Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords 30 Piece Socket Set 1/4"

Halfords 30 Piece Socket Set is definitely handy to have around.
Average Customer Rating:
4.525 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
55 of 58(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords 30 Piece Socket Set 1/4"
Review 1 for Halfords 30 Piece Socket Set 1/4"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Average overall,
March 01, 2016
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Value. Great value especially if you take advantage of the 2 for £20 deal on selected tools.
Quality. Average. The socket on the ratchet has a fair bit of play in it, seems quite loose. But so far the ratchet has done its job. The connector for the screwdriver end pieces is weak. The metal is too soft and I have bent it out of the hexagon shape and now the end pieces don't stay 'clicked' in. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (QUEENS RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords 30 Piece Socket Set 1/4"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great set... Bargain price,
February 24, 2016
By
from North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Handy little kit to have around the house... Perfect for the odd jobs on the car. Good quality, seems pretty strong.
Got this in an offer halfords were running, so for the price it's great!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NORTHALLERTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords 30 Piece Socket Set 1/4"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Socket to me,
February 13, 2016
By
from Oxford, Oxford, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" A great little set, so handy for restricted spaces and all for £10. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords 30 Piece Socket Set 1/4"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great price,
January 03, 2016
By
from Aberdeenshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought two of these for £20 in the sale and thought it was great value as the ratchet itself is £12 by itself ,great deal by halfords "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? PETERHEAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords 30 Piece Socket Set 1/4"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Deal,
December 19, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: new case and price.
Cons: no cons
" I use these socket sets for work and in the old format the lids/cases kept breaking. Now the cases should last longer and at this price I bought two sets and may go back for more. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords 30 Piece Socket Set 1/4"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New style box but same quality,
December 11, 2015
By
from Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality of sockets and ratchet, nice compact size
Cons: plastic case hinges and see through cover
" Have purchased a few of these over the years. I actually bought the second set after miss-placing my original set (now found).
I have used most of the sockets in the set and also used all screwdriver bits. The abuse I've given this (and the other) set over the years is amazing, yet not a single socket has broken and the ratchet still works....I have lost a few of the screw driver bits but sockets are still there in both sets.
I have recently purchased a new set to keep in another one of my cars (I have a few) which is in a different box as in more enclosed rather than the plastic one with see through front. I've not actually opened the box yet, but assume it is the same kit in a different box.
All in all, these are good value for money, the use of the extension and screwdriver which can all be joined together and used with the ratchet means most nuts and bolts are accessible. it is also useful where space is limited for a screwdriver as the ratchet fits the screwdriver holder bit.
Would I buy this again.....Yes, in fact I've bought 3 sets for myself and a few other as presents for friends "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords 30 Piece Socket Set 1/4"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Disappointing,
October 02, 2015
By
from Middlesbrough, Middlesbrough, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: tools
Cons: case
" I ordered the item shown in the photograph to replace one I had used earlier. Regrettably the case had been changed to one with no handle and no extra storage for small accessory items. The tools themselves are still excellent, ptiy about the case change. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MIDDLESBROUGH (COULBY NEWHAM)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords 30 Piece Socket Set 1/4"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Did the job I needed it for.,
September 23, 2015
By
from East Midlands, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: neatly boxed
Cons: not as comprehensive as some might need.
" Never before needed to access recessed nuts, but had puncture on wheel of trolley. Only way to remove inner tube was via 4 sets of recessed nuts & bolts. The combination in this kit was fine for the job, and useful for any future tasks. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MARKET HARBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords 30 Piece Socket Set 1/4"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great little kit,
August 24, 2015
By
from Sutton-in-Ashfield, Nottinghamshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Wasn't sure what to expect from such a cheap kit but was pleasantly surprised at the quality of it when I got it home "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON IN ASHFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords 30 Piece Socket Set 1/4"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value product,
February 28, 2015
By
from Chichester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Even though the item purchased was different from the picture the socket set is everything I needed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHICHESTER
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords 30 Piece Socket Set 1/4"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A handy little set,
February 09, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" At a great price this set has all the basics for loads of simple jobs. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords 30 Piece Socket Set 1/4"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good budget kit,
January 23, 2015
By
from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" good quality six point sockets in a good selection of sizes, ratchet itself is very good.
The storage box is reasonably small so can be left in the car as an emergency set also. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (SELLY OAK)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords 30 Piece Socket Set 1/4"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords 30 Piece Socket Set 1/4",
December 09, 2014
By
from Uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good value for money if u have small jobs to do, very well thought out and seems really strong. I like it a lot. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CHESTERFIELD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords 30 Piece Socket Set 1/4"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
30 piece socket set,
November 26, 2014
By
from Nottingham, Nottingham, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" great bit of kit ,good range of sizes,handy carry case "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (CHILWELL)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords 30 Piece Socket Set 1/4"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice Small Set, Good Price,
November 26, 2014
By
from Yate, Bristol, South Gloucestershire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Excellent little socket set to have round the house for those small jobs that require a spanner/socket. The ratchet is made well and does its job in those awkward places. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? YATE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords 30 Piece Socket Set 1/4"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All in one place,
November 25, 2014
By
from Suffolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Handy piece of kit - everything you need in one place "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords 30 Piece Socket Set 1/4"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top quality,
October 25, 2014
By
from Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value
" I can't fault this product. I bought it as my first socket set as an apprentice mechanic and have had it for a while now. I got this on my trade card so it was great value! I like that Halfords have introduce a new guarantee that covers moving parts. I've always got tools from halfords never had a complaint about them. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BEVERLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords 30 Piece Socket Set 1/4"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handy set.,
October 07, 2014
By
from Wilburton, Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: compact case, decent quality of the bar and sockets
" Very handy set at a good price for those fiddly little jobs. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords 30 Piece Socket Set 1/4"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We'll built good value for money,
September 13, 2014
By
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this to because my induction kit needed tighting up on my Mini Cooper s... Helped me out just the way I needed.. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ENFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords 30 Piece Socket Set 1/4"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Virtually indestructible wrench and sockets, a very good starter set.,
June 12, 2014
By
from Pontypool
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this set in the early 90's and it's still going strong. Virtually indestructible wrench and sockets, a very good starter set that I recommend to all. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>