Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB096 - 5 Yr Guarantee

Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB096 with 5 Year Guarantee.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
2
60 of 62(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB096 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Review 1 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB096 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Died after just 12 months,
July 22, 2015
By Jmco
from Pembrokeshire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: guarantee, halfords engineer knowing what he was doing
Cons: dead in a year, yuasa tester showing false teading
" Bought battery July 2014. Almost a year to the day the battery is dead. Flat as a pancake and refusing to take a charge. Took it back to Halfords who tested it with a Yuasa tester which said it was fine and that it just needed charging. I asked if Halfords could try and charge it for me because none of my chargers worked with it - they charged it up for the day, tested it and tester was still saying it was fine but engineer in Halfords looked at the readings and decided it was duff and agreed to replace it.
5 stars for service to Halfords. Zero stars for Yuasa for supplying a duff battery (and tester). If it hadn't been for the fact that the member of staff from Halfords knew what he was doing I can imagine having had a right battle to get it replaced given the Yuasa tester was saying it was ok and just needed charging !! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? HAVERFORD WEST
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB096 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great battery for diesels....,
July 17, 2015
By SteveCorolla
from Pembrokeshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: 5 year warranty, great choice for diesel cranking, nice colour!
Cons: needed to adjust the battery clamp to make it fit, bit more expensive than others (but worth it)
" I'm a vehicle technician and know from experience that diesels need a good quality battery to give good cranking power.... especially in the winter months. I believe it is worth paying that bit extra for a good quality battery.
The Yuasa HSB096 battery ticked all the boxes.
I fitted the battery myself to our Toyota Corolla 2006 D4D. The only slight adjustment I needed to make was to slightly bend the battery clamping plate to allow for the slightly wider top edge of the battery (when compared with the original battery dimensions).... but we are only talking 2mm difference here, so it's a very slight adjustment to the clamp (easily done with a pair of pliers/ grips).
Our last battery lasted 9 years and I'm expecting this Yuasa battery to last about the same amount of time. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? HAVERFORD WEST
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB096 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fitting was worth doing!,
June 24, 2015
By Sam1234
from Sutton, Greater London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Hard to comment on a car battery - it was fitted and it works!
However, being for a Mercedes the battery is hidden away underneath the air filter and a fiddly fit.. It was fitted promptly and efficiently by a genial chap. So, although in other cars I'm quite capable of fitting a battery myself, in this case it was well worth it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB096 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's a battery!,
June 13, 2015
By Vanhelsing
from Essex, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I'm writing this review because halfords keep hassling me to write one " its a battery it starts my car " what more can I say I will be happy if it outlasts its manufacturers guarantee . So I'll let you know in 5years time "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHEND
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB096 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly recommended,
June 10, 2015
By DrSteve00
from Basingstoke
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: detachable edge strips to ensure good fit
" Yuasa are THE bike battery and they've never let me down. Now available at Halfords for cars and at good prices. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB096 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Too early to say,
June 10, 2015
By FatboyFat
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Bought one month ago. 2nd time Halfords have asked me for a review. A bit keen on a product with a 5 year guarantee. Hey, it still works after one month. Is that supposed to earn you 5 stars? No offence meant, just a suggestion you try and keep it real. Thanks "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB096 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good Battery but the ususal unrelaible Halfords Service,
June 10, 2015
By nacknime
from West Kingsdown, Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good quality battery, good friendly fitting service
Cons: unrelaible battery test, unreliable website
" Untrustworthy Battery Test by Halfords, they said my battery was ok which it clearly wasn't because it wouldn't stay charged for more than half an hour after parking.
After several more jumper starts I reserved a new battery online and went back. I decided to save myself any more hassle and fork out the £10 to have it fitted, just as well because the battery the website specified for my car didn't fit and I had to settle for a more expensive one.
A few weeks later and all is well, I've have had no problems since fitting the new one. Five stars for the battery and fitting, but my three rating is for the useless battery test diagnosis and the incorrect battery recommendation by the website. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DARTFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB096 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's a battery!,
April 29, 2015
By IanW5
from Brixham
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Seems Halfords will not stop pestering me until I write a review.....
The battery works I will tell you in 5 years if I was happy with it.
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB096 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does not fit!!,
March 14, 2015
By Brego
from Twyford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: it looked good
Cons: it does not fit
" I purchased this battery for my 2011 Freelander.
Although it is advertised as a replacement for the original battery, it does not fit, and will have to be returned.
The flange on the base of the battery is a different design to that on the original battery and this prevents the battery from being clamped into place. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? READING (WINNERSH)
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB096 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery,
March 02, 2015
By Dick10
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good value quality battery. Easy to fit for the novice car maintainer. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? YATE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB096 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good power,
March 01, 2015
By LST68
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great power for start in the cold, even over short journeys with limited recharge "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HIGH WYCOMBE (LONDON RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB096 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good battery,
February 27, 2015
By InspectorTom
from Hounslow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" So far the battery has been perfect. More kick and better retention of charge than the one replaced. 5 year guarantee reassuring. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TWICKENHAM (IVYBRIDGE CENTRE)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB096 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Powerful battery, excellent product,
February 27, 2015
By Fish13
from Kintore, Inverurie, Aberdeenshire AB51, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, power, service
" I had a battery that needed a charge every few days during the cold weather and needed replacing. Tried this one having never had a Yuasa battery before and it's brilliant. Lots of power and now peace of mind! Also had it fitted at the store by Halfords rep who was really helpful and quick. Excellent. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? INVERURIE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB096 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Power,
February 27, 2015
By Lurcherlad
from Bicester, Bicester, Oxfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great replacement for my Land Rover battery plenty of umph when starting will buy again when needed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BICESTER
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB096 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
battery bought and fitted,
February 23, 2015
By Anonymous
from Dorset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: service
Cons: not enough staff in ahop
" Excellent service and great buy - the lad that fitted it was very knowledgable about cars too - very good swevice "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WEYMOUTH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB096 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery,
February 21, 2015
By MarkSG
from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good starting perfomance in cold.
" Does what at says on the tin - fitted perfectly and so far worked perfectly, guess the test will come with how long it lasts but comes with a good guarantee so little risk. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (PERRY BARR)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB096 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery that does the job,
February 20, 2015
By redplanet
from Worthing, West Sussex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: warning light if charge is low
Cons: date of manufacture not shown
" Rarely travel long distances and so needed a battery that works for short journeys without having to remember to recharge. Sounds like this one is up to the job. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WORTHING
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB096 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good battery poor installation,
February 14, 2015
By senior69
from Wigston Leicester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" guaranteed for 5 years,must be good quality.
I hope it is as my last Halfords 3 year guaranteed battery failed before the three years was up and the warranty replacement only lasted three years.
The original battery in the car, from new, LASTED 7 YEARS!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (PUTNEY RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB096 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very powerful battery,
February 10, 2015
By Alan0954
from Cumbernauld, North Lanarkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: mega powerful
" My Saab has heated seats and I use the cigarette lighter to charge my phone and Tom tom, so I am always drawing power, and the standard battery was getting sluggish. I, therefore, need a quality battery with plenty of power. This battery seems to have stacks of power and comes with a 5 year guarantee. Sometimes it's best paying a bit more for peace of mind. Used Halfords fitting service to save getting my hands dirty. "
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CUMBERNAULD
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB096 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a battery,
February 08, 2015
By stevewi
from Newbury, West Berkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: convenience, 5yr guarantee, it works
Cons: had to tell the installer how to fit it
" Good battery and guarantee and convenient to have it fitted on the same day we needed it although I had to tell the installer how to fit the bolts to secure the battery -
we could have had an equivalent Bosch battery delivered free in 24 hours for approx £30 less from an independent company but would have had to install it ourselves (although that only takes 10 minutes).
However it is useful and cheaper to be able to return something locally in case of failure rather than using the post. So all in all happy with the purchase.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NEWBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>