Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Yuasa 12V Silver Battery HSB096

Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB096 with 5 Year Guarantee.
Average Customer Rating:
4.554 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (83 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
4
72 of 78(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for Yuasa 12V Silver Battery HSB096
Review 1 for Yuasa 12V Silver Battery HSB096
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
quality battery,
February 05, 2016
By
from Portsmouth, Portsmouth, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great battery, had one on my last van never let me down "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PORTSMOUTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Yuasa 12V Silver Battery HSB096
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great service,
February 05, 2016
By
from Cowplain, Waterlooville, Hampshire PO8, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the service
" I would whole heartedly recommend the battery and also the staff at the Waterlooville branch. They are helpful and cheerful which encourages me to go back to the store. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WATERLOOVILLE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Yuasa 12V Silver Battery HSB096
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product...,
January 29, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: hight power
Cons: price
" I selected this battery to replace OEM one on my 2007 Honda Civic 2.2 Diesel. I wanted a powerful and reliable Branded replacement battery. At 800 Ah it is significantly more than the OEM (600 Ah). With the same form factor it fitted straight in. On the expensive side but I am happy to pay the premium for peace of mind. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Yuasa 12V Silver Battery HSB096
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yuasa 12 V Silver Battery HSB096,
January 28, 2016
By
from Hornchurch, Greater London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I needed a replacement battery but I did not want to purchase an 'entry level' battery as I wanted something that would provide longevity. This battery has a 5 year guarantee and since I fitted it to the vehicle it has started 1st time ever since, even on the coldest of mornings. I would recommend this item. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ROMFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Yuasa 12V Silver Battery HSB096
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yuasa 12v battery,
January 14, 2016
By
from Par Cornwall
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I purchased this battery to fit into my Mercedes B type 180 CDI SE, it turned out to be an extremely tight fit and as yet I have not been able to fit the retaining block but the battery seems to be secure in the space provided.
Apart from that the battery is working well and only time will tell
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? ST. AUSTELL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Yuasa 12V Silver Battery HSB096
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Battery,
January 06, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Ordered on line, went into store where battery was waiting and then installed on the spot. Fitting charge very good. What more can you ask for? "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Yuasa 12V Silver Battery HSB096
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yuasa car battery,
December 30, 2015
By
from Wales, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" very well made,nice and easy lifting handles,simple and easy to read battery check window,low maintenance and clean "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Yuasa 12V Silver Battery HSB096
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Powerfull,
December 16, 2015
By
from West Midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" A little expensive but that's what you would expect from a quality product. However I did purchase this in the sales so saved some of my hard earned cash. Service from Halfords was excellent as always. I would definitely recommend both the Product and Halfords service. A very happy customer. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? AMBLECOTE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Yuasa 12V Silver Battery HSB096
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy with extreme caution,
December 15, 2015
By
from West Midlands, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Folks, a friendly word of caution. Please please please do some research before choosing one of these calcium/calcium batteries. The calcium/calcium technology is not like its traditional lead/acid cousin. When a lead/acid battery becomes flat (i.e. discharged) you simply recharge it with your trusty old battery charger and you are good to go. However, if your calcium/calcium battery becomes discharged beyond a certain voltage, no matter if it's 5 weeks old or 5 years old, then you will NOT be able to recharge it, not even with a modern electronic battery charger designed specifically to charge calcium/calcium batteries. I know; I have had two of these batteries and both suffered the same fate. So, if like me, you park your car in the airport car-park and fly off for a few weeks holiday, don't be too surprised to find that when you return your brand new calcium/calcium battery is not only flat, but also scrap. This has happened to me twice now. The first time it happened I was able to get a replacement battery under guarantee but unfortunately not so the second time. IMHO these batteries are really not fit for purpose. Read the literature at manufacturers website and please, buy with extreme caution. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Yuasa 12V Silver Battery HSB096
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service rather than product,
December 09, 2015
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I've rated the product as average to be as fair as I can - I didn't end up with this battery - it was dead off the shelf so I didn't get the opportunity to make use of it. It seemed a good battery too, good fit and everything, but it didn't work! An alternative battery replacement was provided, which also had issues (with breather pipe outlet fit). Fourth time lucky, we got a battery that finally is installed in the car (Halfords own brand). Recommend always having the team check the charge on a battery before leaving store - the third alternative was also dead! Customer service was excellent throughout. "
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? HARLOW
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Yuasa 12V Silver Battery HSB096
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
December 06, 2015
By
from CHESHIRE
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great battery brand, old one died 1st thing in the morning, reserved and picked this one up an hour later, fitted it easily and was away. With this being yuasa I feel confident that I've got years before I have to worry about a new one. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Yuasa 12V Silver Battery HSB096
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5star battery,
November 30, 2015
By
from Chesterfield, Derbyshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" cannot fault this, car was struggling to keep a charge so i thought buying the best i could afford with winter on the horizon was a must purchase, it was fitted [i had no idea where it was as citroen had hidden it under the front passenger seat] at the place of purchase, without any mess or fuss, "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CHESTERFIELD
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Yuasa 12V Silver Battery HSB096
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent battery!,
November 12, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" We needed a battery in a hurry as our original Toyota battery failed after 9 years (which is not bad).
Here's where Halford scores - you can go along (after a jump start) and pick one up.
This one has almost as much capacity (both AH and current) as the factory spec model, and the car now starts instantly. With the 5 year guarantee it should last longer than the car.
It was quite expensive hence the loss of a star. Also it is far too soon to see if it lives up to the guarantee.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? TWICKENHAM (IVYBRIDGE CENTRE)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Yuasa 12V Silver Battery HSB096
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best price I could find, locally,
October 23, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The old battery was very tired and I decided to replace it before the winter sets in. Halfords had the best price for what I wanted and I also had them fit it for me. It was fitted quickly and by a guy who was very good talking to customers. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WELLINGBOROUGH
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Yuasa 12V Silver Battery HSB096
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value,
October 22, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: guarantee
" Used as a diesel motorhome starter battery and holds charge easily for two weeks between uses. A bit pricey but has a good guarantee so probably worth the extra cost. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? CHORLEY
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Yuasa 12V Silver Battery HSB096
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HSB 096 Silver 5000 car battery,
October 11, 2015
By
from London, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Bought this battery one year ago, came back from holiday for 3wk, and the battery was completly dead not an ounce of life left . The battery reading on the battery itself read ( BLACK) or recharge. This battery cost me £105.00 . After reading the customer review, another customer experienced exactly the same. I have been recharging it now for more than 12hrs . i do not have a lot of faith in this battery of which i expected to really do the job. Have not been to the store yet just finding out whether recharge works. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CROYDON (WINDMILL RD)
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Yuasa 12V Silver Battery HSB096
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Start me up,
October 05, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: weight
" The Eyesoremerch mobile was getting a bit iffy on starting. Fortunately for the price of 7 classic rock t shirts we are now reliably firing up every time. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Yuasa 12V Silver Battery HSB096
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Died after just 12 months,
July 22, 2015
By
from Pembrokeshire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: guarantee, halfords engineer knowing what he was doing
Cons: dead in a year, yuasa tester showing false teading
" Bought battery July 2014. Almost a year to the day the battery is dead. Flat as a pancake and refusing to take a charge. Took it back to Halfords who tested it with a Yuasa tester which said it was fine and that it just needed charging. I asked if Halfords could try and charge it for me because none of my chargers worked with it - they charged it up for the day, tested it and tester was still saying it was fine but engineer in Halfords looked at the readings and decided it was duff and agreed to replace it.
5 stars for service to Halfords. Zero stars for Yuasa for supplying a duff battery (and tester). If it hadn't been for the fact that the member of staff from Halfords knew what he was doing I can imagine having had a right battle to get it replaced given the Yuasa tester was saying it was ok and just needed charging !! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? HAVERFORD WEST
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Yuasa 12V Silver Battery HSB096
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great battery for diesels....,
July 17, 2015
By
from Pembrokeshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: 5 year warranty, great choice for diesel cranking, nice colour!
Cons: needed to adjust the battery clamp to make it fit, bit more expensive than others (but worth it)
" I'm a vehicle technician and know from experience that diesels need a good quality battery to give good cranking power.... especially in the winter months. I believe it is worth paying that bit extra for a good quality battery.
The Yuasa HSB096 battery ticked all the boxes.
I fitted the battery myself to our Toyota Corolla 2006 D4D. The only slight adjustment I needed to make was to slightly bend the battery clamping plate to allow for the slightly wider top edge of the battery (when compared with the original battery dimensions).... but we are only talking 2mm difference here, so it's a very slight adjustment to the clamp (easily done with a pair of pliers/ grips).
Our last battery lasted 9 years and I'm expecting this Yuasa battery to last about the same amount of time. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? HAVERFORD WEST
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Yuasa 12V Silver Battery HSB096
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fitting was worth doing!,
June 24, 2015
By
from Sutton, Greater London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Hard to comment on a car battery - it was fitted and it works!
However, being for a Mercedes the battery is hidden away underneath the air filter and a fiddly fit.. It was fitted promptly and efficiently by a genial chap. So, although in other cars I'm quite capable of fitting a battery myself, in this case it was well worth it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>