Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Pedals & Pegs or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Shimano SPD M520 MTB Pedals - Silver

The Shimano SPD M520 Mountain Bike Pedals are rough, tough and ready!
Average Customer Rating:
4.895 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 19(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Shimano SPD M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Review 1 for Shimano SPD M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
simple as riding a bike.,
August 27, 2014
By niglewiggle
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use.
"expected to have trouble getting used to them but took to them like a duck to water.set them to the lowest setting havent had no need to adjust them."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? DARLINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shimano SPD M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent value and exceptional quality,
August 23, 2014
By davespud
from Plymouth, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"bought these to replace broken clip on old pedals easy to fit and secure when clip in and easy release"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (CORNWALL STREET)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shimano SPD M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
pedals,
August 20, 2014
By daveek48
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"works well, first clip in pedals i have used, and got on well with them"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shimano SPD M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great pedals,
July 31, 2014
By K30beer
from Sittingbou
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent value double sided MTB pedals easy fitting great range of adjustment"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? SITTINGBOURNE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shimano SPD M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
solid construction,
March 08, 2014
By chrisali
from bristol england
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: affordable. solid build. easy fit.
"These pedals have made a huge difference, for the better to my cycling. They are fantastic value and very well made. They are easy to fit and adjust. They also look good."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shimano SPD M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant pedals,
February 26, 2014
By Anonymous
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality and great price
"I bought these as my first step into clip in pedalling. They took about 2 mins to fit and adjust the tension and are really nice to ride with. I bought a set for my road and mountain bikes as I was so pleased with them."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? STAFFORD
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shimano SPD M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Secure, slim and stylish,
February 05, 2014
By EdTheRabbit
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easily adjustable
Cons: hard to get hold of in store
"much cheaper and only a tiny bit heavier than the almost identical M540's but these will let you fit them with a spanner as well as an allen key
I use these on a road bike instead of regular road cleats pedals or straps, and they look good and ride great.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (WHITE CITY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shimano SPD M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano spd m520,
February 05, 2014
By Jaxm
from Durham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Lightweight but strong mtb pedal
Easy to clip in and out of
Great value for money
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DURHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shimano SPD M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano clip pedals,
January 31, 2014
By Wayno67
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent quality for very little money, excellent value"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? GRAVESEND
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shimano SPD M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellant pedals,
January 26, 2014
By sushishandy
from Derbyshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have never used this type of pedal prior to my purchase. they are really easy to use, comfortable and priced to fit anybody's budget."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SWADLINCOTE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shimano SPD M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
m520 spd,
January 18, 2014
By steve1980
from yeovil
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: reliable, great feel
Cons: a little on the heavy side
"excellent pedals, that feel great straight from the box. a little on the heavy side but for the price you can not fault them at all."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? YEOVIL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shimano SPD M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SPD QUALITY,
December 22, 2013
By clobber6866
from Wakefield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"What an amazing price for a set of SPD including a set of cleats how do they do it ?
Pedals perform really well and easy to to get in and out of even with current muddy conditions when you have to dismount.
why buy dear spd when these workvso well.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shimano SPD M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Pedals,
November 27, 2013
By StaffsD
from Staffordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Never used a pedal that you lock into before (don't forget you need a shoe with cleats). Wanted something reasonably priced and adjustable. All I can say is this is a brilliant purchase. You can adjust the the pedal to allow the cleat to come out easily (essential when you haven't used them before). For the money you can't complain. These also make riding up hills very easy as you can pull up with one leg while pushing down with the other. Allows you to climb with both legs taking the strain. Wish I had purchased this style of product before."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT (FENTON)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shimano SPD M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
July 29, 2013
By DeSpecialOne
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple
"Does what it says. Top class. Easy to install. Easy to clip in and out."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shimano SPD M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great entry level product,
November 26, 2012
By Chris888
from Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money
Cons: heavy
"I purchased these to use on my Carrera Virtuoso and have found them an excellent entry level pedal. Not much to say about them really other than they do the job fine, easy to clip/unclip and no problems yet."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shimano SPD M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
m520,
September 20, 2012
By Flashaah
from Hinckley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good product and best price on the web using online discount"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shimano SPD M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano SPD M520 MTB Pedals,
September 14, 2012
By cyclohead
from Bedfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, build
"I actually purchased these for Cyclo cross season and the Halfords price was by far the best, they are a great inexpensive peddle and well worth the money, they almost become disposable at this price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shimano SPD M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano SPD PD520 Pedals,
August 22, 2012
By SaBir
from Bedford, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, great value, well made, last ages
Cons: a tad on the heavy side we're talking grams thoug
"This is my second set of these pedals. I think they are excellent value for money. Got the first set for my mountain bike and two years on they are still working as good as new. When I got my new bike I new exactly what to get and got the same pedals for my road bike. I love the convenience and simplicity of these double sided pedals meaning you never have to look down to clip in. The only place they could possibly lose points is in the weight department where they are not the lightest or most aerodynamic for road bikes. But if you're like me and a few grams is not the be all and end all then look no further. Get these pedals now"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shimano SPD M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant product,
December 30, 2011
By SamNG41
from Immingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, value
"These pedals are probably the best SPD pedals to begin your venture into the clipless world. They are so easy to use. The double-sided mechanism makes clipping in really easy and I haven’t had any problems clipping out (so far)! The spring tension in the clip in mechanism is fully adjustable to allow you choice over the force required to clip in and out of the pedals. Another big advantage to these pedals is that most of the shoes available to fit them have the cleats recessed in the sole of your shoes. This makes them more comfortable for working in and makes them look more like normal trainers.
I’ve been riding with these pedals for about 7 months and I just can’t imagine a ride without them now. Should’ve used them from the very beginning!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.