Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Kids Bikes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Carrera Detonate Boys Mountain Bike - 24"

Carrera Detonate 24" Boys Mountain Bike is certainly ready for an adventure!
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
31 of 32(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Carrera Detonate Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Review 1 for Carrera Detonate Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little bike,
March 08, 2014
By Alan1965
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: disc brakes
"A great bike and great value however had to wait 24 hours despite online order stating available with an hour of order."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Detonate Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grate bike,
December 21, 2013
By krae30
from Cleveland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I got this bike for my 9 year old son and very pleased with it. Grate value for money and very light in weight."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? HARTLEPOOL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Detonate Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Detonate,
December 12, 2013
By AndyBike
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent value and simple to order. Not tried bike yet as it is for Xmas."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Detonate Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great all round value on the market,
December 10, 2013
By Mrsas77
from Liverpool
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: every part
"Best buy for the money, shop around and could not find a better bike for the money on line or in a shop and a free service in 10 weeks carnt beat it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Detonate Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bike,
August 03, 2013
By bikeccc
from Uxbridge
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"looks good, great suspension, light weight. Good for teenagers/small adults (5ft ish) is smaller or taller just ajust seat and handles"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? No
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Detonate Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike, poor build :(,
July 26, 2013
By Emma2121
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Best quality boys bike we could find in our local Halfords. Shame the gears had been set up wrongly, so we needed two more trips back and forth from the store to sort it out. My son is thrilled with it, he is 4'6" and the seat is at it's lowest setting for him."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? No
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Detonate Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera detonate,
July 08, 2013
By Sharon03
from Berkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought this for my son's 10th birthday and he loves it.
Very proud of the nice bike comments he gets as he rides around the village.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? NEWBURY
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Detonate Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great looking bike but with design issues,
June 24, 2013
By swc13
from Lowestoft
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: colour, general build quality
Cons: slight design fault
"The bike certainly looks the part for any seven year old boy however the chain snapped on day one and had to be replaced. Issues with he gearing and cable routing which appears to be a fault that causes the brake to lock. This was resolved by removing the cable from the fixed locater and attaching it by a cable tie!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? LOWESTOFT
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Detonate Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovely Bike,
June 21, 2013
By themoarfamily
from Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this for our 10 year old, above average height, son. It is a very cool looking bike and he, although not very confident on two wheels, has really taken to it. He is finding changing gears easy and the breaks are good. We hummed and hey'd about the size of bike to buy and eventually went for the 24" wheel and I'm glad we did, the seat is at the lowest height and is perfect for him so plenty of growing space."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (KITTY BREWSTER)
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Detonate Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great little bike,
June 20, 2013
By dantheman247
from newcastle upon tyne
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great little bike but shame it was assembled wrong breaks handle bars and other things were loose rear suspension was fastened so tight it didnt work next time i will do it my self."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Detonate Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Carrera detonate,
June 02, 2013
By Heuehl
from Bucks
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great looksgood gears and suspenstion
Cons: brakes a little weak
"Great looking bike. Bought this for my eight year old and he loves it. Would have given 5 stars but brakes are not the greatest."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? HIGH WYCOMBE
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Detonate Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera,
May 21, 2013
By Stephen2803
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent value for money an up grade to the carrera blast a good quality bike from carrera"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? No
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Detonate Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MINT!,
March 22, 2013
By Connor11
from sunderland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the chain
"The bike is the best buy it now the gears are really good and its easy to go up hills the bike is mint GET IT NOW!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Detonate Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you want a bike with pathetic brakes buy this one!,
March 13, 2013
By johny123
from scotland
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"It seems to be be that so many bikes nowadays are built to a specific price point. We purchased this from halfords, after a few days my son was complaining that the rear brake was poor, he was also complaining that it was difficult to change gear (tight) being a mechanic myself i had a closer look at it and came to the conclusion that they just didnt make bikes like they used to, just basic bad design!!!!!! I didnt take it back for halford to check as my nephew had taken his back 3 times for the same reasons i later found out. Dont be duped by flashy stickers and shockabsorbers, a bike is for riding and helps if it stops !! hope the advice helps someone"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? PERTH
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Detonate Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value bike,
February 12, 2013
By Graham05
from Haslemere, Surrey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great looks and componentry, smooth ride, good value for money
Cons: nothing as yet
"Bought this for my son's birthday. Great looking bike with good components for the price. My son says it has a very smooth ride and much better than his previous Carrera Blast. Hopefully it will prove reliable and enjoyable to ride to compliment its good looks."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Detonate Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carreras detonate mountain bike,
February 05, 2013
By Doogie12
from Essex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"So far this has been a great bike,my son is loving the suspension on the front and back of the bike and very happy with the service at Halfordsm(bike will be serviced in 6 weeks time for free)all in all I have a very happy 8 year old with a superb bike to ride"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Detonate Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera boys bike,
January 06, 2013
By Padens
from Talbot green
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: gears and the look
Cons: nothing
"Bought this for Xmas 2012 for my son the bike is absolutely amazing we'll worth the extra money and it was put together really well would definetly recommend this to another customer"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Detonate Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy child,
December 27, 2012
By ltburgundy
from Exeter, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This bike was bought for my niece's main Christmas and birthday present. My brother said it was easy to put together and all specs were as advertised. Apart from all the techy stuff, the main reason my niece chose it was that it wasn't pink!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Detonate Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very glad I spotted this one,
April 06, 2012
By Spud108
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was browsing the discounted bikes online and went to check a couple of 16" framed bikes out - spotted this one by chance when I visited a store. I'm only 5 foot 3 so wanted a small bike I felt properly in control of to learn to ride again. And as I hadn't ridden in years I wanted something affordable that would last, rather than splashing out on a top spec bike.
This hit the spot - a 14" aluminium frame, 21 gears, front / rear suspension, a decent colour scheme (the 80s black / white / green is very 80s and reminds me of my old BMX as a kid!) - and one of the cheapest Carreras available.
I'm aware people who know about bikes don't rate the suspension components (Suntour XC Jr etc), but given it's for a couple of hours in the park on a sunny day, I don't have any problems with it.
The only issue is that I'd never ridden a bike with gears before - and the supplied Carrera manual is general and not specific to any one bike. While it is an excellent starters guide to riding and maintaining a mountain bike, I had to look online to find a practical beginners guide to the Shimano 21 gear system. Which fortunately I found from a 3rd party.
Overall, an excellent beginners mtb for kids and short adults :)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Detonate Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome,
March 13, 2012
By Mtbsam
from Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, price, service
"Bought this for my son who is seven, he is tall for his age and he only just fits this even with th seat all the way down, but he absolutely loves it. Got this for a great price, staff in Elgin depot were very helpful, flexible with collection date and very efficient when I went to collect the bike. Very good quality bike, can see it will last a long time and it has given my son a lot of confidence on off road trails, where before he would have slowed down or stopped at certain points he now goes for it, just means I have to keep up now."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>