Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black

The Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black is equivalent in storage space to a large car boot.
Average Customer Rating:
4.425 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(153 Reviews) 148
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (153 reviews)
5 stars
85
4 stars
59
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
4
143 of 152(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
66 Questions | 78 Answers
Customer Reviews for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Review 1 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good roofbox,
June 17, 2015
By FestieObsessed
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of installation
Cons: having to leave the key in the lock when the roof
" Easy to install and held three medium sized holdalls, a camping chair and couple of sleeping bags with space left over. Would've held more. Recommended and worth the money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
does the job,
June 13, 2015
By bizzydee
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: size, quality
Cons: fitting, assistant knowledge
" Overall we are pleased with the size and quality of the box. The only big downside is the securing mechanism. Whilst we agree it is a quick fix it is extremely difficult to attach the fittings on the none opening side. The only way to access these is to climb on the interior of the car or balance on a ladder. The fixings could do with attaching the other way up somehow. This also makes it unable to be a one person job.
The staffs knowledge including the fitter were unable to confirm if this would fit our car before we purchased. However we can confirm it will fit a vauxhall astra 56 plate.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHBOROUGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Difficult to fix on 4x4 vehicle,
June 11, 2015
By CC74
from Kent
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: appearance and noise levels
Cons: fixing issues could do with opening both sides
" Great roof box and more than enough space for family with baby. Only downside is if fixing to a 4x4 size vehicle it's very difficult to reach the far fixing u bolts to attach to roof bars as the box only opens one way. You either need a set of steps or half climb on the roof. Easy enough to fit at home with steps but not as easy (but not impossible) to take off and reattach when at holiday location unless you want to drive around with it all week empty! Other than that very impressed and very quiet on motorway with Thule wingbars. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value,
June 10, 2015
By Bon60
from Dunfermline, Dunfermline, Fife, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This product needs two people to fit but that said it is so simple to fit and remove .I was pleasantly surprised that the fuel cosumption dropped only by 5mpg on a 1000 mile journey .This is by far the best roof box that i have purchased as i was able to fit 2 large suitcases and one small . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? DUNFERMLINE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
roof box,
June 10, 2015
By gunoat
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good size
Easy to fit with 2 people
Good positive locking system. May need 2 people if full.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exodus 470l,
June 02, 2015
By RevPd
from Manchester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: looks, price, size
" I needed a box quick and had a little trouble as below but Halfords staff were good, helpful and professional. Attempt one. Reserved one for collection in Leigh but got a call from the store saying that they only had display box and that they could.get one by Monday. Glad they rung straight away as saved the journey. Attempt 2 bough a box from Bury and got it to car. Opened.the box and one of the opening brackets was snapped so it went straight back. Staff were great throughout. Third attempt was at Stockport and it was third time lucky and staff were again very helpful.
Box itself looks good for money and compared to other boxes seems a bargain. Fittings are good and simple but you do need help for the fixings on the far side. Box feels very secure on the roof. The box holds a good amount so pleased with purchase.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? STOCKPORT
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Faulty product then problem with a memeber of staff,
April 29, 2015
By Koleda
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" When making enquiries the staff could not have been more helpful, so Inplaced the order and the staff fitted it no problems. We've not used the box at all but noticed there was a crack on it. We took it back to the shop, my husband was told to go back in an hour and a half. He did so only to be told they didn't have a replacement in the store, my husband was wandering round the place for all that time, when he told the guy he ciuld have made a phone call as our number is in the system, he just said the job was passed on to him. No apology whatsoever. I am now waiting for them to contact us again and I do need this soon, so I'm hoping we don't have to wait again for it to be fitted. A reply to this would be appreciated. Thank you. "
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Easy to use and install,
April 29, 2015
By Steve659
from Billericay, Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: looks, quality
" Everything about the box is great. Easy to use, loads of space and looks great on top of the car. Taking everything off the car is easy too. You will probably need two of you to take it off though!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BASILDON (HERON RTL PRK)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decent Quality, Good Value,
April 29, 2015
By Rpkman
from Perth, Perth, Perth and Kinross, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I bought this roof box for a long weekend trip with a carload of travelers. Swallowed the excess luggage easily, as long as you do a small amount of planning and put the smaller bags to the front, where the box slopes down.
The fitments are decent quality, the box is a pleasant shiny black, and is a decent match for my black X5.
Installing the box is a bit of a pain, as it only hinges at one side, so on a tall car you need to rest on the roof to install it. Do-able though, no great shakes. Also, the brackets really need a person underneath to push them up whilst someone snaps them shut from the top, for a truly tight grip. This was recommended by the Halfords installer.
All in all, very pleased, good value. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exodus470roof box,
April 29, 2015
By Jonsey12
from Cinderford, Gloucestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Surprised about how much we could fit in the medium box. Lightweight. The internal fixation straps are really good in preventing things from rolling around. But one of the best features is how easy it is to get on and off the car. Would recommend this box for storage, ease of use,and uncomplicated fitting once shown. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poor,
April 28, 2015
By Sosdog32
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" We bought this box for camping. The first time we used it the catch came of the hinge,we took it back to halfords the bloke was great and upgraded us to a Thule 460l so decided to pay the extra 187.00 and got a Thule motion 900 unbelievable box would recommend to anyone thanks halfords "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What box?,
March 07, 2015
By John80
from Motherwell, North Lanarkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: aerodynamic, colour, quality, security, value
" Huge box with loads of room. Very good build quality. Loved the fact that it was black and seemed colour coded to my car. Great value compared to other brands with similar size. Great free fitting service too and the guys at Hamilton had it done quickly and efficiently. But the thing I'm most happy about is how unaware you are of it being fitted to the car. No wind noise or vibration at motorway speeds and very light so doesn't affect drive ability at all "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? HAMILTON
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great!,
January 27, 2015
By Thisnicknameisalreadyused
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I looked everywhere, at all brands of boxes to find one that would fit our large suitcase in, but without being massive... I was determined to find one that opened both sides, but kept coming back to the Exodus. It is everything it needs to be, spacious, sleek, well proportioned and the best out there for fitting bulky items in. Halfords were great, I took my suitcases along to two branches and they let me try them in the various boxes they had (Well, the ones they could find the keys for anyway!)
Fitted on my Qashqai ntec for free. It looks perfect, like it was made for the car tbh. Like others said, you really need an extra person to push up on the far brackets, but that's a 10 second job. I used an old towel to protect the roof when I undid the brackets as they do drop through.
Look everywhere else, then buy this - you won't be disappointed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Can fit a lot more than you think!,
January 06, 2015
By Timbum73
from Bedford, Bedford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: sturdy, soacious, quick fit, low wind nouse
Cons: difficulty engaging the locks
" Bought this as going away with the two dogs and a newborn to the other halfs parents for a week. Despite having a medium sized SUV you can imagine with everything that we needed to take plus Christmas presents it was always going to be a tight squeeze.
I was surprised at just how much we could fit into the roof box! Everything except the Xmas presents! It was really sturdy and surprisingly quiet even at motorway speeds.
I couldn't be more pleased, for the money I just can't see how the well known branded roof box is worth the extra.
The only niggle is whrn fully loaded it can be quite tricky to get the locks to engage, perseverance pays off but I'm sure Halfords could improve this part of the design. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? BEDFORD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exodus 470l roof box,
December 13, 2014
By timeout
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good product overall.
Concern over the fittings as they stand proud in the storage area and so limit the ability to put large items flat on the bottom of the box.
Seems flimsy when open but firms up when closed and appears very stable.
Locking is okay, not had a problem so long as you take time to close it properly and dont overload it. At least you cant leave it unlocked and drive without knowing it !
Single side opening makes fitting and removing a bit of a stretch and I am tall, it needs two to fit and remove, but thats fine as its a chance to safety check anyway
Budget to use more fuel - seems obvious but not only wind drag on the box but additional weight has an impact.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gloss black roof box,
September 03, 2014
By Alangrief79
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: low noise
" Great item
Easy fit
Lots of space ( same as large boot)
Very low noise ( which is a bonus that I didn't expect )
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Which Store did you visit? GALASHIELS
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says !,
September 01, 2014
By Sinny
from Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: space and looks
Cons: needs 2 people to fit but otherwise not a problem
" Overall , really pleased. We are a family of 5 plus dog so needed luggage space for a family holiday . Easy to put on the car and the fixing system is really simple but effective. After our holiday I can testify it stood up to the demands placed upon it really well. So glad we purchased it. Would recommend. The black gloss box looks so much better too. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BOLTON (MANCHESTER RD)
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Value,
August 31, 2014
By Alan1234
from Cheltenham, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: 3 point locking system
Cons: none
" I bought this box to replace my old Thule which had split. This box looks good, has more depth at the front, is quick to fit (a small set of steps is required). No problems with the locking system. No wind noise at normal motorway speeds. An excellent buy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Boating
Which Store did you visit? CHELTENHAM
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looks good and does the job.,
August 30, 2014
By CptnCaveman
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the ease of attaching it to the roof bars., looks as good as a roof box can.
Cons: only opens one side.
" I wanted a roof box that looked good as well as being able to fit the additional camping gear in. This product ticked both those boxes for me. Would have been better if it could be opened both sides. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value, best of the easily available bunch,
August 27, 2014
By Brightonme
from Brighton, The City of Brighton and Hove, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great value
Cons: bit flimsy but fine for normal use
" Spent ages researching eve. After finding this one. With the deal that includes roof rack bits I don't think it can be beaten. Like I said; spent ages looking! Only think lacking is the open both ways feature that actually would be a really great feature. It's difficult to get on/off without going up a ladder. That would be the same for any box. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? BRIGHTON
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>