Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 20"

The Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike is perfect for young offroad explorers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.569 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
53 of 57(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Review 1 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Carrera Blast,
June 24, 2014
By Ssshhadow
from Holmes Chapel, Crewe, Cheshire East CW4, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Firstly, they do not look like disk brakes to me.
Secondly, the reviews must be based on the old model of the Blast as this one is brand new.
I think Halfords should be clearer on this"
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE UNDER LYME
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Off Roader,
April 21, 2014
By NK49
from Maidenhead, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A 7th Birthday present for my son who absolutely loves this bike. Off and On road he has found it easy to use as much lighter than his old bike, and the gears make all the difference.
Only bad point so far is the reflectors brokes off both pedals when first used - will ask for some new ones when I take up the first service option."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? MAIDENHEAD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Carrera Blast,
January 06, 2014
By Talltrees
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought for tall 6 year old boy. He loves it and can ride much further than his slightly smaller but heavier steel framed bike. Went for a 5+ mile ride without any moans.
He loves the gears and can use them comfortably.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money,
January 05, 2014
By Pete26
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We all have Carrera bike, this one is no different, well made, light weight, with good equipment. For the price this bike is excellent. Bought for my 7yr old"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? DONCASTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike for an 6yr old,
January 03, 2014
By Anonymous
from Milton Keynes
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We are very happy with this bike, so far it's been great. Our 6yr old son is getting to grips with the gears and has loved using the bike in muddy conditions through the woods.
Halfords staff were very helpful and having the bike made up was great."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? MILTON KEYNES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera number two,
January 03, 2014
By Texturizer
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the v brakes' stopping power
Cons: only blue for 20" version (perfer the red of 16")
"This is the second Carrera Blast that we have bought for our son, the last being the 16" version.
The bikes are very solid and extremely well equipped for a childs' bike. They stop very well when I compare it to the bike I had at his age. They are light weight and it's a lot of bike for the money.
I would highly recommend the Carrera blast range both the 16" and 20".
We also made use to the 3 for 2 on accessories, that we had fitted in-store for free. There was also a web discount, but I still would have bought it without it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice sturdy bike,
December 28, 2013
By Bobby57
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this bike for my 6 year old grandson who has been off stabilisers on his old bike for a few months now. He was very happy with it and quickly mastered the gears."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? CLACTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Watch they don't use the cheap replacement forks,
December 26, 2013
By LemmingWales
from South Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lightweight
Cons: the cheap replacement zoom forks
"Love the bike for my 7 year old once we got the actual bike we ordered.
People need to be aware that they have changed the specs and fitted cheap Zoom front forks instead of the Suntour adjustable ones.
It has great adjustment, is lightweight, has metal brake levers and works brilliantly once properly adjusted to fit the child."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? PONTYPRIDD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1st bike,
December 22, 2013
By jmarsh
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this as 1st bike for son he loves it, would recommend"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
December 16, 2013
By Dumpers
from Bedfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: well made
"Bought for my son as he had the smaller version of the same bike, they are very sturdy and well built, some childrens bikes have plastic brake leavers, which snap, this bike has metal brake levers and all the components are good and work well!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BIGGLESWADE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent professional service,
December 08, 2013
By lou1748
from wisbech
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent service at wisbech store, very helpful and informative.
Great bike, kids love them, it should come with mudguards though not as an extra!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? WISBECH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value,
December 03, 2013
By Jamie911
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought my 6yr old for his birthday he loves it, the handle bar gear change makes it easy for him to change gear and the front suspension he thinks is really cool. Can't get him off it!!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not Good,
December 02, 2013
By punkangel
from Bristol
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: ally frame forks, sram equipment
Cons: paint runs, cheap v brakes/ frayed cable
"washer missing on rear v brake, hrs to find n repa"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Checked everywhere - Halfords were best buy,
November 30, 2013
By mikeGa
from Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality of the carera, 12 month insurance offer
"Wanted a bike for our youngest grandson, aged 61/2. Looked at very wide range of options, both on line and on high street. Decided that the best option was Halfords. Very good young man at local shop. Had confidence in his ability to deliver. That he most certainly did.
It is, however, a Xmas present. How can I possibly grade the "performance" of the bike. Its just a little small for me!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? BROMSGROVE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Carrere Blast,
November 30, 2013
By Alsbeast
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great Little bike for my 6 year old best quality at a great price. I Shopped around and once i had seen all the other bikes this one was head and tails above the rest.
Whould Highly Recomend"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT (HANLEY)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
one for the boys!!,
October 19, 2013
By ProudDad78
from ProudDad
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"All the prior reviews say it all really. I bought this for my six year old lad but it would well serve up to a 10 year old. He is so proud of it!! And it's SEVEN GEARS!!! A good buy!!!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
August 02, 2013
By SiTr
from Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this bike for my 8year old, he loves it, good quality parts and solidly built. Great price for quality."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BRAINTREE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fabulous Bike,
July 29, 2013
By Anonymous
from Stafford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality components for a bike this size, bright blue colour, easy gear change, excellent build quality
"I bought this as a second bike for my son, whose first bike lives down at our caravan. We visit every 2 weeks, but he wanted a bike for home. He loves his new bike and much prefers it to his old one and has asked if we could swap the bike over."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? STAFFORD
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blast for my boy,
July 14, 2013
By creegy
from Lincoln
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: light alloy frame
Cons: twist grip shifter
"After using heavy steel framed bikes we decided to go for the Carrera blast 20" for my 6 year old boy with its alloy frame. Its a little bit big for him (toes only just touch the floor with seat at its lowest) but as soon as he set off the difference was instant. On family bike rides he now leads us all and for a six year old to cover 10miles with no moans was awesome.
Very light weigh and easy to handle, the only improvement I would recommend would be eazyfire shifters rather than the twist grip ones. My boy has not mastered the gear changes yet. Overall were very happy with his new bike.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? BOSTON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic value and really light,
July 12, 2013
By Zyzy
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the second blast 20" I've bought after the first one perished in a shed fire. The frame is very light and easily handled by a 5-6 yr old up and down hills. the hardtail is quite a bit lighter than the full suspension we tried in the shop. The brakes were a bit stiff to start with but they wore in fine.. Our son loves this bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>