Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Trax TFS.1D Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"

The Trax TFS.1D Mens Mountain Bike has 18 speed Shimano gearing, full suspension, and disc brakes providing a superb braking performance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.023 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(130 Reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (130 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
53
3 stars
15
2 stars
8
1 star
5
106 of 130(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Trax TFS.1D Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Review 1 for Trax TFS.1D Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike,
February 27, 2010
By Salfordian
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Not rode a bike for nearly a decade but having got sick of the delays, breakdowns and general rubbishness of the Metrolink system in Manchester decided to start biking to work instead.
Reserved the bike online and the bike was assembled and all the accessories attached when I picked it up. The staff at Halfords White City in Manchester were very helpful and attentive.
The bike rides very well, brakes are good, suspension excellent and gear changes smooth.
Overall I can't fault it! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Trax TFS.1D Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Trax TFS.1D Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike-18,
March 08, 2011
By Growla
from Hemel Hempstead
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value for money
Cons: steel suspension
" I bought this bike as boxed,for its price i really wasn't expecting anything special.I have been cycling for nearly 40yrs and when i assembled it and gave it a test ride i was very surprised at its performance,smooth gear change and handling,v/good braking system,for what it cost it is well worth the money,the only drawback i can see is it has steel front suspension and not alloy meaning front suspension not as smooth,but you get what you pay for... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Trax TFS.1D Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review,
November 12, 2010
By SB1985
from Tyne and Wear
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" The bike is good value for money. Only problem there seems to be is the fact that the seat is very fair. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Trax TFS.1D Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money,
October 27, 2010
By MrBike
from Lincolnshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: disc brakes, gears
" Bike purchased for my son great value for money good features on bike ordered via Internet and was built and ready for collection next "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Trax TFS.1D Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TRAX TFS 1D,
October 15, 2010
By stinkyfinger1
from PLYMOUTH
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: cheap
Cons: spares availability, spec
" A GOOD BUDGET END BIKE, GOOD MECHANICALS THROUGHOUT, ADEQUATE SPEC FOR THE MONEY, OVERALL IF YOU'RE LOOKING FOR A BIKE JUST TO CHUCK AROUND THEN THIS ONE GIVES EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY. JUST REMEMBER, YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR, SO DON'T EXPECT TOO MUCH!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Trax TFS.1D Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good,
September 20, 2010
By sausage28
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" my only problem with the bike is that the seat gets uncormfortable on longer journeys "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Trax TFS.1D Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Trax,
August 16, 2010
By MACRG
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Not a bad bike for the PRICE but it is at the lower end of the price bracket and u pay for what u get. Need i say ne more "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Trax TFS.1D Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
trax tfs id full suspension mountain bike,
August 15, 2010
By carrhoney
from haverhill suffolk england
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: seat unconfortable
" very good bike well asembled by halfords no problems with the bike at all used every weekend for riding one small problem the saddle is unconfortable other than that the bike performs well "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Trax TFS.1D Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Trax,
August 07, 2010
By connor746
from South east, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price, gears, brakes
Cons: seat, heavy
" Bought the bike the brakes and gears were not setup correctly, so i took it back to a store nearer to where i live and they fixed the gears and the brakes the bike now works perfectly. and is a nice bike to ride. does need a new seat as the default one is rock solid. The bike is also quite heavy but you do expect that from a full suspension bike/ "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Trax TFS.1D Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TRS1D,
August 06, 2010
By Tonto1
from Teesside
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Bought for sons 14th birthday, he is very pleased with it "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Trax TFS.1D Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
trax mountain bike,
August 04, 2010
By eddfromaberdeen
from aberdeen
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" good bike for the price , looks ace, rides well,
only problem is the position of the water bottle holder , apart from that everything is well worth the money
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Trax TFS.1D Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
highly recomend,
August 01, 2010
By gorgeousgeorge
from newhaven, east sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" when i saw the bike at halfords i was amazed on how good the bike looked as i booked it online and it looked nice but was even better when i saw it, very friendly staff never been on a bike since i was 15 and im now 40 and this bike rides lovely i rode 13miles on this bike the first day and was very happy no problems wat so ever,everything worked as it should, and the staff said if there was any problem to bring it back if i was not happy , top marks to halfords for a super bike and staff and value for money i highly recomend this bike to anyone. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Trax TFS.1D Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Trax TFS.1D,
July 30, 2010
By BarryJS
from Birmingham, England
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Bought this bike and after one 7 mile ride along a canal, I now have a loud rubbing noise on the rear wheel that I can not get rid of... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Trax TFS.1D Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trax TFS.1D MENS FULL SUSPENSION MOUNTAIN BIKE 18`,
July 26, 2010
By clearwater
from Bishop Auckland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good buy also bought the red one aswell, would recomend halfords to buy your bikes from. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Trax TFS.1D Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Poor instore build,
July 22, 2010
By Bongodog
from Bolton
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: features
Cons: handlebar gear changing diffucult when wet.
" Great bike but handle bars not straight, but then realised the handle bars were loose. Good job I didn't head for the hills straight away. Ended up spending the rest of the day double checking all the nuts bolts etc. No quality control on instore build. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Trax TFS.1D Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great general purpose bike,
July 20, 2010
By Anonymous
from Bristol, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: strong construction, value for money
Cons: heavy compared with similar bikes
" I got this bike mainly for use to and from work. A nine mile round trip on roads and cycleways in an inner city environment. It is supurb for this and I would strongly recomend it to others for this use. The bike seems strongly made which is a plus, but this comes at a cost in that the bike is quite heavy. The extra weight is a detriment when cycling uphill. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Trax TFS.1D Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bit hit or miss, but can take a beating,
July 20, 2010
By aNILEator
from Stoke-on-trent, England
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: disk brakes have performed very well, looks good, good off road downhill accross multiple terrains
Cons: seat is very hard, gears a bit heavy (could be initial use only), suspension is a bit heavy (could be initial use)
" I bought this bike and had real problems that others mentioned, gears would slip, my chain would fly off whenever I was at a gear limit (1 and 3 or 1 and 6) and apparently it was due to the cables stretching or something. I took it back and a manager attempted a repair, shortly deciding it would be more efficient to replace it with a new bike. Since then my problems have been very minimal, which tends to make me think it was poor assembly the first time. The gears can be a little tough to change, but that's better than loose, and the chain has only come off once since (when I was being a bit too ambitious *cough* stupid *cough* with my gear changes, going downhill and suddenly braking).
This bike's done me well on and off road, the suspensions a bit tight and heavy but I assume that'll get better with time (it has improved a bit already), and it is a good looking bike. So yes it is a cheap bike and the parts may not be top notch but good assembly also plays it's part.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Trax TFS.1D Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money,
July 18, 2010
By DAZ147
from Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: was helpful having the bike set up ready!
Cons: uncomfortable saddle
" Very pleased with the purchase of this bike! The only bad point was the saddle, it was very uncomfortable so I purchased a gel filled seat cover and now its fine! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Trax TFS.1D Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Good Value,
July 15, 2010
By SHYTALK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought this item for my Grandson and was particularly impressed by the specifications in relation to the price. The bike has stood up to everything a rather large 14yr old can throw at it and has justified the rugged construction. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Trax TFS.1D Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MOUNTAIN BIKE,
July 11, 2010
By GIANTSUMO
from CLACTON ON SEA
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" EXCELLENT MOUNTAIN BIKE TOGETHER WITH EXCELLENT SERVICE. TOOK ALL THE STICKERS OFF AND PUT NEW LIGHTS ON WITHOUT ANY FUSS. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND HALFORDS SERVICE TO ANYONE "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>