Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black

The Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black is equivalent in storage space to a large car boot.
Average Customer Rating:
4.276 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(116 Reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (116 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
50
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
4
105 of 113(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
66 Questions | 78 Answers
Customer Reviews for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Review 1 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exodus 470 l black gloss roof box,
July 08, 2016
By
from Coventry, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I bought this box to go on my freelander 2 for when we go camping. I was amazed at how much you can fit into it. I bought the Thule square roof bars for it to fit onto and when I've clicked all the fittings into place it doesn't budge an inch. I've been through the worst rain and it was as dry as a bone inside.Can be a bit tricky locking it if you haven't closed it evenly but that can only be a good thing as you at least know the top won't open when your going along. Would definitely recommend for the money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY (FOLESHILL RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great added storage.,
July 03, 2016
By
from Hampshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This is a fab roofbox! I've read negative reviews about the quick fit click system but I found it very sturdy, the box didn't move at all and we done a 180 mile round trip. Stuck at 70mph most of the way and managed 47mpg. Which is pretty good seeing though we had the car fully packed up for a camping trip. The locking of the box is a bit tricky if you haven't made sure the bigger higher stuff isn't in the middle of the box and it's probably easier to fit it with 2 people as its a little fiddly to keep the bolts in place whilst clicking the fixings in place on the hinged side but it's not the hardest thing in the world. Very happy with this roofbox! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Features,
June 26, 2016
By
from St Austell
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Good quality and mostly easy to fit. I have purchased Whisper roof bars due to the ease of use and the are slightly wider than normal roof bars and a different shape as they are really quiet and aerodynamic. Therefore the fittings for the roof box are harder to fit and if they had been just a little bit longer it would have been so easy.
Had to remove my aerial from my car which is a little annoying.
I really like the black gloss finish and in my opinion is so much better than the grey. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ST. AUSTELL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roof box fitting,
June 03, 2016
By
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: shape & style
" Easy to operate, well fitted and looks good on the car "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good box terrible customer service,
June 01, 2016
By
from Crewe, Cheshire East, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good box
Cons: terrible customer service
" I reserved this online to collect from Congleton store got there to collect ooh sorry mate its out of stock but you can get one from Macclesfield so I pointed out it was showing in stock when I reserved it he said oh that will be the one up there then pointing to the one on display. So anyway off we trudge to Macclesfield which fortunately isn't to far but its not the point we get there its brought out from the back dumped in front of me and I had to ask for a lift to the car and me stupidly thinking he will give me a lift up with it on the roof but no that didn't happen and yes I know I didn't pay the £15 fitting fee but I didn't want it fitting just a lift up.
Yes the box is great and if I could have got a similar one elswhere I would have but never mind.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? MACCLESFIELD
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good box,poor fittings,
May 30, 2016
By
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: three-point lock, sprung arms to hold lid open
Cons: roof bar fittings gimmicky and loose
" The box is undoubtedly an improvement on the trusty old Halfords box I had for years, but the 'EasySnap' fixings would be better named 'EasySlide'. No matter how hard I try, I can't get the fittings tight enough on the U bolts to make a firm grip on the roofbars. Combine that with the sliding adjustment arrangement for the position of the rear fixings and I'm not convinced the box is held securely on the roofbars at all. I much preferred the old U bolt and hand-tightened thumbwheels method, but I really don't want to spend another £25 on the Halfords replacement fittings set just to go back to a system that worked! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WORKINGTON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This box was new and faulty,
May 25, 2016
By
from Irvinestown, Enniskillen, Fermanagh BT94, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" I collected this New Exodus box from Omagh, 18 miles away from where I live. Payment by debit card was refused twice due to faulty terminal, used another terminal and payment was approved. I brought this big box on my own to my home, I only received help with taking it into my car. Next day I opened this huge box and I couldn't open it. Lock is faulty and doesn't want to open.I had to contact Hallfords and wait another few days and Im due to collect a replacement and I hope that it will be working and opening without any issues.I also have to point out that delivered box to Hallfords in Omagh was poorly packed with damaged signs outside the package.It should be checked prior to sending that out to Omagh and well packed and securely packed/delivered.I will never ever buy anything at Hallfords due to this experience cause I have to travel all the way to Omagh just because this box is faulty and was not even checked and I have to pay travel out of my own packet.I feel very dissapointed about this purchase and if's made by Thule I'm afraid of what Thule is like. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? OMAGH
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Huge capacity - pain to fit,
May 13, 2016
By
from Manchester, Manchester, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" We use this on our Freelander 2 with factory fit roof bars (made by Thule I think), it swallows the porch awning and groundsheet with room to spare. Fairly solid build quality, doesn't leak, and single point locking. And at the price good value for money.
The drawback - it really is impossible to fit when the roof bars are on the car, I actually put the wife inside the box when on top of the car, so she could operate the far fittings. Next time I will fit it to the bars and hope to fit to the roof rails as a complete assembly - it will be heavy, awkward and above twin glass sun roofs.
Gill (long suffering spouse) is only 5'10" and 7st 4lb, so not the best for fitting things on top of a Land Rover.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHPORT
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy box,
May 12, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Big enough for a family of 4 with a hatch back car. Good quality for the price.. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Roof box,
May 09, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: shape and style
Cons: fixings seem very flimsy
" Great roof box and at a good price from halfords.
Only reason for not giving full score is that the fixings seam to be very flimsy and didn't inspire confidence when I locked them in position it was a constant worry when going down the motorway.
I suppose the test of time will be the only answer on this
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good but not excellent,
May 06, 2016
By
from Somercotes, Alfreton, Derbyshire DE55, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the size of the box
Cons: locking can be tricky
" Happy with the purchase although the roof box was not as sturdy as I expected it to be. It is a bit flimsy but this is reflected in the price. That said there is plenty of room and it easily holds our 2 large cases. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON IN ASHFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Made by THULE,
March 30, 2016
By
from Launceston
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: quality, can order good old metal thumb screw fixings, great black base for business name
Cons: not keen on plastic easy snap kit
" Bet you didn't know that the Exodus box is made by THULE, for Halfords.
Great box, solid.
Comes with quick "easy snap" kit that I don't like, BUT you can order an old type metal large thumb screw kit if you want peace of mind. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BODMIN
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best looking roof box made by a premium manufacturer for half the price!,
March 10, 2016
By
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: looks, materials, build quality, ease of use, 3 point locking, made by thule (for halfords), quiet, fuel efficient
Cons: could be double sided (nor really a problem), could have quicker fixings (not really a problem), could do with a storage bag (not really a problem)
" Having read lots of reviews on here I decided to ignore them all! Plus I had a chance to borrow the product prior to my purchase.
To start with, those saying the quality was poor so they went with Thule... Well, Thule made this box, it is identical in it's structure to a Thule box it's replacing, which was too small. I'm guessing they got a Thule box, realised this and decided not to update their review. Or they didn't want to digest the cost and went with something inferior by design.
Yes, it does only open from one side, but this doesn't really make it any more tricky to fit and I certainly managed on my own with no trouble. Once on the roof it really doesn't matter if it opens single or double sided. If you are struggling to fit it just attach it to the bars first then drop it in place. It's one of the lightest boxes on the market making it very easy to handle.
It's large and strong. I can't see how people are managing to "deform" them other than the fact they've most likely overloaded them and tried to force it shut or exceeded the weight capacity. I've had no trouble. If you're planning on exceeding the weight limit then you'll probably be best puting some thin 9mm ply as a base to spread the load more evenly. But remember nearly all domestic market roof bars are rated to 75kg maximum. This weighs 15kg leaving 60kg of load. I'm not sure why Thule advertise their version of this box as 75kg load when effectively it's an identical product and they're not taking in to account the weight of the box itself.
It's a good hard wearing plastic, I bought this mainly because I borrowed one from a friend who'd had theirs for a number of years and it's had some serious use. But still looks to be in great condition with only minor scuffs from storage. Many roof boxes fade or become brittle and crack, this doesn't.
And it looks great! better than anything out there sub £800. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? TONBRIDGE
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Big box,
February 22, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Its big !!! This comes in a BIG BOX makes sure you either decide to either put it on the roof or that you have a boot big enough "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good,
February 22, 2016
By
from uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" easy to fit seems to be able to have enough room so yeah its a good product "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not a good roof box!,
January 07, 2016
By
from Nottinghamshire, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: looks nice!, good price
Cons: poor design, poor locking mechanism, very difficult to fit
" Whilst Halfords would get a 5* for customer service - (they were excellent in refunding this faulty roof box!), the roof box itself is a poorly designed product. It's a shame because it's the nicest looking of all the roof boxes I considered. The problem is that it's a wide roof box (good for space!) and therefore covers from one side of the car to the other. When fitting it - it only opens one way so you have to have either a very low car and a step ladder or ridiculously long arms and legs (I have neither). I have a tall(ish) car - an SUV. It makes it an impossible task for one person and a very difficult task for two. I ended up taking the roof bars off, fitting the box to the bars whilst on the ground on the driveway. Then lifting it all up together and fitting the bars to the roof again. Not ideal!! As it happened too, the roof box I bought had a faulty locking mechanism and I had to return it. I got a refund as the design is so poor. I'm going to spend more and buy a Thule. I should have listened to reviews and done this in the first place!! Halfords were very helpful though and refunded without question once I'd shown them the fault. Halfords get 5*. The roof box gets 1*. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? MANSFIELD
-11points
1out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product just about fits the bill,
December 28, 2015
By
from England, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Bought this top box this Christmas to transport presents and other essentials , but it was flimsy distorted when loaded and wouldn't lock when loaded so had to used ratchet straps to hold the top down the lid which kind of defeats the object of hassle free travelling . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? ROTHERHAM
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend this roof box,
October 15, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: design, fixings
" This roof box is a great bit of kit when you need extra space
Good design and the fixings are very easy although bit hard to reach the furthest ones when fixing to a 4x4
The lock was a bit stiff at first but works fine after a few turns
The only downside was the delivery this is a hefty box and I was left to pull in from the doorstep myself with no help and the box was soggy and crushed and there is no internal packaging so was surprised it was not damaged
But all in all a great buy can't wait to put it to action
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loadsa room,
September 20, 2015
By
from Shropshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: spaceand build quality
Cons: price but quality proved worth it
" This roof box is a well made, useful piece of equipment that gave my passengers the relief of not having to nurse bags etc on our annual pilgrimage South Easy fixing to suitable roof bars was remarkably firm and gave me the nice warm feeling that the roof box would still be in place at the end of the journey. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Gloss Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roof box,
August 29, 2015
By
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" It as I expected,big can be used for lots of different things "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ENFIELD
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>