Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Pedals & Pegs or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver

The Shimano SPD Pedals M520 Mountain Bike Pedals are rough, tough and ready!
Average Customer Rating:
4.854 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
39 of 40(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Review 1 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use, great for beginners,
August 24, 2015
By
from Cork
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My first pair of clipless pedals. Easy to set up and took about 10 minutes of falling off my bike before I got the hang of them. Would highly recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CORK (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A bit unsure with these!,
August 18, 2015
By
from Newcastle upon Tyne
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Having just bought a new Mountain bike and following a chance conversation with another bike rider, I was advised to swap the standard pedals for these these.
As these were reduced I decided to give them a go despite having never tried this type of pedal before.
Swapping the old style pedals for these took approx 15 mins using a 15mm spanner and was a breeze to setup.
So I purchased a proper pair of MTB cycling shoes, fitted the 'cleats' to them and after a little practice off I went !
What a massive difference they make to your ride !!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best valus SPD pedals for the money,
July 23, 2015
By
from Weymouth, Dorset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: halfords price!
" Forget the Shimano M540, these are excellently priced, cheaper and perform the same with usual Shimano quality, I was going to renew my bearings in the old pedals but at £18 for a new pair it wasn't worth messing around! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? WEYMOUTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value at a great price,
July 23, 2015
By
from Paisley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is the first time I have used this type of pedal,whish I had done years ago easy to fit & adjust the price is a great deal as well .would buy them again "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PAISLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dave99,
July 20, 2015
By
from Cheshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Really good value for the money, really pleased with the way they work as I have only ever used clips and straps before. I ordered these on line to collect in store, this worked as good as the pedals. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BROMBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
M520 SPD pedals,
June 22, 2015
By
from Hirwaun, Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taff CF44, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Looked at various retailers and Halfords was the cheapest.Product arrived in store before the stated date and had a phone call to let me know.Good product would recommend "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good SPD'S,
June 15, 2015
By
from Redditch, Worcestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" always been a clips and straps rider, first time with SPD's, very easy to use, clip in and out no problem. does what it says on the tin "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? REDDITCH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely changed my bike,
April 29, 2015
By
from Durham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought these on sale at halfords for less than £15 and what a difference they make , got a boardman pro 29 er and believe me it's not the bike it's the pedals , peddling on the up stroke as well as the down , my cycling mates with normal pedals cannot keep up ! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SUNDERLAND
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job well at a great price,
March 02, 2015
By
from Worcestershire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Have purchased these same pedals twice over recent years for two mountain bikes and they do the job very well at a great price. Just purchased again for a third time for a cheap road bike I got for the summer.... even though they say MTB pedals they'll do the same job for me on a road bike. Would highly recommend! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? KIDDERMINSTER
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano SPD M520 MTB pedals,
March 02, 2015
By
from East Sussex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality
" U se these on my road bike and they do what they say on the tin - very functional and good value "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ROMFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spd peddals,
February 18, 2015
By
from Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought these peddals for my road/tour bike as buying two pairs of shoes is expensive. These peddals are of a high quality and weight is nominal for my riding and they look good on the bike too.
They fit my specialized Spd shoes perfectly which are Mtb but also look like road shoes I find there is a no difference in the bio mechanical movement agin for my type of riding.
A good looking well machined quality item.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SWANSEA
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perfect product,
February 07, 2015
By
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" first time using clipless pedals, these work a treat.
easy to fit, was able to pick up in store with no hassle.
great value item from a well functioning store.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WOODGREEN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value and price,
December 18, 2014
By
from Northampton, Northampton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, great value, ordered online its so easy
" Recently purchased these for my spinning bike.I also have a set on my road bike.
Easy to use,good entry level spd pedal.
Purchased online during an extra 10% off offer...so even better value than normal....
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? NORTHAMPTON (RIVERSIDE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love the simplicity of this product,
December 11, 2014
By
from Wrexham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality
" This product has very sturdy compact design with benefit of ease in use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WREXHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent for my commuter,
November 18, 2014
By
from Crewe
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Just needed a basic set of SPDs for my commuter bike and these fit the bill perfectly.
Easy clip in and out, simple to install, cheap as chips for what they are. No complaints "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CREWE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best on the market,
November 15, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" best pedals for my grandsons cyclocross bike great pedals "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? FOLKESTONE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product,
November 10, 2014
By
from Wales, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I am a beginner and these pedals were a great price , I am using them with DHB mountain bike shoes and find them easy to use when you get used to clicking your feet in and out . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cant complain at that price,
October 14, 2014
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price, easy to fit
" I wanted to try SPDs and these were a great price, I reserved on line picked up and fitted them a couple of days later. Fitting was easy enough and they were perfectly with my cheapo Aldi cycling shoes "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SPD m520 MTB Pedals,
October 02, 2014
By
from Redruth, Redruth, Cornwall, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very pleased with this product received the item next day as promised. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? CAMBORNE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
October 02, 2014
By
from Chorley, Chorley, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Easy to fit to my bike, easily adjustable settings...does what it says on the tin.
Ray "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHORLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>