Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Halfords Car Polish 500ml

Give your car the shine and protection it deserves with Halfords Car Polish.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
11 of 15(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Car Polish 500ml
Review 1 for Halfords Car Polish 500ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Awful,
July 06, 2014
By Dave659
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: nothing
Cons: smears, very difficult to buff off, poor finish
"Baffled by the great reviews this has. It's the worst product I've tried. Like a previous reviewer says, you practically have to scrub it off. I almost dented a panel trying to 'buff' it. It's going straight in the bin and won't be used again."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Car Polish 500ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
halfords car polish 500ml,
March 09, 2014
By bish68
from tiverton uk
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"total waste of money..go's on rubbish,then when you have managed to apply you cant get it off again without washing the car again or bending the panels on your car!
better off spending more money and getting other branded polish.
i have thrown this product in the bin as it the worse product I've ever brought"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TIVERTON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Car Polish 500ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good Price, Poor Performance,
July 27, 2013
By Anonymous
from Gateshead
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: none really although it is cheap
Cons: far too hard to buff off. little shine!
"I've used many polishes over the years, and for approx 10 years have been using Autoglymn Super Resin Polish as my main liquid wax. AG Super Resin has always brought great results on a variety of cars I've owned from hondas to jags to classic minis.
I decided to try Halfords Car Polish as it was cheap and came with glowing reports from Auto Express and classic car mags. I really don't know how as the shine is, at best, average. But where the product is really poor is in its application. I didn't have to buff this stuff off, I had to scrub it off! I tried on two different cars, I tried applying less product, I even tried applying it in different outside temperatures, but still I had to nearly bend my car body panels to buff it off, and even then it was left with swirl marks. It may cost more, but I will definitely be returning to Autoglymn Super Resin Polish. I've given the Halfords stuff one star as its cheap!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Car Polish 500ml
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not as good as expected,
June 26, 2013
By f1brad
from Stoke
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: nothing
Cons: waste of money
"Based on the other reviews I thought I'd give this a go since it was way cheaper than anything else.
My car is metallic blue and this polish leaves smear marks all over. I've tried different techniques and it always has the same result.
I will throw the bottle away and buy something else instead.
Sorry and all that but it doesn't work for me."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Car Polish 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shining Product,
June 15, 2013
By Ourlads
from Tyne and Wear
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, the finnish is gleaming
"Cannot fault this product in any way. Car looked great after use and was not to difficult to buff off. Bought this polish after reading other reviews and for the price thought I'd give it a go. Was more than happy,as I've always used dearer polish.
Tell you what it's going to give them some competition,try it for yourself you wont be disappointed.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WASHINGTON
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Car Polish 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use and great value!,
June 08, 2013
By Darkstar23
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great price, easy to use
"For the price, this car polish is one of the best I've tried. It leaves a lovely finish with very little elbow grease required to buff it up to a good end result. A little goes a long way and I'd thoroughly recommend it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (QUEENS RD)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Car Polish 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Polish of all Polishes,
May 19, 2013
By Ryanke
from Liverpool
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"What can I say other than fantastic
. I have used some expensive polishes of the years ,but Halfords Car Polish beats them hands down. Not only a great polish but also a great price. Its a must if you like a gerat shine on your Vehicle.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Car Polish 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the bottle....,
May 05, 2013
By Bhoy100
from Edinburgh
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Went on and buffed off with ease, great value as 1 got 2 for just over a fiver. The water beads off the car now and the next wash/polish was a breeze as the dirt doesn't stick to the car the same as it used to."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (SEAFIELD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Car Polish 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product better in my opinion you can't get better great shine,
May 03, 2013
By Gevocab
from London n200st
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i this is a great product in my opinion way better than the overpriced waxes on the market which I have used don't waste your money this is equally as good if not better great sine and protection excellent this is my choice from now on"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? WHETSTONE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Car Polish 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good polish,
March 16, 2013
By Yamahaman
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Used on my motorbike, gleaming now. A little goes a long way."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Car Polish 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High gloss finish,
March 07, 2013
By Dholls3
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very cheap
"can't fault this polish whatsoever , easy to apply and does what it says , beads water off quickly leaving yr car still looking fresh ,"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Car Polish 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
halfords Car Polish,
February 05, 2013
By Realdolby
from Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the low low price and quality
"Watch out Auto Glym this is the best that money can buy.Use it on the car followed by a sealer it lasts and lasts and so easy to use.Every year do all the PVC window frames out and in with this polish to the envy of the neighbours.Pity though Halfords stopped selling the Polish and sealant combined."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Car Polish 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
halfords car polish 500ml,
January 19, 2013
By jimmy99
from glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this after reading the good reviews on the web at this price i was not expecting much but after using this product i was really pleased at the the results and ease of you use .Beads water really well puts some other well knowing products to shame at this price you have nothing to lose give it a try"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Car Polish 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2nd place in test of 25 waxes / polishes,
October 27, 2012
By Andy125
from Ringwood UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: long lasting shine, easy to apply, test winner (well almost), reasonable price
Cons: cant think of any?
"I normally pay a lot more for my polishes and waxes, but thought I'd give it a try after it came second in an independent test of 25 polishes by AutoExpress. Best of all it was by far the cheapest so appeared somewhat of a bargain.
It applies easily with minimal effort and looks fantastic. Don't get mesmerized by all the 'gucci' polishes and waxes in the aisle, go straight to this one.
Well done Halfords!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Car Polish 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Car Polish 500ml,
June 20, 2012
By halfordscarpolish
from nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make mercedes
"This product worked very well. Love it. Did the intended job."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.