Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Pedals & Pegs or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver

The Shimano SPD Pedals M520 Mountain Bike Pedals are rough, tough and ready!
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
52 of 53(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Review 1 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano M520 pedals,
July 25, 2016
By
from Derby, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: bargain and practical
Cons: can't fault anything!
" Having been riding single sided road pedals I realised the bearing were about shot. Seeing these pedals at such a great price, I figured it wasn't worth serving worn out pedals. Double sided makes so much more sense for the commute as well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WEST)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
pedals,
July 22, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great pedals great price. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!@!!!@@@@!@@@ "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great quality,
June 24, 2016
By
from Troon, South Ayrshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Shimano are a great make and this was at a brilliant price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? IRVINE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good quality, good price,
June 02, 2016
By
from Manchester, Manchester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" very good shimano spd pedals, had those on my previous bike for past 6 years. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (WHITE CITY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shimano M520 pedals,
May 14, 2016
By
from Leicestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple easy to clean design
" These pedals are great value for money. Easy to use and easy to keep clean. You do need to make sure that the cleats are attached tightly to your shoes as they can loosen with use making it hard to detach your shoe from the pedal "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MELTON MOWBRAY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good pedal. Great price.,
May 01, 2016
By
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very solid, safe and easy to use pedal. Great price. Obviously on the heavy side. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WHETSTONE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
impressed,
December 02, 2015
By
from Ashford, Ashford, Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I was really impressed. It is a rare thing to order something on line and it arrives when they say it will. Really good product at a really good price. so good i almost thought only one was going to arrive,,instead of a pair.
Thank you Halfords
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great pedals,
November 14, 2015
By
from Banbury OX16, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" These are the second set of these pedals I've bought as they are so easy to use. I can now wear my cleated shoes on both my bikes!
Great product at a bargain price. Click and collect from my local store was easy to use.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BANBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No problems, easy to use, great value.,
November 06, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" As per the title, easier to use than I thought but still early to comment on quality, however this is a trusted brand and no concerns yet. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product was easy to attach,
October 07, 2015
By
from Durham, County Durham, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" The pedals were collected from my local store.
Fitting them to the bike was straight forward.
These will prove to be a great addition to my road bike.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DURHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality clipless pedals,
September 29, 2015
By
from Stirling, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality
Cons: having to remember i am wearing them when i stop
" I don't do mountain biking so these pedals will not get a rough ride. I use them on my hybrid bike. They are very good quality and the price seems really reasonable. I am glad I made the upgrade but I don't notice a huge impact on my speed or times for my normal circuit. I am also still getting used to freeing myself from them when I slow down and stop. No major incidents yet but it is easy to forget that you have them on. I would recommend having Halfords fit them. I tired myself but my existing pedals were very difficult to get off without the correct tools. It was only £5 to have them fitted and it is well worth it. (I don't work for Halfords or have shares in them!) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CUMBERNAULD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spd pedals,
September 19, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Use halfords for most things cycling. The lads in the Derry branch always go that bit extra to sort everything out for you! Well done guys!!! "
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals,
September 09, 2015
By
from Great Yarmouth, Norfolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Purchased for my road bike and very easy to lock into, excellent value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? GREAT YARMOUTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shimano pedals,
August 28, 2015
By
from God's County
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Does what they say on the tin. Not had them on long enough to find faults. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BARNSLEY (CORTONWOOD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use, great for beginners,
August 24, 2015
By
from Cork
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My first pair of clipless pedals. Easy to set up and took about 10 minutes of falling off my bike before I got the hang of them. Would highly recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CORK (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A bit unsure with these!,
August 18, 2015
By
from Newcastle upon Tyne
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Having just bought a new Mountain bike and following a chance conversation with another bike rider, I was advised to swap the standard pedals for these these.
As these were reduced I decided to give them a go despite having never tried this type of pedal before.
Swapping the old style pedals for these took approx 15 mins using a 15mm spanner and was a breeze to setup.
So I purchased a proper pair of MTB cycling shoes, fitted the 'cleats' to them and after a little practice off I went !
What a massive difference they make to your ride !!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best valus SPD pedals for the money,
July 23, 2015
By
from Weymouth, Dorset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: halfords price!
" Forget the Shimano M540, these are excellently priced, cheaper and perform the same with usual Shimano quality, I was going to renew my bearings in the old pedals but at £18 for a new pair it wasn't worth messing around! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? WEYMOUTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value at a great price,
July 23, 2015
By
from Paisley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is the first time I have used this type of pedal,whish I had done years ago easy to fit & adjust the price is a great deal as well .would buy them again "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PAISLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dave99,
July 20, 2015
By
from Cheshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Really good value for the money, really pleased with the way they work as I have only ever used clips and straps before. I ordered these on line to collect in store, this worked as good as the pedals. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BROMBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shimano SPD Pedals M520 MTB Pedals - Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
M520 SPD pedals,
June 22, 2015
By
from Hirwaun, Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taff CF44, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Looked at various retailers and Halfords was the cheapest.Product arrived in store before the stated date and had a phone call to let me know.Good product would recommend "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>