Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Shampoo, Polish & Wax or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml

The Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover helps get rid of tar, grease and other stains efficiently.
Average Customer Rating:
4.703 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
34 of 35(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Review 1 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow!,
April 23, 2015
By Ac18
from Dumfries
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
" this product is simply excellent. My car was badly affected by tar spots on virtually every panel and was not looking forward to the chore of trying to get them off using my usual methods. Having seen reviews for this product I decided to give it a try, my only regret is not having found it much sooner! Probably took about an hour and a half to do the complete car but that was a fraction of the time I expected. Product very quickly disolves the tar and using microfibres cloths I had a smooth blemish free finish which I was delighted with. I have used many products to try and remove tar spots easily but none come close to this one. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DUMFRIES
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
April 15, 2015
By LJE59
from Redditch, Worcestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I used this to remove tape adhesive from the front of my car on the paintwork after I had covered up a broken headlight. It wouldn't budge with normal washing but as I rubbed this product on in removed it straight away.
Very impressed.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? REDDITCH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding,
April 06, 2015
By richtea75
from Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Upon washing my wife's car at the weekend was shocked to see that she unknowingly had driven through a field of tar, the sills where almost completely covered with splatter marks all the way up the doors. Having used other tar removing products in the past wasn't looking forward to the mammoth task in hand of removing the tar. Having read the reviews on this product I was sold straight away, all I can say is I wasnt disappointed the tar came off effortlessly, some reviews said you might need a bit of elbow grease which is true all I can say is your 90yrd old gran could supply the elbow grease that was needed. A quality product!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top Product!,
January 27, 2015
By Cockney777
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Does what it says on the tin - follow the instructions and the Tar dissolves and wipes away. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ASHTON UNDER LYNE
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Removes all types of grime,
January 01, 2015
By Jlmason94
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great product, does what it says on the bottle. :) "
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does what it says,
October 28, 2014
By Bobbsie
from Farnham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" i removed road tar on mountain bike (don't ask#. Very effective and fast removal - dissolved easily. Thicker caked tar benefited from physical removal first #thumb nail) then solution. Nice surprise; nice result. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? FARNHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
...and a tiny bit of elbow grease ;-),
July 03, 2014
By Mk1FordFocusOwner
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: end result is well worth it
Cons: took a while
" I tried this product after reading some of the reviews on here. It works - oh it works! However, it's not as instant as I thought, and from reading similar reviews I was prepared for this. I was happy with the smooth satisfying finish afterwards though - took bodywork back to factory state.
Bearing in mind it was covered in all the usual places with 2 years' worth of road tar and break dust, it might've taken me more than an hour to complete this removal, with a sponge and happy zen mind.
Afterwards I used my/their usual shampoo routine from AG, and car looks absolutely amazing. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? ALTRINCHAM
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product - don't bother with cheaper alternatives,
June 08, 2014
By RuthC
from Derbyshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" Used this and had the tar removed from my car within 10 minutes or so. and there was quite a lot of tar!
My advice: get some cheap value supermarket dishcloths and rubber gloves or you will end up with black/brown oily hands. Take a bucket of soapy water with you to wash off any dirt first. Bigger bits will require a little elbow grease.
So pleased with the results, and worth every penny paid I think "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ILKESTON
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml,
April 30, 2014
By JB60
from Fife
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent product.
My Clio was covered in small tar spots, I mean the entire car.
As soon as the spray hit the car the tar spots could be seen dissolving. I did the glass as well as the body.
My car was on my drive while our street was being resurfaced, I think the tar spots came from the tar laying machine.
I put a sprayer pump from an old spray bottle onto the Autoglym bottle for ease of application. Do it on a dull day as it evaporates fairly quickly in the sunlight if you don't work fast. I used nearly all the bottle, if you have a big car I suggest you buy two bottles.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? KIRKCALDY
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does what it says on the tin!,
March 08, 2014
By roubiliac
from cheshire,UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" easily gets rid of tar on the paintwork. Just follow the instructions. Even the hardest tar blobs came away. You only need a drop on a cloth so it will last ages. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? MACCLESFIELD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
superb,
February 24, 2014
By detailerman
from cumbria
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: priceit works
" had tar/oil splashes on the inside of my rims that normal products wouldn't shift,coated the area with this product,left for a few mins to let it do its thing then simply washed the alloy with a wheel brush n car shampoo and rinsed.....stains gone,looks like new..done "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover,
September 30, 2013
By Online52
from Middlesbrough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this for the front of my caravan and the front and rear skirts/bumper on my Saab 9-5. Work brilliantly and both caravan and car look like new again, highly reccomended "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product,
September 23, 2013
By stevie35
from wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I have lost count of the times I have washed my cars trying to remove the small black tar marks without success. Autoglym tar remover did exactly as stated and together with the polish has returned the car to its factory finish. Would highly recommend. Only down side was that it failed to remove a certain type of tree sap. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? WREXHAM
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The business!,
July 10, 2013
By Smashbro
from Derbyshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: performance
" Tried everything to try remove tar and melted tyre off my bodywork without scratching, without success.
One wipe of this and off it come! Quick wash after and the paint is back to being smooth. Will benefit from a polish/wax after.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? MACCLESFIELD
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does the job.,
June 21, 2013
By JonnyT75
from Enfield London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the quantity
Cons: it didn't just dissolve on contact.
" I bought this one because I like many autoglym products and always get good results.....however it takes more than just one application to get the job done. Also it can take a little persistence to remove all the tar but all said and done it did do what I wanted it to do and you use less fluid than you think that was a big surprise to me. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ENFIELD
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not great on sticky stuff,
June 15, 2013
By BLAKTOOTH
from Essex
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: smell
Cons: price
" Used for removing sound deadening glue. Ok, it's not really tar so can't be too harsh but the bottle states its good for anything sticky. Took a lot of elbow grease and about 6 goes. Got it off and it doesn't stink too bad. Petrol or thinners prob would've done a better job but the smell. Happy, as always, with Halfords click and collect though. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? RAYLEIGH
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great,
June 12, 2013
By zuez1988
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Spray on, leave for a few minutes and ta-da, all the hard work is done. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spot on!,
May 24, 2013
By Glennk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Just like ronseal, does exactly wot it says on the tin! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? HEREFORD
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover,
May 24, 2013
By MJW66
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Excellent product for removing those little tar spots on the wheel arches and sills. Quick spray on the effected areas and then wash the car as normal. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NORTHWICH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml,
May 21, 2013
By pandelboy
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" works a treat good stuff,really gets old tar deposits off "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>