Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black

The Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black is equivalent in storage space to a large car boot.
Average Customer Rating:
4.484 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(124 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (124 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
45
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
117 of 124(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
55 Questions | 73 Answers
Customer Reviews for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Review 1 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great looking box but the lock lets it down,
February 20, 2014
By Mogsy123
from Chester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The roof box looks the business and gives you lots of extra storage space but I agree with a lot of comments that the lock isn't great. Paid for halfords to fit the bars and box to ensure it was all set up properly, drove home loaded the box for a weekend away but had real problems getting the key out of the lock. Basically there are 3 locking points on the open side of the box that all need to be locked in. Even if you can hear the lock clicking open and shut the barrel will not release the key unless all 3 locking points are in place properly. When all three are in place you still have to turn the key using some force for the barrel to release the key."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (GREYHOUND PK)
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice design,
January 04, 2014
By Anonymous
from birmingham,uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this box is large, a nice design and shape and the gloss black looks so smart"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (BORDESLEY GREEN)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good box but a slight warning on the fixings,
December 30, 2013
By Dave74
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: size, style, security
Cons: fixings
"All in all this is a great value, sized and stylish roof box. It is secure with the 3 point lock and although I have seen people on here complain that you can't take the key out until it is locked..... What's the problem? Would you really want to drive off with it unsecured???.
Fitting of the box is a 2 person job and it is quick but you must be careful on the far side fixings as it is difficult getting the required pressure..... That being said it is quite easy on and off."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Completed first trip with 470L,
December 28, 2013
By KPNB
from Surret
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: professionally installed keeps luggage dry.
Cons: minorly troublesome to lock sometimes
"After spending Christmas '13 traveling with the Exodus 470L I can happily report that it worked wonderfully. The only issue I had was locking the unit after loading bags.
The unit lid closed seemingly fine without issue however I was unable to lock and remove the key. The issue was my luggage was somehow preventing the unit from fully locking. However after re-arranging the luggage I was able to properly lock the unit lid.
My luggage was transported using the unit during the awful storm of pre/post Christmas week of 2013 (very heavy rain) yet my luggage arrived dry and safe. I had enough space in the unit for 3 person's travel bags for 5 days - Great value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BYFLEET
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MR DOMENGHINI,
December 16, 2013
By dd77
from london uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'D like to give my expert review an say that it's an excellent product. Is a little bit noise once you speed up a little (100) u can hear the noise but still acceptable."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? WANDSWORTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
So nearly good,
November 04, 2013
By RevCounter
from Isle of Man
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: style, space
Cons: difficult lock, insecure fixing kit, not quick to fit
"Bought to replace the boot space, because that's where the dogs live while touring.
Took two of us an hour and a half to fit bars and then box, but once on, it's performance was almost adequate. It certainly carries all that was required of it.
Like so many other reviewers, I find the lock a nightmare: it rarely closes and locks first time. Unlike my previous Halfords box, you have to use the key: there are no clamps and you cannot remove the key unless it is locked. The poor performance of the catch and lock is a definite minus point.
However, my biggest grouse is about the supplied Quick-fit fixing kit. Quite apart from not being particularly quick and requring two people, the quality of it is appaling. They are plastic (yes, plastic) clamps on an oversize U bolt that, being way too large for the recommended Halfords bars, constantly vibrate loose. How we didn't lose one when it fell of on a national speed limit road is a mystery. May be an acceptable product with a decent fixing kit. As it is, I cannot possibly recommend this as the chance of it coming off on a motorway is too great."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LANCASTER
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just brilliant,
October 24, 2013
By Am27
from Taunton, Somerset
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Perfect accommodate all the stuff that we need when go away with our twins. Easy to install and to remove, although you do need a large space to store it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TAUNTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Welcome space,
September 13, 2013
By steveasbo
from North Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lightweight can be removed by one person, useful securing straps
Cons: none really
"Needed the extra space as the boot on my BMW 3 seies just wasn't big enough for the holiday needs of two adults and two children! Being honest I bought this particular roof box because of its height. This meant that the car and roof load were just under the cross channel ferry car height limit!
That said I have been delighted with this product, it fits very securely on the roof bars, giving the equivalent space to another boot. Due to the lightweight nature of the box, the lid is a little floppy but once closed is held securely by three catches and, as I found out, you cannot lock the lid unless all three catches are correctly aligned. There is a little wind noise at higher speeds but hardly worth mentioning. Nothing is for free and as expected it does increase the fuel consumption.
The contents of the box can be held in place by the two straps provided with the box."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good box...but,
September 12, 2013
By MrRossy
from Swindon, Wiltshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: size, style, colour
Cons: locking mechanism
"I bought the box and was very happy with the way the box looks and also the service I have received from Halford.
The only niggle I have is that the locking mechanism is difficult, it rarely closes and locks first time, I have to really work on it to get it to lock, plus you can't take the key out until its locked"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
August 10, 2013
By Stokey21
from Burton upon Trent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: frees up space in car
"Easy to fit and lots of capacity for all kinds of stuff to free up space in the interior of the car. Matches colour of the car and is exactly what I required."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BURTON ON TRENT
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent value,
August 06, 2013
By BigJohn39
from Glasgow
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great size, not heavy
Cons: back rear mount hard to reach but with help ok
"excellent value a little bit flimsy but if you are careful it will last a lifetime"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? GREENOCK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a stunner,
August 05, 2013
By Rednaleerf
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the look, good size box
"Excellent roof box and looks actually very good on car. Filled it to the top on our last journey away and so glad we purchased this size box and not the smaller type ones.
I must also say how surprised I was that it did not produce any wind noise at all and the fuel economy remained the same.
Ordered late Saturday afternoon and collected from Kidderminster store on the Sunday.
The staff were great took out to my car, unboxed, checked all ok and loaded into my car.
It was very easy to fit and remove.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exodus roof box,
August 03, 2013
By Daltonator
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Quality 2nd to none, fantastic roof box, proper value foe money. If you want a roof box you have to checkout the exodus range"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the business,
July 27, 2013
By Anonymous
from Derbyshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: just about everything
Cons: none
"Recently bought this roof box as it was on offer. Wow what a bargain, looks great, easily fitted, secure and spacious. All with a very friendly sales assistant who even helped me fit it at no extra cost. Massively recommended"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ILKESTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent service,
July 24, 2013
By Adr1an
from Manchester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I'd agree with the reviews that describe this product as feeling a little flimsy, but once fixed to the car, it's done fine so far.
However, I'd like to comment on the very high quality of the service I received for fitting of the box (and the bars) from the store I collected it from (White City Manchester). I turned up to collect on the Thursday evening; they offereed to fit it first thing Friday, which they did, no fuss and quickly. Thanks very much!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (WHITE CITY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
July 23, 2013
By Geoff994
from Salisbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: size and ability to consume holiday items
"I purchased this product almost 3 years ago and it has been brilliant.
The box is lightweight, is fitted in a few minutes to the roof bars (Halfords own brand, purchased separately) and has a huge capacity to store, luggage, beach kit, kids stuff........
Originally I looked at a smaller box, though am glad I opted for the larger capacity. We certainly fill it each time we go away.
The box closes and locks with ease, has never leaked and looks pretty good on the roof."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? ST. HELENS
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it is supposed to do.,
July 22, 2013
By RobDob
from Edinburgh
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Drove 1000 miles with the box pretty full and it did not fly open or let any rain in. The gap when open is barely wide enough to take a large suitcase. A little wriggling is needed. Locking the box with the key provided was fiddly but that may just be my box. Overall, I am pleased with the purchase."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (SEAFIELD)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
More for your cash,
July 19, 2013
By Disco72
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, did the job well
"Great roof box and quality is excellent for the price. Enough room for six of us on a weeks holiday and is big enough not to look out of place on top of a Discovery, but not too massive to store in the garage. Made not a jot of difference to the fuel economy (it is a land rover after all!) and no wind noise could be heard over our four kids!! Fitted in minutes by myself and removed even quicker. Staff really helpfull... Need I say more."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exodus 470,
July 18, 2013
By Feef
from Scottish Borders
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased this for a holiday. Cannot fault it great buy and Halfords put it on my car. Very helpful"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? GALASHIELS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality at half the price of the well known brand,
July 07, 2013
By Chesterdoggerel
from Surrey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy fit, good looking
"This box is made well and seems to be good quality at half the price of the well known brand. It was easy to fix on the roof bars and looks great."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.