Halfords Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Bikehut CO2 Bike Tyre Inflator with Pump

Bikehut CO2 Bike Tyre Inflator with Bike Pump gets you out of trouble in no time.
Average Customer Rating:
3.412 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
12 of 17(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Bikehut CO2 Bike Tyre Inflator with Pump
Review 1 for Bikehut CO2 Bike Tyre Inflator with Pump
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike hut,
June 20, 2016
By
from bangor Gwynedd
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: size.
" Brilliant product, ideal to have in your bag, perfect for when I did the London to Brighton ride on sunday, thankfully did not to use it, but handy to know it is there if required. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bikehut CO2 Bike Tyre Inflator with Pump
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CO2 pump,
May 27, 2016
By
from Fishguard
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: convenience
Cons: size
" This pump is a bit bigger than I expected, but I've worked around that - no problem. I can't really write a review of this yet as I have not had a chance to use it. Having said that, it looks a great piece of kit. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HAVERFORD WEST
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bikehut CO2 Bike Tyre Inflator with Pump
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality price,
May 14, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: bargain!!!
" Haven't used product yet but price was outstanding. £6 bargain. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bikehut CO2 Bike Tyre Inflator with Pump
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Peace of Mind,
May 10, 2016
By
from Derby, Derby, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, instructions
Cons: weight / bulk
" Been looking for a CO2 inflator for some time but without any background research. This one came up on a sale offer so jumped in. Too heavy for road bike outings but good enough for the rucksack and Trail riding (where I seem to get that dreaded "bouncing sensation" the most. Will see how we go before investing in a lightweight option. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WEST)
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bikehut CO2 Bike Tyre Inflator with Pump
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little present,
May 05, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Change an tyre is enough work, with this it is pumped up and ready to go in seconds. Can also be used as a standard pump. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (SUFFOLK RTL PK)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bikehut CO2 Bike Tyre Inflator with Pump
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
wonderful product,
May 02, 2016
By
from Dublin, Ireland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" such a handy tool to carry - effortless tyre inflation ☺ "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? COOLOCK (ROI)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bikehut CO2 Bike Tyre Inflator with Pump
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Initial thoughts,
April 07, 2016
By
from Gosport, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" Bought this as I accidently bought the wrong CO2 canisters for my original CO2 pump, it was £8 and thought what the hey I will give it whirl.
Initial thoughts are that it seems a good idea having both a CO2 and hand pump mechanisms in one unit. I have not used this in anger yet but other reviews have mixed opinions.
At a glance, the aluminium port on the left hand side of the unit is solely for the purpose of the CO2 canisters. The port can screw onto a Schrader valve or is forced onto presta valve and held there with a firm grip of a hand. A control valve directly opposite controls the flow of CO2 into the tyre. The CO2 canister is contained within the body of the pump and a canister should only be inserted when required.
The grey port (top right) is used for the hand pump part of this unit. With a 90 degree twist of the pump body head by holding the grey port on the tyre valve and twisting the unit by levering on the CO2 port. This port will apparently seal on both Schrader and presta valves. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GOSPORT
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bikehut CO2 Bike Tyre Inflator with Pump
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Small Pump Needed,
December 23, 2015
By
from UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: small to fit in a jersey pocket or rucksack, fits both shrader and presta valves, co2 and hand pump features
Cons: head may not last under constant use, slow to blow up using hand pump, lack of gauge
" As an extremely keen cyclist, I needed a soloution to use as a CO2 inflator for my road bike, but also a traditional hand pump for my mountain bike. At this price this pump meets all expectations. I found the hand pump took a while to get to 40psi for my mtbspecialized tyres but the weather was nice so no harm done. At this price you can do a lot worse. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (TRITTON)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bikehut CO2 Bike Tyre Inflator with Pump
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bike Pump,
November 13, 2015
By
from Southport, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This item was purchased to save time and effort. The use of a pump that can be used as a traditional pump as well as co2 is just what I needed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHPORT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bikehut CO2 Bike Tyre Inflator with Pump
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Don't waste your money,
March 21, 2015
By
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: co2 inflator functionality
Cons: absolutely everything else
" As a CO2 inflator, this is great. However, how they can justify calling it a pump I don't know!
Valve has no thread so cannot attach to tyre, and even by holding it in place I think you'd be lucky to inflate a tyre enough to even hold its shape!
The other problem is that one canister will not quite inflate a tyre enough for anything more than getting home to fix it properly. If that is what you want, but the CO2 inflator they sell (for almost £15 less) and a separate decent pump.
Finally, it's slightly too long to fit in an average saddle bag without stretching it and damaging the bag.
DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bikehut CO2 Bike Tyre Inflator with Pump
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommend for fast short term puncture fix,
March 09, 2015
By
from Cardiff, Cardiff, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: very quick tyre inflation, small
Cons: can't be used as a manual pump
" Judging by all the previous reviews dating back to 2011 I think they may have acted upon them and improved this product since then.
As a short term fix, mid ride, it is a life saviour. I had this as a Christmas present and have only had to use it whilst out riding this weekend. It was pouring with rain and freezing. After changing the inner tube etc, it took about 2 seconds to inflate my tyre enough to get e back on the road.
Yes, it doesn't get the tyres anywhere near above 100 psi but it inflates it enough to continue riding. I weigh 95 kgs so there is a lot of pressure going through that tyre :)
As a conventional day to day pump it is not up to scratch. After using 4 canisters I figured I should get a track pump - which I did. I haven't bothered trying to use it as a manual pump as common sense should make you realise that something this small will not allow you to pump a tyre near 120 psi.
Used as a quick puncture repair whilst out riding its brilliant. For any other use - get a track pump. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LLANTRISANT
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bikehut CO2 Bike Tyre Inflator with Pump
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not the best product for the job,
November 04, 2014
By
from Southampton, Southampton, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Have had to use this on a few occasions when getting a puncture. The CO2 option of the pump did inflate the tube to approx. 90psi which did the job ok, but the pump element of is of no use at all and you will lucky to get 30psi in the tube before it starts to leak as its a poor fitting onto the value. It's ok as and emergency for the co2 but pretty much useless as a manual pump. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bikehut CO2 Bike Tyre Inflator with Pump
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value,
October 16, 2014
By
from Cornwall, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: holding pump against valve
" Good value unit, would be easier to use if it clipped on to the valve, but work ok! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? PENZANCE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bikehut CO2 Bike Tyre Inflator with Pump
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Basic and has limits,
November 12, 2012
By
from Woking
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: co2 inflation works okay
Cons: air pump, 12g only
" Beware, only takes 12g cartridges. Anything bigger will not fit.
As a regular air pump it's a last resort only as delivers little air and the universal attachment isn't that easy to fit. Without a hose you need to be careful you don't break whatever it's attached to.
For CO2 it works okay. For those with leaks, make sure you follow the instructions and close the valve before inserting the cartridge. Remember that the attachment opposite the valve is where the CO2 comes out of, not the top universal adapter. Likewise when just using the air pump, close the valve to make sure air isn't coming out the CO2 hole.
It all works, but it's got limits and more expensive than better alternatives. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bikehut CO2 Bike Tyre Inflator with Pump
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great item,
October 02, 2011
By
from driffield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" very good pump, small enough to go in saddle bag..... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bikehut CO2 Bike Tyre Inflator with Pump
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If I could give it no stars I would,
April 29, 2011
By
from Belfast
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: it's small i suppose
Cons: unreliable, poor value, small cannisters, cannisters leak and are too small, poor airflow control, no instructions
" This is a terrirble product - both times I have relied on it it has let me down - the cannisters leaked, and the control valve does not seem to properly restrict airflow. The cannisters themselves don't hold enough air to be useful. The very worst thing about it is the fact it would give you a false sense of confidence as you would think you were covered in the event of a puncture - avoid like the plague. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
+31points
33out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bikehut CO2 Bike Tyre Inflator with Pump
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Avoid like the Plague,
January 02, 2011
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" This has got to be the most useless pump i have ever used. None of the valves work and it has the small 12g Co2 bottles, no use to anyone. Do yourself a favor and buy ANY other pump. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.