just on the AlcoSense but any breathalyser including Police issue ones. You can find more information on this in the AlcoSense Elite user manual in the box.
1 2 next>>