Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge

The BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge is tough enough for masses of endless pumping.
Average Customer Rating:
4.81 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
41 of 42(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Review 1 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to pump up to a high pressure,
September 13, 2014
By MikeMikeMike
from Petersfield, Petersfield, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: auto adjusts to fit schrader and presta valves
"I had a cheap track pump that struggled to get above 60psi, this one made the job easy and there is no faffing around with the head for use on Presta or Schrader valves.
All for a reasonable price.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HAVANT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Strong pump,
August 01, 2014
By SuperB123
from West Lothian, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: handles the higher pressure no probs
"Having just blown up my previous track pump trying to get my new tyres up to 140 psi i wanted one which would handle the pressure.
This one got them there without any problem!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LIVINGSTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
July 29, 2014
By raggit
from Ramsgate, Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Solid, well made easy to use, and a good price for what it is pumped my tires up to 110 psi with no problems. Great service from Halfords all in all a happy customer."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MARGATE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance Track Bike Pump,
May 18, 2014
By Blackpool27
from Blackpool
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: feels solid., easy to use.
Cons: non so far.
"I have been looking at various reviews for a track pump for some time as I have it difficult to inflate my road bike tyres to the correct PSI with the hand pump.
I bought this yesterday and found it very easy to get it to correct PSI, 4 pumps. Feels solid and had no issues with the valve connection. The saleman told me they usr this themselves so that good enough for me. Happy so far.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great pump at a great price,
April 16, 2014
By bobby759
from Wolverhampton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality and solid feel
"Struggled to inflate the flat tyres on my road bike to 100psi so needed a decent quality track pump. The valve connector is easy and with just a few pushes it was at the correct level. I like the solid metal body and the dial gauge is at the top of the pump and easy to read. I wasn't able to get both feet on it and use the pump as I felt a little off balance but that could just be me, overall it's a great pump for the money and I don't think spending another £20 would get you anything better."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WOLVERHAMPTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing pump,
March 21, 2014
By Jackstheroad
from United Kingdom
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality of finish, practicality
"Well worth spending the extra money on a good pump been through 5 cheep pumps over a year decided to buy this less effort is required and every thing on it is of good quality really like the metal base to very good effect"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HEMEL HEMPSTEAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bikehut Track Pump,
January 03, 2014
By Swik
from Cambridgeshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had one for over 3 years and it has been excellent. When my Ironman athlete son (seriously) broke his Joe Blow he borrowed mine and said it was better so I bought him one for Xmas"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HUNTINGDON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product,
July 30, 2013
By Ninjajo
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This pump is great, I bought a cheaper one elsewhere and it seemed to take a lot of effort to pump up my tyres. This pump requires a lot less effort. It fits more than one valve type too. All in all a good product for the money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality product that does what it says on the tin!!!,
July 16, 2013
By Nightbeat9
from Wigan
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: smooth operation, decent price being a british cycling member, ease of use
"I bought a cheaper copy of a track pump and it was a total waste of money , the connector wouldnt stay on the valve , and there was more air escaping as ||I tried to pump than actually went in the tyre!!! This pump is brilliant , it has a smart connection with one adaptor that does all types of tyre valve . I have no problem getting my road bike tyres upto 120 psi with this pump , so all in all id say a good buy , I noticed one being used in a Halfords shop so as far as im concerned its good enough for using at home."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High quality. Highly recommended.,
June 30, 2013
By Kas100000
from Nuneaton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
Cons: nothing
"Very little effort required for 100 psi in my racing tyres. Connects to valve with ease. Buy one!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NUNEATON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10yrs in, this pump has only just gone wrong...,
May 20, 2013
By munkfish
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: solid build quality, smooth pump action
Cons: hosing tends to crack up after 10yrs(!), plastic pressure guage is prone to breakage
"I've owned one of these track pumps for 10 years now and would recommend it to anyone who wants a good quality / no fuss / does what it says on the tin type of pump. ;)
Not a lot to say about the 'action' of the pump, it just does the job and does it very well. Very smooth pump action, takes hardly any effort to pump any kind of nozzle (Schrader or Presta, bike or car).
The build quality of the pump is excellent, steel footplate (which is slightly rust prone although if you keep it out of the damp and treat it with a little gt85 now and then, it's fine), aluminium 'down tube' (which is screwed solidly into place into the footplate with hex bolts), good quality/comfortable rubberized handle, very smooth piston action and a plastic pressure gauge with an adjustable bezel (so you can set your target pressure etc).
The downsides are 2 fold:
First is the rubber hosing which is prone to cracking. To store the pump, you 'run' the hose around a hook at the bottom near the foot plate and then 'snap' the nozzle/head into a 'clip' near the pressure gauge). The point at which the hose is bent around the hook tends to start cracking over time.
However secondly - and worst of all - is regards where the hose attaches to the pressure gauge - at this point the pressure of the air being force through the hose appears to have made the hose crack up to the point at which air escapes.
In an attempt to fix this, I thought I could just cut off the cracked hosing and refit the hose onto the pressure gauge - unfortunately though the nozzle / n ipple that the hose attaches to the pressure gauge sheared off when I tried to detach the hose, which has more or less rendered the pump unusable now.
Still, in actual fact I've just purchased another one - after all, this is 10yrs on so I would expect the hosing to start to go after that period. And given the overall build quality of the pump is excellent, I figured if I had a second one then I could always cannibalize one to fix up the other if/when the new one goes (hopefully not for another 10yrs though!).
All in all I would highly recommend this pump. Probably drop a star on value since it's not completely cheap as chips, but then again you can pay a lot more for track pumps and I'm sure a lot of those will be worse than this pump... so make of that what you will..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good piece of kit,
April 23, 2013
By Newrider50
from East Anglia
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: high easy to see pressure gauge, 2 in 1 head for valves
Cons: none as yet
"Works very well and feels sturdy. I wanted a pump that I could use regularly and that would last. I check my road bike tyres before each ride (2-4 times a week). It easily gets them up to 120psi. Nice high easy to read pressure gauge. I have used it on my MTB as well. Its nice that it fits both valve sizes with the 1 special head, so you don’t have to mess about using adaptors or taking the head apart when switching between the 2.
Yes there are cheaper out there, but I spent a bit more to go with a brand that I hope will last. Only time will tell.
Very pleased so far with no probs. Only 4 stars for now, due to not knowing how long it will last.
The reserve and collect in store was excellent as normal.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EAST DEREHAM
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Chose Joe Blow instead,
April 16, 2013
By OzzBorn60
from Hockliffe
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: joe blow
"on recomendation from the HalfordsMechanic I went for the Joe Blow pump and it feels better made and has enough puff!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? LEIGHTON BUZZARD
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike Pump,
April 14, 2013
By Greigy21
from Harlow Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"An excellent product easy to use and has a removable rubber grub to allow use for car valves. Brilliant clear pressure gauge with adjustable target needle to allow you to stop at the correct psi/bar for your tyre once you've set it. Lightweight easy to store yet sturdy and durable. Happy Cycling Folks xx"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HARLOW
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value,
April 11, 2013
By tonto989
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Seems Very good. Only time will tell if it lasts. Pumps up to 130psi easy.."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product at competitive price,
April 11, 2013
By Mazneed
from chester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had been looking for a pump for a while, searching the Internet and I decided to go into the local store to see what was on offer. Liked what I saw but couldn't carry home so ordered on line - which was actually cheaper. when I picked it up the assistant told me it was the one used in store. My husband has just used it for the first time and is delighted with both the speed and ease of use"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great pump,
April 07, 2013
By AlynH
from Newbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: long nozzle
"Works well with the schrader and presta valves and has good build quality, big gauge and a long tube which makes it very practical."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NEWBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent!,
March 17, 2013
By Raiyat
from Uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Looking for a bike pump ? Look no further ! Excellent is the only way to describe this one .....strong! Sturdy! And built to last ! And most impressive is the speed at which this works to inflate tyres ... Highly Recomended !!!!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WOLVERHAMPTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality pump,
March 10, 2013
By Emessem
from Cumbria, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: simple and easy to use
"Does exactly what it's supposed to quicker, easier and smoother than expected"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? KENDAL
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Go for it!!,
March 07, 2013
By Chrislad
from Keighley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: magic head
Cons: none as yet
"Really glad i got this pump, i wanted a good solid pump so started looking at the brand names but found that this pump seemed better qaulity than even more expensive ones! Also it has a magic head unlike alot of others, it means the same head fits both valve types without having to change the head round! Also halfords reserve online and collect and pay in store is brilliant, i even got a discount for doing this! Top marks halfords!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? KEIGHLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>