Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black

The Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black is equivalent in storage space to a large car boot.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(132 Reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (132 reviews)
5 stars
76
4 stars
49
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
124 of 132(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
66 Questions | 78 Answers
Customer Reviews for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Review 1 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin!!,
August 25, 2014
By Skipboyo74
from Haverhill
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Works well, only thing that could improve it is the
Latching system when closing could be better.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? HAVERHILL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Box,
August 18, 2014
By Anonymous
from New Waltham, North East Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of fitting, good security features, travels well, not much noise from it, makes my car boot space super
"Cant fault the product. Good features on the box such as the key cannot be removed when the box is unlocked and open. 3 point locking for security. Travelled well on the car - it didnt massively affect the mpg on the car. Took a couple of suitcases and all the coats and wellies !! Flimsy when off the car but when on the bars and loaded up takes a more solid stance."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? GRIMSBY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great roofbox!,
August 12, 2014
By Digga711
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Think this has been a good purchase: strong ,secure, good looking, easy to fit, and good value. Fits in 2x large suitcases and a holdall. GB sticker aswell, that was handy as travelling to france."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exodus 470l poor quality product,
August 06, 2014
By richard2744
from Leeds
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: the quality of build
"Loading box for first time and hinge came off had not been riveted correctly. Would keep well clear of Exodus roof boxes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice looking roof box,
August 04, 2014
By BeccaS
from Scunthorpe
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Got this box on offer so am delighted with the size for what i paid. Its seems well made and does exactly what we need it to. Impressed with the gloss finish so it gives our car more style with a roof box on then just the standard grey one's. Worth the bit extra for a nice looking box."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? SCUNTHORPE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Needs 2 people to fit,
July 31, 2014
By Jamesroofbox2014
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: capacity size
Cons: 2 person job to fit
"The product is great but it's very hard to fit the roof box on your own. This is due the the bolts that are inserts around the roof bars that are locked into place inside the box.
The problem is more down to the design than the difficulty in fixing the box. With two people it easier but you still need long arms to reach into the back of the roof box to lock the bolts in place if you're reaching form the near side of the car. A stool or step ladders would be needed to operate the locking mechanism closer.
In short, find a friend to help you fit and don't rely on Halfords to fit for free unless is been planned in and booked in advance. They quoted me 5 days after buying online and collecting in store so I had to fumble through installing myself."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value,
July 29, 2014
By Jw194
from North West
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good value, good looks
Cons: fixing mechanism, fiddly lock.
"The box is solid, smart,, roomy and seems well made for what is a not particularly expensive product. There are niggles. The lock can be fiddly to engage (but you get the knack). Trickiest bit is installing it with the locking clamps. It's really difficult to apply the required pressure, especially for the ones on the hinge side Iif the box. I think I'd have preferred a simple screw mounting like some cheaper boxes. But once you get it on it' does the job, not noisy at speed either. I think you probably get what you pay for with more expensive brand names, but this will do the job fine despite the occasional niggle."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Which Store did you visit? MACCLESFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looks Smart,
May 02, 2014
By irishpads
from surrey
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: black gloss
Cons: the locks
"I bought this roof box and some bars to go with it. The roof box looks spot on, on my vectra. Looks expensive which I like!
Only problem is as others have mentioned the locks let it down. But I didn't have as much as a problem as others.Maybe from different batches?
Overall happy with this box."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great looking box but the lock lets it down,
February 20, 2014
By Mogsy123
from Chester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The roof box looks the business and gives you lots of extra storage space but I agree with a lot of comments that the lock isn't great. Paid for halfords to fit the bars and box to ensure it was all set up properly, drove home loaded the box for a weekend away but had real problems getting the key out of the lock. Basically there are 3 locking points on the open side of the box that all need to be locked in. Even if you can hear the lock clicking open and shut the barrel will not release the key unless all 3 locking points are in place properly. When all three are in place you still have to turn the key using some force for the barrel to release the key."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (GREYHOUND PK)
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice design,
January 04, 2014
By Anonymous
from birmingham,uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this box is large, a nice design and shape and the gloss black looks so smart"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (BORDESLEY GREEN)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good box but a slight warning on the fixings,
December 30, 2013
By Dave74
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: size, style, security
Cons: fixings
"All in all this is a great value, sized and stylish roof box. It is secure with the 3 point lock and although I have seen people on here complain that you can't take the key out until it is locked..... What's the problem? Would you really want to drive off with it unsecured???.
Fitting of the box is a 2 person job and it is quick but you must be careful on the far side fixings as it is difficult getting the required pressure..... That being said it is quite easy on and off."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Completed first trip with 470L,
December 28, 2013
By KPNB
from Surret
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: professionally installed keeps luggage dry.
Cons: minorly troublesome to lock sometimes
"After spending Christmas '13 traveling with the Exodus 470L I can happily report that it worked wonderfully. The only issue I had was locking the unit after loading bags.
The unit lid closed seemingly fine without issue however I was unable to lock and remove the key. The issue was my luggage was somehow preventing the unit from fully locking. However after re-arranging the luggage I was able to properly lock the unit lid.
My luggage was transported using the unit during the awful storm of pre/post Christmas week of 2013 (very heavy rain) yet my luggage arrived dry and safe. I had enough space in the unit for 3 person's travel bags for 5 days - Great value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BYFLEET
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MR DOMENGHINI,
December 16, 2013
By dd77
from london uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'D like to give my expert review an say that it's an excellent product. Is a little bit noise once you speed up a little (100) u can hear the noise but still acceptable."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? WANDSWORTH
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
So nearly good,
November 04, 2013
By RevCounter
from Isle of Man
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: style, space
Cons: difficult lock, insecure fixing kit, not quick to fit
"Bought to replace the boot space, because that's where the dogs live while touring.
Took two of us an hour and a half to fit bars and then box, but once on, it's performance was almost adequate. It certainly carries all that was required of it.
Like so many other reviewers, I find the lock a nightmare: it rarely closes and locks first time. Unlike my previous Halfords box, you have to use the key: there are no clamps and you cannot remove the key unless it is locked. The poor performance of the catch and lock is a definite minus point.
However, my biggest grouse is about the supplied Quick-fit fixing kit. Quite apart from not being particularly quick and requring two people, the quality of it is appaling. They are plastic (yes, plastic) clamps on an oversize U bolt that, being way too large for the recommended Halfords bars, constantly vibrate loose. How we didn't lose one when it fell of on a national speed limit road is a mystery. May be an acceptable product with a decent fixing kit. As it is, I cannot possibly recommend this as the chance of it coming off on a motorway is too great."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LANCASTER
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just brilliant,
October 24, 2013
By Am27
from Taunton, Somerset
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Perfect accommodate all the stuff that we need when go away with our twins. Easy to install and to remove, although you do need a large space to store it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TAUNTON
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Welcome space,
September 13, 2013
By steveasbo
from North Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lightweight can be removed by one person, useful securing straps
Cons: none really
"Needed the extra space as the boot on my BMW 3 seies just wasn't big enough for the holiday needs of two adults and two children! Being honest I bought this particular roof box because of its height. This meant that the car and roof load were just under the cross channel ferry car height limit!
That said I have been delighted with this product, it fits very securely on the roof bars, giving the equivalent space to another boot. Due to the lightweight nature of the box, the lid is a little floppy but once closed is held securely by three catches and, as I found out, you cannot lock the lid unless all three catches are correctly aligned. There is a little wind noise at higher speeds but hardly worth mentioning. Nothing is for free and as expected it does increase the fuel consumption.
The contents of the box can be held in place by the two straps provided with the box."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good box...but,
September 12, 2013
By MrRossy
from Swindon, Wiltshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: size, style, colour
Cons: locking mechanism
"I bought the box and was very happy with the way the box looks and also the service I have received from Halford.
The only niggle I have is that the locking mechanism is difficult, it rarely closes and locks first time, I have to really work on it to get it to lock, plus you can't take the key out until its locked"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
August 10, 2013
By Stokey21
from Burton upon Trent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: frees up space in car
"Easy to fit and lots of capacity for all kinds of stuff to free up space in the interior of the car. Matches colour of the car and is exactly what I required."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BURTON ON TRENT
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent value,
August 06, 2013
By BigJohn39
from Glasgow
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great size, not heavy
Cons: back rear mount hard to reach but with help ok
"excellent value a little bit flimsy but if you are careful it will last a lifetime"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? GREENOCK
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a stunner,
August 05, 2013
By Rednaleerf
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the look, good size box
"Excellent roof box and looks actually very good on car. Filled it to the top on our last journey away and so glad we purchased this size box and not the smaller type ones.
I must also say how surprised I was that it did not produce any wind noise at all and the fuel economy remained the same.
Ordered late Saturday afternoon and collected from Kidderminster store on the Sunday.
The staff were great took out to my car, unboxed, checked all ok and loaded into my car.
It was very easy to fit and remove.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>