Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black

The Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black is equivalent in storage space to a large car boot.
Average Customer Rating:
4.41 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(161 Reviews) 156
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (161 reviews)
5 stars
89
4 stars
62
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
5
150 of 159(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
66 Questions | 78 Answers
Customer Reviews for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Review 1 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works as well as a fancy brand one but at a more reasonable price,
July 23, 2015
By rbgo
from Aberdeen, Aberdeen City, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: reasonable price, light weight
Cons: a bit sticky to open
" £249 still seems a bit much to pay for a simple fibreglass box, but still it's £190 cheaper than the Thule alternative so I guess you've got to call that value. It should fit fine onto any generic roof bars (these will have to be purchased in addition to the box). The attachment mechanism to the bars is pretty quick and easy, and avoids having bolts poking into the box interior to rip your luggage, unlike other roof boxes I've had. It can be a bit sticky to get open, but it's not a major issue.
It opens just with one turn of the key, there are no separate clasps, making it a bit quicker and easier than some others.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (BALNAGASK RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does the job,
July 22, 2015
By Jdjsksks
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Nothing wrong with the product....does what it's intended to. However the service at the Harrogate store was appalling. Will never return "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? HARROGATE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great looking Product,
July 20, 2015
By kevg76
from cork ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: gloss black looks great, good design, good service
Cons: none
" I reserved this product online. On the particular day the store was exceptionally busy, but the staff were exceptionally efficient.
Guy from Store's array where I actually picked it up from happily help me fit to my car for no charge.
Product is really good to look at the gloss black has a great finish on it.
Unbolt Clips are very clever and really quick to fit. No more bolts to tighten :-)
All in all very good product and service,
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really happy with it,
July 17, 2015
By Anonymous
from Reading, Reading, Reading, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My partner and I um'd and ah'd about which roof box to get.. We almost bought a more expensive brand for less volume but decided against it.. We couldn't really justify the extra cost and it was £100 more expensive! We are a family of four and just returned from our trip away.. The box is brilliant. We had a travel cot, stroller, beach sun tent, tons of food bags and bits and bobs in it.. It is neat and tidy and stylish and from what the other half tells me is easy to install:. And he did it on his own. Well worth the money and i now have peace of mind that we can take everything we need when we go away in future. I recommend it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Storage is good, but fixings are plastic,
July 14, 2015
By TappinCheeky
from Horley, Surrey, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: overall build quality, easy to fit onto car, lightweight
Cons: lock feels flimsy, difficult to close when the roof box is full
" Generally, pleased with this roof box. It is cheaper than the Thule boxes, however you can still purchase roof boxes online at far more competitive prices.
Overall the box is well built and has a metal cross bar at the front to keep it more rigid. My only concern is that the actual locking mechanism seems too flimsy for my liking. Also, as all three locks have to line up perfectly before you can lock the box, this is quite difficult as you have to apply pressure in three places at once, particularly when you have filled the box with luggage. It almost needs a strap or handle to pull down and fasten. "
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? REDHILL
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value but difficult to reach,
July 13, 2015
By KENB72
from Hamilton, South Lanarkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought this and got it fitted at Halfords - first class service from the Palace Grounds Hamilton staff. My only gripe is that it can be difficult to access the far reaches of the box. I'm not overly short (5'8") but I found some of the box difficult to get to, especially the tie-down straps. There is probably an easy solution to this, but overall I am happy with my purchase. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HAMILTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exodus 470L Roof Box,
July 12, 2015
By Maccoise
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I purchased the above, having previously purchased Thule Wing Bars, from Halfords in South Ruislip. Firstly, I found the service from the young man (Josh) who installed both the bars and the box outstanding. As for the box it seemed easy to install and actually very easy to remove from my car after a recent holiday. The 'click' technology is 1000% better than the previous means of attaching boxes to cars. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? RUISLIP
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5*,
July 07, 2015
By Ph0en1x
from Redditch, Worcestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great product, great price and the service from the local Halfords fitting it was excellent "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? REDDITCH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good roofbox,
June 17, 2015
By FestieObsessed
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of installation
Cons: having to leave the key in the lock when the roof
" Easy to install and held three medium sized holdalls, a camping chair and couple of sleeping bags with space left over. Would've held more. Recommended and worth the money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
does the job,
June 13, 2015
By bizzydee
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: size, quality
Cons: fitting, assistant knowledge
" Overall we are pleased with the size and quality of the box. The only big downside is the securing mechanism. Whilst we agree it is a quick fix it is extremely difficult to attach the fittings on the none opening side. The only way to access these is to climb on the interior of the car or balance on a ladder. The fixings could do with attaching the other way up somehow. This also makes it unable to be a one person job.
The staffs knowledge including the fitter were unable to confirm if this would fit our car before we purchased. However we can confirm it will fit a vauxhall astra 56 plate.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHBOROUGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Difficult to fix on 4x4 vehicle,
June 11, 2015
By CC74
from Kent
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: appearance and noise levels
Cons: fixing issues could do with opening both sides
" Great roof box and more than enough space for family with baby. Only downside is if fixing to a 4x4 size vehicle it's very difficult to reach the far fixing u bolts to attach to roof bars as the box only opens one way. You either need a set of steps or half climb on the roof. Easy enough to fit at home with steps but not as easy (but not impossible) to take off and reattach when at holiday location unless you want to drive around with it all week empty! Other than that very impressed and very quiet on motorway with Thule wingbars. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value,
June 10, 2015
By Bon60
from Dunfermline, Dunfermline, Fife, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This product needs two people to fit but that said it is so simple to fit and remove .I was pleasantly surprised that the fuel cosumption dropped only by 5mpg on a 1000 mile journey .This is by far the best roof box that i have purchased as i was able to fit 2 large suitcases and one small . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? DUNFERMLINE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
roof box,
June 10, 2015
By gunoat
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good size
Easy to fit with 2 people
Good positive locking system. May need 2 people if full.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exodus 470l,
June 02, 2015
By RevPd
from Manchester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: looks, price, size
" I needed a box quick and had a little trouble as below but Halfords staff were good, helpful and professional. Attempt one. Reserved one for collection in Leigh but got a call from the store saying that they only had display box and that they could.get one by Monday. Glad they rung straight away as saved the journey. Attempt 2 bough a box from Bury and got it to car. Opened.the box and one of the opening brackets was snapped so it went straight back. Staff were great throughout. Third attempt was at Stockport and it was third time lucky and staff were again very helpful.
Box itself looks good for money and compared to other boxes seems a bargain. Fittings are good and simple but you do need help for the fixings on the far side. Box feels very secure on the roof. The box holds a good amount so pleased with purchase.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? STOCKPORT
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Faulty product then problem with a memeber of staff,
April 29, 2015
By Koleda
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" When making enquiries the staff could not have been more helpful, so Inplaced the order and the staff fitted it no problems. We've not used the box at all but noticed there was a crack on it. We took it back to the shop, my husband was told to go back in an hour and a half. He did so only to be told they didn't have a replacement in the store, my husband was wandering round the place for all that time, when he told the guy he ciuld have made a phone call as our number is in the system, he just said the job was passed on to him. No apology whatsoever. I am now waiting for them to contact us again and I do need this soon, so I'm hoping we don't have to wait again for it to be fitted. A reply to this would be appreciated. Thank you. "
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Easy to use and install,
April 29, 2015
By Steve659
from Billericay, Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: looks, quality
" Everything about the box is great. Easy to use, loads of space and looks great on top of the car. Taking everything off the car is easy too. You will probably need two of you to take it off though!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BASILDON (HERON RTL PRK)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decent Quality, Good Value,
April 29, 2015
By Rpkman
from Perth, Perth, Perth and Kinross, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I bought this roof box for a long weekend trip with a carload of travelers. Swallowed the excess luggage easily, as long as you do a small amount of planning and put the smaller bags to the front, where the box slopes down.
The fitments are decent quality, the box is a pleasant shiny black, and is a decent match for my black X5.
Installing the box is a bit of a pain, as it only hinges at one side, so on a tall car you need to rest on the roof to install it. Do-able though, no great shakes. Also, the brackets really need a person underneath to push them up whilst someone snaps them shut from the top, for a truly tight grip. This was recommended by the Halfords installer.
All in all, very pleased, good value. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exodus470roof box,
April 29, 2015
By Jonsey12
from Cinderford, Gloucestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Surprised about how much we could fit in the medium box. Lightweight. The internal fixation straps are really good in preventing things from rolling around. But one of the best features is how easy it is to get on and off the car. Would recommend this box for storage, ease of use,and uncomplicated fitting once shown. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poor,
April 28, 2015
By Sosdog32
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" We bought this box for camping. The first time we used it the catch came of the hinge,we took it back to halfords the bloke was great and upgraded us to a Thule 460l so decided to pay the extra 187.00 and got a Thule motion 900 unbelievable box would recommend to anyone thanks halfords "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What box?,
March 07, 2015
By John80
from Motherwell, North Lanarkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: aerodynamic, colour, quality, security, value
" Huge box with loads of room. Very good build quality. Loved the fact that it was black and seemed colour coded to my car. Great value compared to other brands with similar size. Great free fitting service too and the guys at Hamilton had it done quickly and efficiently. But the thing I'm most happy about is how unaware you are of it being fitted to the car. No wind noise or vibration at motorway speeds and very light so doesn't affect drive ability at all "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? HAMILTON
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>