Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml

The Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover helps get rid of tar, grease and other stains efficiently.
Average Customer Rating:
4.645 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
29 of 30(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Review 1 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
...and a tiny bit of elbow grease ;-),
July 03, 2014
By Mk1FordFocusOwner
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: end result is well worth it
Cons: took a while
"I tried this product after reading some of the reviews on here. It works - oh it works! However, it's not as instant as I thought, and from reading similar reviews I was prepared for this. I was happy with the smooth satisfying finish afterwards though - took bodywork back to factory state.
Bearing in mind it was covered in all the usual places with 2 years' worth of road tar and break dust, it might've taken me more than an hour to complete this removal, with a sponge and happy zen mind.
Afterwards I used my/their usual shampoo routine from AG, and car looks absolutely amazing."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? ALTRINCHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product - don't bother with cheaper alternatives,
June 08, 2014
By RuthC
from Derbyshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Used this and had the tar removed from my car within 10 minutes or so. and there was quite a lot of tar!
My advice: get some cheap value supermarket dishcloths and rubber gloves or you will end up with black/brown oily hands. Take a bucket of soapy water with you to wash off any dirt first. Bigger bits will require a little elbow grease.
So pleased with the results, and worth every penny paid I think"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ILKESTON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml,
April 30, 2014
By JB60
from Fife
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent product.
My Clio was covered in small tar spots, I mean the entire car.
As soon as the spray hit the car the tar spots could be seen dissolving. I did the glass as well as the body.
My car was on my drive while our street was being resurfaced, I think the tar spots came from the tar laying machine.
I put a sprayer pump from an old spray bottle onto the Autoglym bottle for ease of application. Do it on a dull day as it evaporates fairly quickly in the sunlight if you don't work fast. I used nearly all the bottle, if you have a big car I suggest you buy two bottles.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? KIRKCALDY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does what it says on the tin!,
March 08, 2014
By roubiliac
from cheshire,UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"easily gets rid of tar on the paintwork. Just follow the instructions. Even the hardest tar blobs came away. You only need a drop on a cloth so it will last ages."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? MACCLESFIELD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
superb,
February 24, 2014
By detailerman
from cumbria
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: priceit works
"had tar/oil splashes on the inside of my rims that normal products wouldn't shift,coated the area with this product,left for a few mins to let it do its thing then simply washed the alloy with a wheel brush n car shampoo and rinsed.....stains gone,looks like new..done"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover,
September 30, 2013
By Online52
from Middlesbrough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this for the front of my caravan and the front and rear skirts/bumper on my Saab 9-5. Work brilliantly and both caravan and car look like new again, highly reccomended"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product,
September 23, 2013
By stevie35
from wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have lost count of the times I have washed my cars trying to remove the small black tar marks without success. Autoglym tar remover did exactly as stated and together with the polish has returned the car to its factory finish. Would highly recommend. Only down side was that it failed to remove a certain type of tree sap."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? WREXHAM
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The business!,
July 10, 2013
By Smashbro
from Derbyshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: performance
"Tried everything to try remove tar and melted tyre off my bodywork without scratching, without success.
One wipe of this and off it come! Quick wash after and the paint is back to being smooth. Will benefit from a polish/wax after.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? MACCLESFIELD
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does the job.,
June 21, 2013
By JonnyT75
from Enfield London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the quantity
Cons: it didn't just dissolve on contact.
"I bought this one because I like many autoglym products and always get good results.....however it takes more than just one application to get the job done. Also it can take a little persistence to remove all the tar but all said and done it did do what I wanted it to do and you use less fluid than you think that was a big surprise to me."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ENFIELD
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not great on sticky stuff,
June 15, 2013
By BLAKTOOTH
from Essex
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: smell
Cons: price
"Used for removing sound deadening glue. Ok, it's not really tar so can't be too harsh but the bottle states its good for anything sticky. Took a lot of elbow grease and about 6 goes. Got it off and it doesn't stink too bad. Petrol or thinners prob would've done a better job but the smell. Happy, as always, with Halfords click and collect though."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? RAYLEIGH
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great,
June 12, 2013
By zuez1988
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Spray on, leave for a few minutes and ta-da, all the hard work is done."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spot on!,
May 24, 2013
By Glennk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Just like ronseal, does exactly wot it says on the tin!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? HEREFORD
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover,
May 24, 2013
By MJW66
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Excellent product for removing those little tar spots on the wheel arches and sills. Quick spray on the effected areas and then wash the car as normal."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NORTHWICH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml,
May 21, 2013
By pandelboy
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"works a treat good stuff,really gets old tar deposits off"
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't fault it,
May 15, 2013
By iampricey
from Staffs
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: ease of use, good results
Cons: a little expensive
"I was sceptical when I bought this. I have bought similar products before which have been ineffective so have always used clay to remove tar. However with the changeable weather we have had this year I wanted a solution to remove tar that wasn't going to take half a day like clay tends to.
After seeing the reviews I took a gamble on this and the results were brilliant, tar comes off with ease after just a couple of applications and followed by a coat of good wax my arctic white paintwork was tar free and super shiny again with hours to spare from the time it takes to use clay. Brilliant compromise!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Very Best,
May 02, 2013
By Diavolo
from WestMids, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: performance, simplicity
Cons: residue can be hard to remove
"Used this many times but at the weekend had to do an entire car.
My recommendations are go steady, don't apply too much pressure and just follow the instructions.
Easier to remove the tar when its slightly warmed so if the tar is large or very hard, use some very warm water beforehand.
Sometimes a pass over with the tar remover then a few moments before allows the tar to start to break down, then successive wipes are easier.
If you;ve used a fair amount, residue can be hard to shift so recommend washing car thoroughly afterwards, maybe twice, and where possible don't use in direct sunlight or allow residue to dry for more then 10 minutes.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? REDDITCH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works on tree sap.,
April 28, 2013
By 997C2S
from Hale
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the product works
"My car was completely covered in very sticky sap. I could find nothing that would shift it. Some forums mention using wd40 or nail varnish remover. I didn't fancy using that on my paintwork so gave this a try. It requires a bit of elbow grease but works well, I trust the brand and my cars paint is back to normal."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHEADLE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did exactly what its supposed to - with little effort.,
March 19, 2013
By Albops
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use gets rid of the tar easily.
Cons: will also remove any polish so needs to be polish
"Its a little bit pricey, but in this case, you get what you pay for and a little goes a long way.
I checked a few reviews about different tar removers, and this was the best.
It takes the tar off easily, with a few rubs of a cloth, leaving a smooth, tar free, finish. It will also take any polish off, so be prepared to polish afterwards - although I suppose this would probably be the first step in a car cleaning/valeting/ detailing process.
I have used and like Autoglym products before, and this is no different - easy to use, and good quality."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Autoglym Tar Remover - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED,
March 11, 2013
By Ninh
from Leyland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, gentle on paintwork, cuts through tar easily, value for money
Cons: nothing
"EXCELLENT PRODUCT!
Cuts through almost all awful tar marks and spots on bodywork and wheels. Strong formula, gentle on paint - surprisingly easy to use and you only need a little bit. I use this to remove anything that's sticky or marked around the house too ... excellent value for money, one of the best Autoglym products out there. Buy it NOW!
See my other review of the Autoglym products. I've tried and tested them all!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PRESTON
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover 325ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Why is this getting good reviews?,
November 25, 2012
By AdamInNi
from Northern Ireland
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: nothing
Cons: it doesn't do anything
"I bought this to use on my Peugeot 106 as I decided to go on a mad cleaning spree. I don't know why this is getting such good reviews, this literally didn't do anything. I followed the instructions and nothing happened... It hasn't worked for me and it hasn't worked for my uncle who also bought it or his neighbour... Glad I bought this on sale and didn't pay full price..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
-8points
1out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>