Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Pumps & Puncture Repair or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge

The BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge is completely robust made of steal and titanium making it tough enough for masses of endless pumping.
Average Customer Rating:
4.811 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
36 of 37(97%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Review 1 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing pump,
March 21, 2014
By Jackstheroad
from United Kingdom
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality of finish, practicality
"Well worth spending the extra money on a good pump been through 5 cheep pumps over a year decided to buy this less effort is required and every thing on it is of good quality really like the metal base to very good effect"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HEMEL HEMPSTEAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bikehut Track Pump,
January 03, 2014
By Swik
from Cambridgeshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had one for over 3 years and it has been excellent. When my Ironman athlete son (seriously) broke his Joe Blow he borrowed mine and said it was better so I bought him one for Xmas"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HUNTINGDON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product,
July 30, 2013
By Ninjajo
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This pump is great, I bought a cheaper one elsewhere and it seemed to take a lot of effort to pump up my tyres. This pump requires a lot less effort. It fits more than one valve type too. All in all a good product for the money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality product that does what it says on the tin!!!,
July 16, 2013
By Nightbeat9
from Wigan
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: smooth operation, decent price being a british cycling member, ease of use
"I bought a cheaper copy of a track pump and it was a total waste of money , the connector wouldnt stay on the valve , and there was more air escaping as ||I tried to pump than actually went in the tyre!!! This pump is brilliant , it has a smart connection with one adaptor that does all types of tyre valve . I have no problem getting my road bike tyres upto 120 psi with this pump , so all in all id say a good buy , I noticed one being used in a Halfords shop so as far as im concerned its good enough for using at home."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High quality. Highly recommended.,
June 30, 2013
By Kas100000
from Nuneaton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
Cons: nothing
"Very little effort required for 100 psi in my racing tyres. Connects to valve with ease. Buy one!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NUNEATON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10yrs in, this pump has only just gone wrong...,
May 20, 2013
By munkfish
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: solid build quality, smooth pump action
Cons: hosing tends to crack up after 10yrs(!), plastic pressure guage is prone to breakage
"I've owned one of these track pumps for 10 years now and would recommend it to anyone who wants a good quality / no fuss / does what it says on the tin type of pump. ;)
Not a lot to say about the 'action' of the pump, it just does the job and does it very well. Very smooth pump action, takes hardly any effort to pump any kind of nozzle (Schrader or Presta, bike or car).
The build quality of the pump is excellent, steel footplate (which is slightly rust prone although if you keep it out of the damp and treat it with a little gt85 now and then, it's fine), aluminium 'down tube' (which is screwed solidly into place into the footplate with hex bolts), good quality/comfortable rubberized handle, very smooth piston action and a plastic pressure gauge with an adjustable bezel (so you can set your target pressure etc).
The downsides are 2 fold:
First is the rubber hosing which is prone to cracking. To store the pump, you 'run' the hose around a hook at the bottom near the foot plate and then 'snap' the nozzle/head into a 'clip' near the pressure gauge). The point at which the hose is bent around the hook tends to start cracking over time.
However secondly - and worst of all - is regards where the hose attaches to the pressure gauge - at this point the pressure of the air being force through the hose appears to have made the hose crack up to the point at which air escapes.
In an attempt to fix this, I thought I could just cut off the cracked hosing and refit the hose onto the pressure gauge - unfortunately though the nozzle / n ipple that the hose attaches to the pressure gauge sheared off when I tried to detach the hose, which has more or less rendered the pump unusable now.
Still, in actual fact I've just purchased another one - after all, this is 10yrs on so I would expect the hosing to start to go after that period. And given the overall build quality of the pump is excellent, I figured if I had a second one then I could always cannibalize one to fix up the other if/when the new one goes (hopefully not for another 10yrs though!).
All in all I would highly recommend this pump. Probably drop a star on value since it's not completely cheap as chips, but then again you can pay a lot more for track pumps and I'm sure a lot of those will be worse than this pump... so make of that what you will..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good piece of kit,
April 23, 2013
By Newrider50
from East Anglia
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: high easy to see pressure gauge, 2 in 1 head for valves
Cons: none as yet
"Works very well and feels sturdy. I wanted a pump that I could use regularly and that would last. I check my road bike tyres before each ride (2-4 times a week). It easily gets them up to 120psi. Nice high easy to read pressure gauge. I have used it on my MTB as well. Its nice that it fits both valve sizes with the 1 special head, so you don’t have to mess about using adaptors or taking the head apart when switching between the 2.
Yes there are cheaper out there, but I spent a bit more to go with a brand that I hope will last. Only time will tell.
Very pleased so far with no probs. Only 4 stars for now, due to not knowing how long it will last.
The reserve and collect in store was excellent as normal.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EAST DEREHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Chose Joe Blow instead,
April 16, 2013
By OzzBorn60
from Hockliffe
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: joe blow
"on recomendation from the HalfordsMechanic I went for the Joe Blow pump and it feels better made and has enough puff!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? LEIGHTON BUZZARD
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike Pump,
April 14, 2013
By Greigy21
from Harlow Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"An excellent product easy to use and has a removable rubber grub to allow use for car valves. Brilliant clear pressure gauge with adjustable target needle to allow you to stop at the correct psi/bar for your tyre once you've set it. Lightweight easy to store yet sturdy and durable. Happy Cycling Folks xx"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HARLOW
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value,
April 11, 2013
By tonto989
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Seems Very good. Only time will tell if it lasts. Pumps up to 130psi easy.."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product at competitive price,
April 11, 2013
By Mazneed
from chester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had been looking for a pump for a while, searching the Internet and I decided to go into the local store to see what was on offer. Liked what I saw but couldn't carry home so ordered on line - which was actually cheaper. when I picked it up the assistant told me it was the one used in store. My husband has just used it for the first time and is delighted with both the speed and ease of use"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great pump,
April 07, 2013
By AlynH
from Newbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: long nozzle
"Works well with the schrader and presta valves and has good build quality, big gauge and a long tube which makes it very practical."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NEWBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent!,
March 17, 2013
By Raiyat
from Uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Looking for a bike pump ? Look no further ! Excellent is the only way to describe this one .....strong! Sturdy! And built to last ! And most impressive is the speed at which this works to inflate tyres ... Highly Recomended !!!!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WOLVERHAMPTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality pump,
March 10, 2013
By Emessem
from Cumbria, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: simple and easy to use
"Does exactly what it's supposed to quicker, easier and smoother than expected"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? KENDAL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Go for it!!,
March 07, 2013
By Chrislad
from Keighley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: magic head
Cons: none as yet
"Really glad i got this pump, i wanted a good solid pump so started looking at the brand names but found that this pump seemed better qaulity than even more expensive ones! Also it has a magic head unlike alot of others, it means the same head fits both valve types without having to change the head round! Also halfords reserve online and collect and pay in store is brilliant, i even got a discount for doing this! Top marks halfords!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? KEIGHLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, reasonably priced and works very well,
February 18, 2013
By BigBadDom
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality, automatic valve recognition, high pressure capable
Cons: rubber feet would have been nice
"Needed a bike pump for mountain bike and hybrid bike with required pressures up to 120psi. This pump is more than up to the job and is sturdily built.
Like the fact that I don't have to change anything to use with different valves as it adjusts to fit automatically.
Being made of metal the pump appears strong and should last a good time. It would be nice if it had a rubber base or feet to stop it scraping on the ground.
All in all a very good product at a competitive price"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well made track pump,
January 16, 2013
By Jon14
from West Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good build quality
Cons: a bit expensive compared to a footpump
"I needed to replace yet another broken foot pump and when reading reviews found one where somebody recommended trying this specific track pump instead. I was a little concerned about the higher purchase price compared to a footpump so I took advantage of the 20% online discount, reserved it and went to view and collect in store. I have used it to pump up my car tyres and 3 different lots of bike tyres and it does the job easily (and quickly). The gauge appears to be fairly accurate compared to a specialist one I already own, so I feel this can be relied on when inflating tyres. Due to it's metal construction the pump feels solid and appears well made, and I'm hoping to get several years use out of it. Overall I am very happy with my purchase."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works really well,
January 12, 2013
By Tanis
from Boston
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this as a replacement for a pump that lasted a week. I have used this one for a few weeks now and its much easier to use. The connector fits nicel and tightly getting up to 120psi in a few strokes. The gauge at the top is also brilliant as i cant read the ones at the bottom of the pump.
Very likely to recommend this to my friends."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top pump bottom price,
November 10, 2012
By Pumpypete
from Maypole, Birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simplicity, cost
Cons: at this price no cons
"My old Halfords foot pump just packed up (had it for 25 years though) and I wanted to replace it with something that would tackle Presta valves as well. Air is just air so I couldn't see the point of spending a fortune on a pump when a cheap one would suffice. I spotted this on the website and noticed a cracking discount so I thought I'd pop into Halfords to have a look before purchase. The lad in the shop couldn't have been more helpful and said they could match the online price and I could then save even more by not paying for delivery.... SWEET!
The pump even comes with a pressure gauge which on it's own could cost as much as this pump!
It has a sturdy metal construction (the one cheaper than this was plastic and felt a tad flimsy) and there is just one connector for Schraeder & Presta, couldn't be simpler really.
The pump I had been using for Presta could only get up to 80psi, this one had the tyres up to 125psi in seconds and the difference on the road is instantly noticeable.
I can't comment on the longevity yet but in general these things either work or don't. This thing definately works. After using it a while I would have probably still been happy paying full price. If you have been thinking of buying one do it, it does exactly what it says on the tin!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BikeHut Performance Track Bike Pump with Gauge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality,
October 26, 2012
By Endur0
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Simple sturdy pump. Clamps onto to valves well.'good value for money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
12next>>