Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Roof Boxes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Exodus 580L Roof Box Gloss Black

The Exodus 580L Roof Box Gloss Black is huge, equivalent to the size of a large estate car boot!
Average Customer Rating:
4.304 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
25
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
43 of 45(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for Exodus 580L Roof Box Gloss Black
Review 1 for Exodus 580L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Above and Beyond,
June 21, 2014
By HandiAndy
from Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire CV37, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"As the title of this review says 'Above and Beyond' what I expected from this product.
I felt I had to write a review after having read some of the comments other people had written.
We bought this roof box three years ago for a trip to Scotland because we have three dogs so have zero boot space. Originally fitted to a Subaru Forester from the outset it was filled to capacity. It wasnt a problem to fit at all. I could have lifted it onto roof on my own but im not exactly a small guy and a Steel Erector by trade so I guess two people is easier which immediatly cancels out the issue some people have in regard to attaching it to roof bars on the hinge side. (the other person helps).
I have no idea the full weight of the gear that we had stored in it but I highly suspect it exceeded the maximum recommended.
Some people seem to have problems with locking it and removing keys. Yes it could be an issue if you have it fully loaded because it restricts the three locks from all functioning and after having experienced this myself I found no issues whatsoever once rearranging the contents. I also love that you cant take the key out unless its LOCKED.
We now have it fitted on the roof of a Toyota Hilux and still have no issues with it in anyway at all. Its been stored all year on its side full of all our camping gear so is a little bit scratched and 'used' looking but is still perfectly functional. In regard to affecting fuel consumption...well its a no brainer really...its always going to make a difference because you are adding weight and wind resistance to your vehicle...live with it..
We were still getting 30 mpg on a 2000 mile round trip in our Hilux. Many many hours spent at 70mph with no issues whatsoever.In fact I totaly forget its even there. I honestly cant reccomend this enough.
10/10
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? STRATFORD UPON AVON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Exodus 580L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good quality, but locking difficult,
December 23, 2013
By Phil144
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: quality and finish
Cons: difficulty locking
"When the box is quite full it is difficult to lock. It would be easier with three separate locks."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Which Store did you visit? TRURO
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exodus 580L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Third time lucky,
November 04, 2013
By Mumtaxi
from Herefordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: size but does not look big on the car
Cons: quite costly
"After fitting I looked through sunroof to see that that the lid was cracked, the showroom one had a huge scratch on it so a third one was ordered for next day. That one is fine and very roomy. No obvious increase in fuel consumption, though slight noise when bars are fitted and not the box, but nothing to worry about."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? MALVERN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Exodus 580L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just what we needed,
August 02, 2013
By Alex21
from Stockton on Tees
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"As the family is getting bigger, packing for our holiday was becoming more challenging. So we decided on this box and I have got to say it is as described very big, yet fits on the roof of an Insignia easily. Obviously drag factor is a concern on your fuel economy, but this option is far more preferable than running an estate car all year."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Exodus 580L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with purchase,
July 23, 2013
By NotSoTinyTim
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Was extremely happy with the service at both the Alperton and Wembley stores.
Staff was very helpful and were very efficient. Answered all my questions and showed me how to take on and off the rack. Was in and out within 20minutes.
The Exodus roof rack looks reasonably sturdy and can fit three full size suitcases inside. It is aerodynamic and does not seem to add a lot to the fuel consumption (checked this as we drove 1000 miles each way into France). Definitely a much better buy than the Landrover accessory which is boxy and 50% more expensive)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WEMBLEY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exodus 580L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
July 23, 2013
By Rr38
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this in the sale. Compared to branded equivalent whilst not quite as sturdy it's still easily up to the job and half the price. Low wind noise and looks great on my discovery 4."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? MILE END ROAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exodus 580L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exodus,
July 18, 2013
By Olek
from slough
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Happy with the size and shape of roof box. Will be perfect extra storage for my trip to Europe. Bit worried about plastic holders inside the box as it doesn't look too strong. I am sure I will find out soon. Very good service on store level (store manager served me)."
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SLOUGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Exodus 580L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality product, plenty of space for your pound,
July 01, 2013
By Anonymous
from Leicester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lightweight spacious
Cons: only opens one side
"A good product with ingenious method of locking the mounts onto the roof bars. Plenty of space inside and looks really good on the outside"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (PUTNEY RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Exodus 580L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Invaluable really,
June 20, 2013
By Jon0
from Inverness
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: practicality, looks
Cons: single side opening
"I purchased the biggest and thankful for it. I used it for family camping with the missus, child and two dogs for four weekends running. We could fit all the kit we needed in it. Aero dynamically it's great. Low wind noise and no noticeable effect on mpg. Looks pretty smart to. The quick mount brackets didn't inspire confidence at first but have proven to be up to the job. Only downside i found is you need two people to secure the two mounts on the hinge side of the roof box. The exodus 580L will prove invaluable for family road trips. Well worth the investment."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Exodus 580L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value,
May 08, 2013
By SimRC
from Hampshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Taking my Labrador with me to Portugal in a dog crate leaves not a lot of room for other things so I looked at roof boxes and was quite horrified at the cost of other makes. I spotted this one on Halfords web site which is perfect. Huge volume, aerodynamic design, nice looking and lightweight. The only criticism is it feels a bit flimsy but then you have to sacrifice something for a lightweight box."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BASINGSTOKE
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Exodus 580L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Functional, practical and easy to fit (with two people!),
February 11, 2013
By flashduncan
from Warwick
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent way of securing to car
Cons: not cheap
"Really good so far, fits very securely, but does need two people to fit (I doubt you would find a 580l roofbox that doesn't take two people to fit though).
We wanted the Thule at greater cost, but were persuaded by the retail assistant that this was the easiest make to fit - he was right, and we have no regrets."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Exodus 580L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
exodus 580L roof box,
February 05, 2013
By barlyboy
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I was very impressed with the size of this roof box, but equally with the ease with which it can be fitted. I would definitely recommend this particularly at this price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exodus 580L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exedos 580 L Roof Box,
December 27, 2012
By NickG63
from Ashford Middx
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Box appears to be good. Great capacity and low cross-section.
not had much of a chance to test it properly."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exodus 580L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well worth it!,
September 11, 2012
By Beds
from Stafford, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"As a family of 5, we needed extra travel storage space for our recent camping trip and this Exodus Roof Box proved to be a life saver because without it, we would not have been able to pack all the gear into the car. Great quality, easy to access and then lock securely, and overall great value for money as it was on promotion when we bought it. A great alternative to the more expensive Thule products, and the quality was at least as good. The guy at the store fitted everything for me too, for less than 15 quid. Overall, a fantastic purchase that will serve us well for many years to come - thank you Halfords!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Exodus 580L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exodus 580L Roof Box Gloss Black,
June 24, 2012
By ashjam
from Derby
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: massive space
Cons: its very big not for a little car!
"This is big, I purchased this because we needed as much space as possible. I have seen the roof boxes on cars as we all do but nothing like this. Before you buy make sure you measure everything.
This said the thing is brilliant, the space is enormous, the build is good and looks great, because of its size/width it doesnt look like you have one of those awful grey ones located to the side, this is very wide as well as long.
Well recommended although its a very large item"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exodus 580L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Practical Load Lugger,
April 19, 2012
By MBS5
from Gloucestershire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very good practical carrier with quick fixing brackets. Due to size needs two people to lift and fit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Exodus 580L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ok purchase,
March 25, 2012
By Anonymous
from Ashford Kent
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Excellent product, confusing that there are different offers on line to in store prices.
Again product great
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Exodus 580L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Roof Box,
June 05, 2011
By Gourlay
from Newbury
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Staff very efficient and friendly. Box fitting to car was very good. However, the box itself was in poor condition, was quite badly scratched and scrapped. We initially had problems with the lock which was very stiff and wouldn't close, however, after some 'tweaking' it loosened and worked well. I would recommend the box but in our particular case I should have asked for a replacement (undamaged) box."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Exodus 580L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Roof Box,
March 08, 2011
By PaulieK
from Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easily put on/off roof, plenty of space
"We were looking for a roof box and we saw this at Halfords, we werent sure of the size to get but decided on the bigger one as we didnt want to up-size later on. We went and spoke to the guys at Halfords before and they talked through the different options. We also need the roof bars so Halfords had a great deal on for half price box when you get the roof bars. The box is fantastic! we have a dog so he now can take the boot and all of our gear, (my wifes, and my two childrens and mine) easily fits in teh roof box. It is the best purchase we have made in a long long time.
If there is a down side, it did take the guys at Halfords nearly 2 hours to fit the roof bars and box, and my wife had to ask how it is removed.
(which is really really easy!)
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Exodus 580L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exodus 580 Roof Box Gloss Black 2009,
January 18, 2011
By PeteQ12
from Hampshire England
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: looks good on vehicle
Cons: hard to fit flimsey hard to open & close by ones
"Very difficult to fit.
Very Flimsey.
Over the top even at the sale price.
Just try closing it by your self.
All in All not a good deal, Hard to fit & use but it looks quite good on the vehicle.
I feel that I should have gone to Vauxhall (my vehicle) & paid a good deal more but would have got a quality Roof Box, who knows.
No extra noise when driving & not noticed any major fuel concerns.
Will move it on after forthcoming holiday (if I can) & get a not quite so flimsey Box.
At the end of the day one only gets what one pays for. I will pay more next time.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>