Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Shampoo, Polish & Wax or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml

The Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover helps get rid of tar, grease and other stains efficiently.
Average Customer Rating:
4.71 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
35 of 36(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Review 1 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Tar Remover,
June 19, 2016
By
from BHAM
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent Autoglym tar used for many years ,Far better than other tar removers ,Well Recommended cheers Shaun. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (CASTLE BROMWICH)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Autoglym Tar remover,
June 16, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
" this is a great product had got tar splats all down both sides of car from driving through a road being relaid hadn't noticed the dots for few days (car needed a wash ) got the product used a cloth and hey presto it just wipes off will always have a bottle handy now in case happens again "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brillaint Tar Remover ,,
June 05, 2016
By
from Bham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: effortless and quick
Cons: none
" Brilliant intensive tar remover from a brand name ,have used over 30 years and only ever use this brand .Tar ,grease etc removed effortless ,Well delighted with product and you can also get on 3 for 2 when Halfords have on offer .Well Recommended five stars .Cheers Shaun. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (CASTLE BROMWICH)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car time,
May 05, 2016
By
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Highly worth requiring for your paint work to be cleaned from those hard to remove .This is so easy to use with effort free. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? BOREHAMWOOD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 Stars,
March 31, 2016
By
from Loughborough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent Remover, . Very easy to clean any sticky surfaces. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product that works,
March 14, 2016
By
from Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This product has cleaned up the surfaces inside and outside of my car efficiently. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? STEVENAGE
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tar removal,
December 19, 2015
By
from uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Amazing stuff. Had tried with soapy water but could not get rid of smear. Used this on a dry cloth as it recommended, mark just wiped off with no pressure at all! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BURNLEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow!,
April 23, 2015
By
from Dumfries
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
" this product is simply excellent. My car was badly affected by tar spots on virtually every panel and was not looking forward to the chore of trying to get them off using my usual methods. Having seen reviews for this product I decided to give it a try, my only regret is not having found it much sooner! Probably took about an hour and a half to do the complete car but that was a fraction of the time I expected. Product very quickly disolves the tar and using microfibres cloths I had a smooth blemish free finish which I was delighted with. I have used many products to try and remove tar spots easily but none come close to this one. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DUMFRIES
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
April 15, 2015
By
from Redditch, Worcestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I used this to remove tape adhesive from the front of my car on the paintwork after I had covered up a broken headlight. It wouldn't budge with normal washing but as I rubbed this product on in removed it straight away.
Very impressed.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? REDDITCH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding,
April 06, 2015
By
from Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Upon washing my wife's car at the weekend was shocked to see that she unknowingly had driven through a field of tar, the sills where almost completely covered with splatter marks all the way up the doors. Having used other tar removing products in the past wasn't looking forward to the mammoth task in hand of removing the tar. Having read the reviews on this product I was sold straight away, all I can say is I wasnt disappointed the tar came off effortlessly, some reviews said you might need a bit of elbow grease which is true all I can say is your 90yrd old gran could supply the elbow grease that was needed. A quality product!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top Product!,
January 27, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Does what it says on the tin - follow the instructions and the Tar dissolves and wipes away. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ASHTON UNDER LYNE
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Removes all types of grime,
January 01, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great product, does what it says on the bottle. :) "
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does what it says,
October 28, 2014
By
from Farnham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" i removed road tar on mountain bike (don't ask#. Very effective and fast removal - dissolved easily. Thicker caked tar benefited from physical removal first #thumb nail) then solution. Nice surprise; nice result. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? FARNHAM
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
...and a tiny bit of elbow grease ;-),
July 03, 2014
By
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: end result is well worth it
Cons: took a while
" I tried this product after reading some of the reviews on here. It works - oh it works! However, it's not as instant as I thought, and from reading similar reviews I was prepared for this. I was happy with the smooth satisfying finish afterwards though - took bodywork back to factory state.
Bearing in mind it was covered in all the usual places with 2 years' worth of road tar and break dust, it might've taken me more than an hour to complete this removal, with a sponge and happy zen mind.
Afterwards I used my/their usual shampoo routine from AG, and car looks absolutely amazing. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? ALTRINCHAM
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product - don't bother with cheaper alternatives,
June 08, 2014
By
from Derbyshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" Used this and had the tar removed from my car within 10 minutes or so. and there was quite a lot of tar!
My advice: get some cheap value supermarket dishcloths and rubber gloves or you will end up with black/brown oily hands. Take a bucket of soapy water with you to wash off any dirt first. Bigger bits will require a little elbow grease.
So pleased with the results, and worth every penny paid I think "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ILKESTON
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml,
April 30, 2014
By
from Fife
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent product.
My Clio was covered in small tar spots, I mean the entire car.
As soon as the spray hit the car the tar spots could be seen dissolving. I did the glass as well as the body.
My car was on my drive while our street was being resurfaced, I think the tar spots came from the tar laying machine.
I put a sprayer pump from an old spray bottle onto the Autoglym bottle for ease of application. Do it on a dull day as it evaporates fairly quickly in the sunlight if you don't work fast. I used nearly all the bottle, if you have a big car I suggest you buy two bottles.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? KIRKCALDY
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does what it says on the tin!,
March 08, 2014
By
from cheshire,UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" easily gets rid of tar on the paintwork. Just follow the instructions. Even the hardest tar blobs came away. You only need a drop on a cloth so it will last ages. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? MACCLESFIELD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
superb,
February 24, 2014
By
from cumbria
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: priceit works
" had tar/oil splashes on the inside of my rims that normal products wouldn't shift,coated the area with this product,left for a few mins to let it do its thing then simply washed the alloy with a wheel brush n car shampoo and rinsed.....stains gone,looks like new..done "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover,
September 30, 2013
By
from Middlesbrough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this for the front of my caravan and the front and rear skirts/bumper on my Saab 9-5. Work brilliantly and both caravan and car look like new again, highly reccomended "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product,
September 23, 2013
By
from wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I have lost count of the times I have washed my cars trying to remove the small black tar marks without success. Autoglym tar remover did exactly as stated and together with the polish has returned the car to its factory finish. Would highly recommend. Only down side was that it failed to remove a certain type of tree sap. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? WREXHAM
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>