Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

BikeHut Alloy Pannier Rack

The BikeHut Disc Brake Alloy Bike Pannier Rack is light and a stylishly convenient shelf and holder for rear end baggage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
18 of 20(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer Reviews for BikeHut Alloy Pannier Rack
Review 1 for BikeHut Alloy Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not compatible with Carrera Subway,
February 27, 2014
By bluesbird2
from South Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the price
Cons: doesn't fit carrera subway.
"Contrary to some other reviews, I failed to fit this to my wife's Carrera Subway 16". The front struts were around 2" too short to get the rack level. I took rack and bike to Halfords to ask them if there was something I'd overlooked. The assistant checked it over and tried various adjustments, as I'd already done. He eventually admitted that it wasn't possible to get the rack level on the Subway and suggested exchanging it for an Axiom Streamliner at a similar price. This has much longer front struts and should fit the Subway properly. I agreed but this time Halfords will do the fitting."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CWMBRAN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BikeHut Alloy Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fitted in less than five minutes,
January 14, 2014
By Squeaky57
from West Midlands UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of fitting, looks good for the price.
"Fitted straight onto my Genesis with no problems. Looks pretty good and seems to be very strong. Was directed to this one after selecting a non disc specific one in the shop. Good call! Thanks to the guys at Kiddermister branch."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? KIDDERMINSTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BikeHut Alloy Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not suitable for my bike,
December 16, 2013
By bluesbird
from Newport South Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the price
Cons: not compatible with my bike
"Bought it as it is suitable for disc brakes. However, wouldn't fit my Specialized Crosstrail Comp Disc as the front struts were too short. Went back to Halfords Newport to see if they would sell me some clips to extend the length of the struts. They don't stock such things and they asked me the size of my wheels. When I said 700cc the salesman told me this rack isn't suitable for 700cc wheels. He agreed that this should have been made clear on the specifications. He added that he didn't think Halfords stocked a rack suitable for rear discs and 700cc wheels. I got a full refund."
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NEWPORT
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BikeHut Alloy Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to fit to disk brake bike,
November 12, 2013
By Charliethecat
from Stourbridge
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Been after a decent rack for a while and kept coming back to this one. The diagram/instructions are clear enough and took about half an hour to fit.
Much better than the racks that fit onto the seat stem - much more robust and better positioned once in place.
I have a cyclocross bike that is really like a light tourer and having made sure it had eyelets in the correct places (a true cyclocross bike woudln't have any) this appears a good quality rack that should last a long while.
Nice and lightweight (didn't weigh it but I'd guess about 750g) it should take most panniers on the market and the clamp is a very useful addition."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MERRY HILL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BikeHut Alloy Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the ticket!,
October 12, 2013
By Simon45
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: solid and stylish., co title with ortlieb's pannier bags, handy clip if you've just got light things
"I've been looking high and low for a rack that would fit with disk brakes. The obvious London cycle shops had little of interest, or even choice in some cases. Halfords offered two, one shiny and one in matt black. Reserving it online for collection the next day was the icing on the cake. It's a solid piece of kit and the two we bought serve us well - me for the commute to work and my son for his daily ride to school and back. Fits perfectly with Ortlieb's classic pannier bags."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHISWICK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BikeHut Alloy Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BikeHut Alloy Pannier Rack,
September 15, 2013
By pad64
from Dorset UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good looking rack and easy to follow instructions and easy to fit. Does the job."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BOURNEMOUTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BikeHut Alloy Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Subway,
September 13, 2013
By Hugbert
from Yate
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Turn up at Halfords at Brislington gave me the rack.
(it was closest to home)
In the Garage fitted it to Subway without an issue absolutely first class lovely product well done Halfords
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BikeHut Alloy Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stabil, strong feather, space to improve the product,
July 03, 2013
By Thomas2013
from Belfast
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Overall a good product, but a stage is missing, so my bag slip sometimes away."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BELFAST (CONNSWATER)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BikeHut Alloy Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect for disc brakes fitted on the outside!,
April 15, 2013
By colby81
from Sevenoaks, Kent
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: look, adjustablility, build quality, fits over outside rear disc brakes
Cons: nothing as yet.
"This review could possibly get 5 stars but i am yet to test it out so hence the current rating. I have looked at over 30 racks and this one was a gamble as after all it was bikehut and cheap. Build wise this product feels and looks rock solid and is really simple to assemble. It has adjustable height arms which are invaluable. I highly recommend this especially for disc brakes fitted on the outside of the frame, it is no way tacky and actually looks like it comes with my bike.
Fingers crossed it last 1000miles now!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? SEVENOAKS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BikeHut Alloy Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good choice,
January 09, 2013
By Ronmon7
from Southampton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the spring
Cons: none
"No bad points - seems great. Easy to fit.
Especially liked the strong spring so you can just things on top without a specific bag.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BikeHut Alloy Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pannier rack,
November 19, 2012
By jimmyt76
from kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"does what it says on the tin. nice and easy to put on the bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BikeHut Alloy Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best for the job,
July 18, 2012
By tonyo
from leicester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"easy to fit only takes couple of minutes strong and light ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BikeHut Alloy Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great choice,
May 17, 2012
By Hummingbird
from Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good purchase, well made
"Ticked all of the boxes, even when I was knocked off my bike in Skye last week on a single track road, the frame and bag held strong and nothing valuable but me was damaged!!
Great buys!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BikeHut Alloy Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Racking good,
February 18, 2012
By Popee1
from Exeter
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lightweight, ideal for disc brakes, price
"Lightweight - no adverse performance on bike, easy to fit (follow the instructions - and don't fit in reverse like I did!) and plenty of clearance over rear disc brake.
Solid and no rattles after a week over Devon's lumpy roads
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BikeHut Alloy Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Decent rack,
January 09, 2012
By SamNG41
from Immingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this rack for my Apollo Phaze. I found the rack very easy to fit compared to others I have owned and there is plenty of clearance around the disc brake. I had no issues fitting my pannier and hardly notice it’s there when riding. The light bracket offers plenty of fitment options so I would imagine it would be compatible with any rack light or reflector. Only part I would maybe change is to incorporate a solid section down the centre of the rack that could act as a mudguard."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BikeHut Alloy Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Useful purchase,
May 20, 2011
By fastwheels
from Suffolk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: looks good
Cons: spring-loaded bar a little too wide
"An easy item to fit to the bike. The unit is light but strong and fully adjustable."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BikeHut Alloy Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
March 20, 2011
By Nick43
from Canterbury, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very sturdy
Cons: none love it
"Purchased and fitted to my Carrera Subway 2 ready for my collection at the store. Fits the bike perfectly, no movement or squeaking and has a really strong spring. Looks really pro too"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BikeHut Alloy Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Disappointing,
September 12, 2010
By NewBikerack
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"The rack is fine in the quality of the build but due to the spring loaded section it stops my panniers from fitting easily as it gets in the way of the pannier clips"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BikeHut Alloy Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Pannier Rack,
September 08, 2010
By 1981theblues
from Lincoln, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: solid construction, easy fitting
"Bought this rack for my son's mountain bike with disc brakes.
Fitted easily to the bike within minutes, it is well made and have had no issues with fitting pannier bags to it where we have two different types which are both Halfords brand.
Certainly would recommend this to anyone.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BikeHut Alloy Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Luggage rack,
August 20, 2010
By 1982
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"It took a while for the rack to arrive due to warehouse system problems.
However, the store staff did not give up and at last the rack arrived.
It fits both the bike and my bag so no problems."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
12next>>