Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black

The Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black is equivalent in storage space to a large car boot.
Average Customer Rating:
4.307 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(101 Reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (101 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
46
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
3
92 of 98(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
66 Questions | 78 Answers
Customer Reviews for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Review 1 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not a good roof box!,
January 07, 2016
By
from Nottinghamshire, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: looks nice!, good price
Cons: poor design, poor locking mechanism, very difficult to fit
" Whilst Halfords would get a 5* for customer service - (they were excellent in refunding this faulty roof box!), the roof box itself is a poorly designed product. It's a shame because it's the nicest looking of all the roof boxes I considered. The problem is that it's a wide roof box (good for space!) and therefore covers from one side of the car to the other. When fitting it - it only opens one way so you have to have either a very low car and a step ladder or ridiculously long arms and legs (I have neither). I have a tall(ish) car - an SUV. It makes it an impossible task for one person and a very difficult task for two. I ended up taking the roof bars off, fitting the box to the bars whilst on the ground on the driveway. Then lifting it all up together and fitting the bars to the roof again. Not ideal!! As it happened too, the roof box I bought had a faulty locking mechanism and I had to return it. I got a refund as the design is so poor. I'm going to spend more and buy a Thule. I should have listened to reviews and done this in the first place!! Halfords were very helpful though and refunded without question once I'd shown them the fault. Halfords get 5*. The roof box gets 1*. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? MANSFIELD
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product just about fits the bill,
December 28, 2015
By
from England, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Bought this top box this Christmas to transport presents and other essentials , but it was flimsy distorted when loaded and wouldn't lock when loaded so had to used ratchet straps to hold the top down the lid which kind of defeats the object of hassle free travelling . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? ROTHERHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend this roof box,
October 15, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: design, fixings
" This roof box is a great bit of kit when you need extra space
Good design and the fixings are very easy although bit hard to reach the furthest ones when fixing to a 4x4
The lock was a bit stiff at first but works fine after a few turns
The only downside was the delivery this is a hefty box and I was left to pull in from the doorstep myself with no help and the box was soggy and crushed and there is no internal packaging so was surprised it was not damaged
But all in all a great buy can't wait to put it to action
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loadsa room,
September 20, 2015
By
from Shropshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: spaceand build quality
Cons: price but quality proved worth it
" This roof box is a well made, useful piece of equipment that gave my passengers the relief of not having to nurse bags etc on our annual pilgrimage South Easy fixing to suitable roof bars was remarkably firm and gave me the nice warm feeling that the roof box would still be in place at the end of the journey. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roof box,
August 29, 2015
By
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" It as I expected,big can be used for lots of different things "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ENFIELD
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent roof box,
August 19, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, good value for money, increases storage space, good design
Cons: only opens one side
" Looking to increase storage space on Seat Leon for camping etc. Doubles my boot space and is easy to fit. It only opens one side and even though I am over 6 ft I find that using a collapsible step makes loading easier. Would definitely recommend this product looking for a middle of the range box as was over £100 cheaper than the Thule equivalent. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? PENZANCE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great roof box, a bit fiddly to place on the roof bars,
August 19, 2015
By
from Woking, Surrey, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good, practical roof box, tons of space, easy to open/close. Only downside is you need a volunteer to help you secure the roof box on the roof rails. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good for the price point,
August 18, 2015
By
from Preston
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: colour, lock ok
Cons: only opens from one side
" Looks good, works as described. I bought this roof box as I needed one in a rush and wanted a black one to match my car. I would give it 5 stars if it could open from both sides as it is a tricky job for one person to install as you need to build some kind of wedge to hold the U bold in place on the far side. I also added some rubber onto the bottom on the U bolts to give it a tighter fit rather than metal on metal when hooking around my roof bars. The lock seems ok and the size is very usable for 4 small weekend cases. All in all its pretty good. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Roof box,
August 18, 2015
By
from Bedfordshire
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good amount of space inside. Finding a little tough to lock at times. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? MILTON KEYNES
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks great and fitted a lot in it,
August 11, 2015
By
from maidstone
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this to drive across Europe and was very happy with it. I read some reviews about it being difficult to lock which nearly stopped me purchasing it, but I liked the the look and price so took the risk and it paid off.
The first time I loaded it, I couldnt lock it and thought id made a mistake, but its fine. When its full you just have to make sure you've pushed down all four sides and it will lock and unlock perfectly. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works as well as a fancy brand one but at a more reasonable price,
July 23, 2015
By
from Aberdeen, Aberdeen City, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: reasonable price, light weight
Cons: a bit sticky to open
" £249 still seems a bit much to pay for a simple fibreglass box, but still it's £190 cheaper than the Thule alternative so I guess you've got to call that value. It should fit fine onto any generic roof bars (these will have to be purchased in addition to the box). The attachment mechanism to the bars is pretty quick and easy, and avoids having bolts poking into the box interior to rip your luggage, unlike other roof boxes I've had. It can be a bit sticky to get open, but it's not a major issue.
It opens just with one turn of the key, there are no separate clasps, making it a bit quicker and easier than some others.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (BALNAGASK RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does the job,
July 22, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Nothing wrong with the product....does what it's intended to. However the service at the Harrogate store was appalling. Will never return "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? HARROGATE
-11points
1out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great looking Product,
July 20, 2015
By
from cork ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: gloss black looks great, good design, good service
Cons: none
" I reserved this product online. On the particular day the store was exceptionally busy, but the staff were exceptionally efficient.
Guy from Store's array where I actually picked it up from happily help me fit to my car for no charge.
Product is really good to look at the gloss black has a great finish on it.
Unbolt Clips are very clever and really quick to fit. No more bolts to tighten :-)
All in all very good product and service,
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really happy with it,
July 17, 2015
By
from Reading, Reading, Reading, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My partner and I um'd and ah'd about which roof box to get.. We almost bought a more expensive brand for less volume but decided against it.. We couldn't really justify the extra cost and it was £100 more expensive! We are a family of four and just returned from our trip away.. The box is brilliant. We had a travel cot, stroller, beach sun tent, tons of food bags and bits and bobs in it.. It is neat and tidy and stylish and from what the other half tells me is easy to install:. And he did it on his own. Well worth the money and i now have peace of mind that we can take everything we need when we go away in future. I recommend it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Storage is good, but fixings are plastic,
July 14, 2015
By
from Horley, Surrey, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: overall build quality, easy to fit onto car, lightweight
Cons: lock feels flimsy, difficult to close when the roof box is full
" Generally, pleased with this roof box. It is cheaper than the Thule boxes, however you can still purchase roof boxes online at far more competitive prices.
Overall the box is well built and has a metal cross bar at the front to keep it more rigid. My only concern is that the actual locking mechanism seems too flimsy for my liking. Also, as all three locks have to line up perfectly before you can lock the box, this is quite difficult as you have to apply pressure in three places at once, particularly when you have filled the box with luggage. It almost needs a strap or handle to pull down and fasten. "
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? REDHILL
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value but difficult to reach,
July 13, 2015
By
from Hamilton, South Lanarkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought this and got it fitted at Halfords - first class service from the Palace Grounds Hamilton staff. My only gripe is that it can be difficult to access the far reaches of the box. I'm not overly short (5'8") but I found some of the box difficult to get to, especially the tie-down straps. There is probably an easy solution to this, but overall I am happy with my purchase. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HAMILTON
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exodus 470L Roof Box,
July 12, 2015
By
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I purchased the above, having previously purchased Thule Wing Bars, from Halfords in South Ruislip. Firstly, I found the service from the young man (Josh) who installed both the bars and the box outstanding. As for the box it seemed easy to install and actually very easy to remove from my car after a recent holiday. The 'click' technology is 1000% better than the previous means of attaching boxes to cars. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? RUISLIP
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5*,
July 07, 2015
By
from Redditch, Worcestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great product, great price and the service from the local Halfords fitting it was excellent "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? REDDITCH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good roofbox,
June 17, 2015
By
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of installation
Cons: having to leave the key in the lock when the roof
" Easy to install and held three medium sized holdalls, a camping chair and couple of sleeping bags with space left over. Would've held more. Recommended and worth the money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
does the job,
June 13, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: size, quality
Cons: fitting, assistant knowledge
" Overall we are pleased with the size and quality of the box. The only big downside is the securing mechanism. Whilst we agree it is a quick fix it is extremely difficult to attach the fittings on the none opening side. The only way to access these is to climb on the interior of the car or balance on a ladder. The fixings could do with attaching the other way up somehow. This also makes it unable to be a one person job.
The staffs knowledge including the fitter were unable to confirm if this would fit our car before we purchased. However we can confirm it will fit a vauxhall astra 56 plate.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHBOROUGH
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>